We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let Down At the End” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Phoenix Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Phoenix Beijing to your Saves list
Royal Phoenix Beijing
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.17 Qianliang Hutong, Dongsi North Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Royal Phoenix Beijing) (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 76 Reviews
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Let Down At the End”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I thought the hotel was beautiful, comfortable, and modern. Food was expensive for Beijing but tasted fine. I loved the breakfast. I was traveling with a group and desk staff seemed more helpful to those who appeared European or American. The big let down was at checkout the desk staff put all of the groups dirty washcloths, towels, and pillowcases on the front desk and tried to get money out of us. Charging $6 for washcloths and $20 for towels. These were things just used that morning. They weren't washed yet. When we refused to pay and used normal hand-soap to washout a cloth they finally left us alone. I think they thought because we were a tour we'd be easy money. It was a sour ending to a good stay. Too bad!

Room Tip: Bring your own washcloths and towels! The ATM machine doesn't work but there is one on the Main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    35
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
28
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Overall, this hotel is a good quality/price valuation. Room size is very good with a large bathroom, but our room had only a shower. Adequate closet area, two smaller beds(less than Queen size), no mini\fridge in our room.
Location - so-so I'd give it a 2 because it's down the ally that is hard to find. Walking distance to Forbidden City & Tian-Anmen square. (Long walk, but walk-able)
Views - Really Poor. I was able to watch TV in the house across the way.
Breakfast Buffet - Average - Western food, Chinese noodles and vegetables, fruits and salad.
Just everything that you should expect nothing spectacular.
Staff and service - We did not interact with the staff very much.
Cleanines - Excellent thourghout the property
Cuteness feature - Bathroom has a window to sleeping area.
Big Problem - our bathroom must have had a ventilation problem, the toilet smelled like an outdoor public toilet, equal to standing over an open sewer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

It's located down an alley so don't expect taxi's to be able to find it. It's very modern and comfortable. The electricity converters are built in so you don't need to bring one. The hair dryer is in the desk drawer.
Breakfast is served every morning and provides a substantial amount of both Chinese and American food - they'll be something for everyone. The hotel provides 2 bottles of water every day also. There's a bakery, fruit store, convenience stores and a McDonalds along the main street.
For something different, turn right on the main street and just before the McD (on the left) there is a dark, dimmly lit alley on the right Go down there and you will find a place that deep fries insects on a stick for a reasonable price. We tried the scorpions (big and little) but couldn't bring ourselves to try the centipedes or locusts. It's the kind of thing you can talk about at your next party.
The hotel was clean and modern but due to the late arrivals at the airport, people will be checking in at all hours of the night and most don't care how much noise they make. Perhaps the front desk could recommend a little consideration from these new guests. Make sure you put out your sign daily to request maid service or they'll ignore your room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a great stay. Best bed we slept on in China. The location is excellent. Walking distance to the subway. Many shops and restaurants on the main street. Yes, it is down a hutong (alleyway). But, it is less than a 5 minute walk to the main street. You can even walk to the Forbidden city if you want to. The service was very good. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We ate out every night until the last night. We should have tried the restaurant earlier. We had an 8 course meal for two for 98 yuan ($16) and it was delicious. try it you will like it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The rooms are big and very luxuriously appointed. The beds offer great support but are also very comfortable. The bathroom has both a rain forest shower head and hand held shower. The breakfast is great with a wide selection of Chinese and western food. The cigar bar is cozy and has a good selection of cognac. Manager Steven was very accommodating. Overall, very impressed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcanyon6
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Had a great stay...in a great deluxe room. The rooms are large and furnished with taste and comfort...everything was perfectly thought out in the rooms...from the furniture to the bathroom amenities...everything I needed was there. The staff was certainly attentive and although not everyone had command of english there was always someone close by to assist. Amazing private dining rooms with an excellent chef and attentive staff...absolutely take advantage of this unique opportunity. Loved all of it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I booked at very short notice after being let down at another hotel. Booked it based on price and location and was expecting something a bit rubbish to be honest. Was pleasantly surprised - not an exciting or stylish hotel, certainly - but it was a decent room, clean, good bathroom, lots of hot water, comfortable bed. It's in a good area but down a lane and pretty hard to find on the first attempt. Service was helpful and friendly. There was no atmosphere or cute details that would make it a memorable hotel, but I think for the money it was great value. I've paid twice the price to shiver with cold in a supposedly charming hutong hotel before, I was happier with this one :) Don't choose it if you are looking for something to make your trip to Beijing perfect and extra special. Do choose if you just need a base but don't want to be staying in some dodgy dingy hovel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Phoenix Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Phoenix Beijing

Address: No.17 Qianliang Hutong, Dongsi North Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Royal Phoenix Beijing)
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Phoenix Beijing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Royal Phoenix Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Phoenix Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.