We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jingshan Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jingshan Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Jingshan Garden Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.68 Sanyanjing Alley, Jingshan East Street, Beijing 100009, China (Formerly Red Wall Jingshan Garden Hotel) (Houhai)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were very suprised when the taxi driver drop us on the street outside of the hotel. We couldn't see that it was a hotel there but after a short walk we saw the sign and then it was no problem to find the hotel.

The rooms were very nice, the breakfast was ok and the best thing was the staff, very service minded. they helped us with train tickets, buying stamps for postcards, arrange a trip to the great wall, The location is perfect, Close to the forbidden city, i.e. very central in Beijing.

I can really recomend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    47
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
35
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel is very cozy and has a wonderful courtyard. The restaurant is likewise full of historic charm. The alley leading to the hotel can seem a bit spooky at night but once you see the courtyard you know you're in a good place. The rooms are basic but clean and nice. The staff was friendly. The hotel is within walking distance of Jingshan park and the Forbidden City. I enjoyed my stay in this hotel and would consider staying here again. There are only 2 downsides to this place - the breakfast (it's not very good) and it is a bit far from public transportation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The back alley leading up to the hotel was a bit of a cultural shock, but there was a treasure in the end: the hotel is like a little oasis hiding from the skyscrapers and the buzz of the city. The court yard is perfect for relaxation and the fish, birds and turtle keep children occupied. Rooms are clean, nicely renovated and decorated. Ours was a bit humid even in October, but air conditioning fixed the problem. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Their English isn't perfect but we managed to communicate anyway. Had couple of nice dinners at the restaurant although some of the courses have to be preordered. Jingshang park right next to the hotel is perfect for families with small children. Also the forbidden city and wonderful lake districts are nearby. Hotel located quite far from subway, but taxes were easy to get outside rush hours. I warmly recommend Red Wall Garden Hotel to anyone who is tired of global hotel chains and want to experience something more chinese. Excellent with children!!

Room Tip: We had three rooms on different parts of the hotel and all were nice. Rooms upstairs had a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

we stay in this hotel for 8 days was really wonderful and worker very very helpful room was very comfortable i really enjoy my time in this hotel next time in Beijing i will bokk this hotel without thinking

Room Tip: book a superior room little bit expensive not much than other but wow very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days and we had booked 3 rooms. Due to the 2 hotels with the same name in the same location we did ended up not having the hotel we thought we did and ended up in the smallest of the 2. Only 1 room, 1105, we had was really nice and had no problems. Room number 1108 is a room with no natural light and it is very damp, with big water stains on the walls and a lot of mould. The air conditioner in the room also did not work properly. It squeaked en leaked so bad we had to turn it off. After we complained the promised to move us to a better room on the 3rd night. room number 1103 had a toilett that did not work and the whole room smelled really bad. The hotel fixed that on the 3rd day! The 4th room, upstairs, also had a few big water stains on the wall and had a non functioning air conditioner. As the summers in Beijing are very hot, this is really bad. Many of the rooms should be done up before they are given to customers.
The beds are very hard. Bathrooms are big and clean. Breakfast very basic.The staff is not very helpful most of the time and some of them even hid out of site when we called them.
It is a shame, as the location of the hotel is excellent. We loved the location, in a hutong. The courtyard looks very pretty.
I will not stay here again as there are so many options in Beijing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Although hard to find at first don't give up as it is truly worth discovering! Nestled in one of the Hutongs of Beijing, opposite Jingshang Park. A small boutique hotel with a beautiful and serene courtyard, in contrast to the bustle of the city. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms are modern and large. Much more of an experience than the larger hotels can offer.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for a week at this traditional Hutong courtyard which has lots of charm both in the beautiful courtyard and the room. It was spacious, quiet, comfortable and clean. The only issues were the room air-conditioner and the poor quality of the breakfast. The hotel is a little hard to find as it is tucked away off the main road and down a narrow lane. We enjoyed sitting in the courtyard in the evening having a drink and chatting. Its great location is within walking distance of most of the major attractions and opposite the Jing Shan Park. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to enjoy a more traditional experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jingshan Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jingshan Garden Hotel

Address: No.68 Sanyanjing Alley, Jingshan East Street, Beijing 100009, China (Formerly Red Wall Jingshan Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jingshan Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Jingshan Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jingshan Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.