We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TRB - Temple Restaurant Beijing

TRB - Temple Restaurant Beijing
23 Shatan Beijie, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China (Houhai)
+86 10 8400 2232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9,386 Restaurants in Beijing
Price range: $20 - $150
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Houhai
Description: TRB serves contemporary European cuisine and is committed to providing the highest levels of hospitality for our guests. In creating our dining space, the Australian architectural and design firm Hassell emphasized the clean, light filled and thoroughly modern lines of what was once a television factory producing the capital's first black and white TVs. The history of the TRB compound spans 600 years: it includes ancient halls of worship, factories constructed after the Communist takeover and slogans left over from the Cultural Revolution. Renovation began in 2008, focussed on preserving all the layers of history and keeping as much as possible of the original structures.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our visit toTRB was a wonderful experience.

It's a little hard to find, at the end of a very narrow lane--- the map on the website should be improved. But as soon as we arrived, we were greeted and made feel extraordinarily welcome.

Before entering the restaurant, you walk through a courtyard with delightful, small statues. The restaurant itself has been beautifully designed, with wonderful, high ceilings.

The service was excellent-- professional and friendly. The food was superb. The presentation was flawless.

This was one of the best dining experiences we've ever had. Highly recommended.


Best


Will

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB - Temple Restaurant Beijing, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Will,
Thank you for choosing TRB. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for spending the time to write this wonderful review for us as we value your suggestions and opinions very much. We will try to improve our online directions and hopefully we can have the chance to show you our hospitality again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    296
    55
    13
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“J'adore Temple Restaurant, a truly decadent experience not to be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Having had the privilege of luxury dining in many different countries I had a slight hesitation about visiting a Chinese restaurant offering French cuisune. I am however exisuitly glad I put my reservations aside to visit this divine establishment.

This hidden Jem not only offers superior service but the entire dining experience was one of the best I have ever encountered. From the tantalizing cocktails and eclectic wine menu to the mouth watering food, this restaurant can not be beaten. In addition to the many gratis canapés and amuse bouche, we were given a private taxi to the location of our choice and a parting gift for us to take home as a thoughtful memento.

I would not recommend a place as highly as I do this one, a truly 5 star experience not to be missed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB - Temple Restaurant Beijing, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Imogen H,
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your recommendation is an encouragement to us and we appreciate the time and effort you spent in writing this nice review. We look forward to having more chances to show you our hospitality in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved the service and the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We really enjoyed this restaurant. The service was the best we had during our three week vacation in Asia. You are offered different little bites in between courses and even a wine pairing. English was spoken by everyone that served our table. The food was delicious and the setting is lovely.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB - Temple Restaurant Beijing, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Luvt0travel43,
Thank you for visiting TRB. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and our hospitality became the highlight of your Asia trip. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great food and a beautiful setting really close to the forbidden city and jingshan park but quite expensive. Great lunch menu though.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB - Temple Restaurant Beijing, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Marielle J
Thank you for visiting TRB. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us, and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delightfully Surprising”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Must experience their service and hospitality. We were delightfully surprised by the courses between the courses! The recommendations on the food and drink were very good too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB - Temple Restaurant Beijing, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear WBC2010,
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TRB - Temple Restaurant Beijing also viewed

Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to TRB - Temple Restaurant Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRB - Temple Restaurant Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.