We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming traditional hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jingshan Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jingshan Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Jingshan Garden Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.68 Sanyanjing Alley, Jingshan East Street, Beijing 100009, China (Formerly Red Wall Jingshan Garden Hotel) (Houhai)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 135 Reviews
Laval, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“charming traditional hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Jingshan Garden hotel is a charming traditional place if you want to experience something different than big hotel. The staff are very welcoming and are trying to fullfill all your needs. If you are a woman traveling alone, I wouldn't say it is the best location but I really enjoyed my stay.
It is well located next to Jingshan park and forbidden city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    44
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
35
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We had to check out, room was infested with flees, rat sack out side our room. We got our money back from flight centre. They should have booked Red Wall Garden Hotel at
Address: No.41, Shijia Hutong,
Dongcheng District, Beijing, 100010 which is beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Finding the hotel was not that easy but was well worth the hunt. Along the alleyway you walk into a small complex of rooms in a courtyard. We read that the rooms were cold however our room had two heaters and was very warm. The room was very clean and the bed was a bit hard but we had no problems sleeping. He next morning we went for breakfast and it was quite cold in the room, the choice was very limited but they did make omelettes but was cold when it arrived. I think we were the only people staying there but recommend this as a short stay in warmer months as you can use the courtyard more and relax.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The main selling point of this hotel is that it is nestled in the middle of hutongs. I gather that hutongs are defined as traditional housing in small alleys, but seems to me more like a proliferation of public WCs (one on every block) and incongruous large parked cars demonstrating the wealth that has reached the Chinese middle class. Stay here, and although you may get quizzical looks from the locals as you pass by notices that "foreigners in residence must register with the local police station", you will have no need of the services of the rickshaw-riding touts who incessantly advertise expensive hutong tours.

Look on a map and the hotel seems to be central, just a block away from the forbidden city, and close to beihai park, jingshan mountain and the bell and drum towers. However, when I was there, the northern entrance to the forbidden city was closed, with the ticket sellers and inspectors at the southern entrance of Tiananmen, half an hour away by foot. More inconveniently, there is no easily reachable metro stop.

Service was mostly very good, the room was quiet, comfortable and quaint, but I found the breakfast terrible and inconvenient (starting time at 8 am, but at 8 am none of the dishes seem ready). On the last day, as only 4 guests were in residence, the tiny buffet section was closed, and the cook was personally cooking omelettes and other small fares. I found it is better to have a bite at KFC at 7.30 then be in a reasonable position in the queue at the appropriate tourist attraction before the hoard arrives.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a very good hotel with very helpful staff. They were especially helpful in dealing with an administrative problem I faced, coupled with providing helpful directions to various sites. The beef steak was excellent and breakfasts very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel that is hidden among the busy city of Beijing, this is the place you need to consider. Hidden among the old HuTong of Beijing, you get a wonderful sense of blending in with the local when you walk in and out of the hotel. With the local children playing hide and seek, where the senior get together for a chess game, the woman get together chatting away in their local language.

Location of the hotel is perfect to some major attraction such as Forbidden City, Jingshang Park, South Gong and Drum Lane (Nanluogu Xiang), walking to HouHai where all the nice bars and lounges located.

The hotel provides complimentary Wi-Fi, and all the amenities that you needs. Love how thoughtful they are by providing a humidifier during winter. The service level of this hotel is on my top list with a very hospitable owner and a group of staff that are always ready to assist. I never forget the night when I arrived at 2 am in the morning how all my arrangement in the hotel and how they make me felt welcome after a long flight.

I stayed eight nights there and enjoyed every moment with them. I will definitely stay there again when I visit Beijing again next year.

Room Tip: Get ground floor room if you travel with big bag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Jingshan Garden Hotel was very clean and organized. Our room was just what we needed: a bed, bath, heater, tea, wifi, etc. We found the staff to be kind and helpful as well. About a 30-40 minute walk to the entrance of the Forbidden City. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which can take you to Hou Hai area as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jingshan Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jingshan Garden Hotel

Address: No.68 Sanyanjing Alley, Jingshan East Street, Beijing 100009, China (Formerly Red Wall Jingshan Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jingshan Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Jingshan Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jingshan Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.