We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taste - the delights of Yunnan flavor

Taste - the delights of Yunnan flavor
82-3 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)
010-84036096
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 9,381 restaurants in Beijing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Yunnan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Tring
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Small but brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Only 10 seats in the restaurant. The prices were reasonable, but not cheap. Expensive for this type of restaurant. The food was excellent - but brought to the table in any order. We had a bottle of excellent Tibetan red wine for 160y. The sweet and sour soup was amazing - full of wonderful herbs, spices and twigs! Highly recommended because everything is cooked to order and well above average in quality.. Large portions. Worth booking as there are so few seats.Expect about 200-250y for a meal without wine.
Highly recommended for the experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    68
    29
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Superb food & Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was struggling with finding somewhere I wanted to eat for several reasons. On my last night at the Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel I gave this one a go. It was rated highly on a Trip Advisor, as high as 21 in the whole of Beijing. I guess it piggy backs a little on the hotel but thats not to be frowned at. Prices are higher than you might pay elsewhere but the food is amazing. I wish I'd tried it sooner.

It's a very small restaurant, 3 tables that sit 2 and one larger table that seems to take 5 at a push. There are some stools round the edge if its mega busy. In the height of summer, the traditional holiday periods, I'd recommend making a reservation. The menu has English translations and the waitress speaks decent English.

My first night I had;

Hekou Springroll (Veg) - Fried & served with dipping sauce
Jingpo's Bamboo Rice - Sticky rice steamed inside a bamboo tube
Sliced Beef and Pineapple Slices (not on website but was on menu)
Fried Goats Cheese with Sugar
3 large Tsingtao
1 homemade Plum Liquor (STRONG)
Total Price 210Y

I went for an early dinner the next day before heading to the train station too and had;

Hekou Springroll (Veg) - Fried & served with dipping sauce
Mango Chicken— Fried cubes of boneless breast & sweet sour mango
White Rice — Regular Plain Rice
1 large Tsingtao
Total Price 95Y

They proudly display their Trip Advisor awards on the wall. I was also offered a knife and fork if needed. Because its so small, it's cooked fresh. That fresh in fact that when I had the mango, the cook went to the shop to buy some! If you're staying at the Double Happiness, get yourself down there. It's on the same alley, not to far from the entrance of the alleyway.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tiny little gem...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Situated on a narrow hutong, at first glance you may walk past. Seating only very few people this is well worth a visit if you are in the area. Clean, neat with good service and great food. The rice served in the bamboo was delicious and visually appealing. Huge portions! If you're not too hungry consider sharing...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A small but nice place in a strange area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Yunnan is our favorite chinese food. Therefore when we stay in the nearby hotel the double happiness, we were happy to try this one out. We were not disappointed. Nice atmosphere, good food and quick service. Try the lamb and the small aubergine!
Prices were too high for chinese standard. About 25€ pp, without wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were the only two people in the restaurant and there was obviously some quarrel going on between the two women running the restaurant and the chef who went off to in a huff to stand outside the restaurant. Not very encouraging. The Lamb and mint dish was very disappointing, a grey mass of boiled lamb chunks with all the fat still attached, creating yellow globules on the surface.of the dish. Judging from the microwave noises coming from the kitchen the meal may well have been cooked in the microwave oven. Even the rice was tinged with burnt bits. I do not recommend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste - the delights of Yunnan flavor also viewed

 
Beijing, China
Beijing, China
 

Been to Taste - the delights of Yunnan flavor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste - the delights of Yunnan flavor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.