We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny restaurant, big flavours!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taste - the delights of Yunnan flavor

Taste - the delights of Yunnan flavor
82-3 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)
+86 136 9105 0874
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 8,795 Restaurants in Beijing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Yunnan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Xi'an
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tiny restaurant, big flavours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

An amazing little restaurant very close to the Double happiness courtyard hotel. Only six tables so be prepared to wait, but it is definitely worth it! Staff are friendly and speak English. The food is out of this world, amazing flavours, beautifully cooked and reasonably priced!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    33
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tring
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Small but brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Only 10 seats in the restaurant. The prices were reasonable, but not cheap. Expensive for this type of restaurant. The food was excellent - but brought to the table in any order. We had a bottle of excellent Tibetan red wine for 160y. The sweet and sour soup was amazing - full of wonderful herbs, spices and twigs! Highly recommended because everything is cooked to order and well above average in quality.. Large portions. Worth booking as there are so few seats.Expect about 200-250y for a meal without wine.
Highly recommended for the experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Superb food & Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was struggling with finding somewhere I wanted to eat for several reasons. On my last night at the Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel I gave this one a go. It was rated highly on a Trip Advisor, as high as 21 in the whole of Beijing. I guess it piggy backs a little on the hotel but thats not to be frowned at. Prices are higher than you might pay elsewhere but the food is amazing. I wish I'd tried it sooner.

It's a very small restaurant, 3 tables that sit 2 and one larger table that seems to take 5 at a push. There are some stools round the edge if its mega busy. In the height of summer, the traditional holiday periods, I'd recommend making a reservation. The menu has English translations and the waitress speaks decent English.

My first night I had;

Hekou Springroll (Veg) - Fried & served with dipping sauce
Jingpo's Bamboo Rice - Sticky rice steamed inside a bamboo tube
Sliced Beef and Pineapple Slices (not on website but was on menu)
Fried Goats Cheese with Sugar
3 large Tsingtao
1 homemade Plum Liquor (STRONG)
Total Price 210Y

I went for an early dinner the next day before heading to the train station too and had;

Hekou Springroll (Veg) - Fried & served with dipping sauce
Mango Chicken— Fried cubes of boneless breast & sweet sour mango
White Rice — Regular Plain Rice
1 large Tsingtao
Total Price 95Y

They proudly display their Trip Advisor awards on the wall. I was also offered a knife and fork if needed. Because its so small, it's cooked fresh. That fresh in fact that when I had the mango, the cook went to the shop to buy some! If you're staying at the Double Happiness, get yourself down there. It's on the same alley, not to far from the entrance of the alleyway.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tiny little gem...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Situated on a narrow hutong, at first glance you may walk past. Seating only very few people this is well worth a visit if you are in the area. Clean, neat with good service and great food. The rice served in the bamboo was delicious and visually appealing. Huge portions! If you're not too hungry consider sharing...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A small but nice place in a strange area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Yunnan is our favorite chinese food. Therefore when we stay in the nearby hotel the double happiness, we were happy to try this one out. We were not disappointed. Nice atmosphere, good food and quick service. Try the lamb and the small aubergine!
Prices were too high for chinese standard. About 25€ pp, without wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste - the delights of Yunnan flavor also viewed

Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Taste - the delights of Yunnan flavor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste - the delights of Yunnan flavor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.