We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ in Beijing?!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Home Plate

Home Plate
35 Xiaoyun Lu Courtyard, Beijing, China (Yansha)
010-51285584
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 9,390 restaurants in Beijing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Yansha
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“BBQ in Beijing?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely.......this place served up some bonafide BBQ half way around the world from my home in the states. There was a stack of smoking wood inside the place. Real slow smoked brisket and pulled pork, both of which were juicy and tender. There were pieces of bark mixed in and a smoke ring was present! :-).....sides were good and there is a nice selection of craft beers and whiskey. Very good if you need a BBQ fix while traveling in China!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    30
    18
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Every time I go to Beijing, I have to visit Home Plate. The. BBQ is great and they have Slowboat beer on draft! This time I had the pulled pork and slice beef brisket combo. The potato salad was great too!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“BBQ and Hamburgers in China?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have been living in China for a few months and this BBQ is very close to US style BBQ (which is extremely hard to find here). We took our family and had a small wait but it was well worth it! We loved it. We loved the pulled pork BBQ, fried Okra, hamburgers. I am a southern girl and the cornbread muffin was just OK. Plan your time to allow for your to find this place and for a small wait on a table. Location - This is at the end of an alley way and is not extremely easy to find. (from Dongsanhuan Beilu, head 20m north of Xiaoyun Lu intersection and take the first right). My family has made this a frequent place to visit while traveling to Beijing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth finding.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Home Plate can be a bit tricky to find, the map on their business card is not the best, but it is worth the effort. Service is swift and friendly, there were four of us in our party, three being Americans with very discriminating palettes. Unanimously the pulled pork sandwich was rated excellent, as were the buffalo wings, though the ranch dressing was a little generic. Very good atmosphere, and competitive pricing which means it is also very popular with Chinese diners. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This place is Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My family and I found this place a couple of months ago and can't stop going. High quality BBQ, friendly service and cold draft beers. The recent addition of a wall along the street, makes the outdoor dinning attractive. If you are a Westerner, you have to visit this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Plate also viewed

 
Beijing, China
 
Beijing, China
Beijing, China
 
Beijing, China

Been to Home Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Plate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.