We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good show more fighting than singing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liyuan Theatre

Liyuan Theatre
No.175 Yongan Road, Beijing, China
010-52290722
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #212 of 1,198 Attractions in Beijing
3.5 of 5 stars 35 Reviews
Attraction details
Louisiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good show more fighting than singing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the costumes and show beginning with a little soap opera type vignette. Most of the show was fighting which was very integer signs but not my thing. Costumes were spectacular. You can watch one of the actors putting on makeup. I had VIP seating. Don't really need to buy to get a good view. All the tour bus folks sit in lowest price seats but they aren't bad seats. You can buy mid price seats and have an excellent view

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    9
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not worth a see”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were really disappointed with the performance. We went there with the hope of getting a glimpse of chinese opera. Having seen the opera in New York, we expected that there would be a grand stage etc, but we were really disappointed. It was not cheap and the hotel was out of the way. Terrible experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Complete scam”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Its a complete scam to fool tourists. Even school theatre productions would be better than this. We went there hoping to enjoy an evening of pure art and culture and were completely disappointed. The production values are poor and the performances are mediocre. There is nothing there worth calling a set and forget any great light and sound programming.

Don't waste your money on this. Its just a scam to fool tourists in the name of Peking Opera!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice show!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was told this place was only for tourist but I saw a lot of locals at the theatre. Show is about an hour long, pretty interesting I should say, in my opinion is one of those things that you have to do at least once when in Beijing. There are 2 tv screens on each side of the stage with english subtitles for each song. I certainly enjoyed it, plus the customes are amazing! I went 2 weeks ago and paid 180 yuan

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Ummm... Thanks for the memories”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ok- I hope this doesn't represent Beijing Opera. Before the show the music and watching the actor put on makeup and his costume was good. The snacks- not worth the extra $$, and the tea was on the table but never refilled and definitely not from the fancy long spouted kettles in the pictures. I wanted to like it or at least appreciate Beijing Opera. If that is your goal, this is NOT the show for you!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liyuan Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Liyuan Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liyuan Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.