We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beef on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nadaman Japanese Restaurant

Nadaman Japanese Restaurant
No 1 Jianguomenwai Avenue,Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China (Guomao)
010-65052299-6407
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 9,429 restaurants in Beijing
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Guomao
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Beef on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautiful surroundings, fantastic service, exceptional food, amazing views!
This restaurant would deserve 5 stars based on its physical characteristics alone - cutting edge interior design, incredible sculptural decor, and fantastic views of the latest Beijing high rises.

However, on a whim, I ordered a beef dish. My frame of reference is American beef, where I have eaten in some of the best NYC steakhouses (The Old Homestead is a favorite). This was the first time I could cut a broiled stead with a fork, and I was impressed. It was a quality of beef that I have never experienced in the West (and I'm descended from a line of butchers!).

The prices seemed appropriate, not excessive, for a restaurant of this quality. But I have to be honest, my host was paying.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    12
    1
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A true Nadaman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Food quality in the true Nadaman style. Shangri-la gets in right with Nadaman just about every time.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
475 reviews 475 reviews
398 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
579 helpful votes 579 helpful votes
“Consistently Nadaman”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Like all Nadaman restaurants at Shangri-La hotels around the world, this one is very good (both food and service) without excelling in terms of creativity or quality.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great foods, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Nadaman is one of the fancy restaurant at The Summit. The kids had cravings for Japanese. The foods are great, but very very pricey. On average it worked out for be approximately C$120 per person.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Let me start with the fact, that the food itself is good. The problem is not food, but the complete mismanagement and service, this the food suffers a lot. Basically imagine, that all those delicate starters, sushi and the fatty wagyu beef from teppan are brought to your table at the same time, like in a Chinese restaurant - don't take me wrong, I love Chinese food, but this is definitely not the way of kaizeki! So, you basically have to decide to either devour everything at once without being able to enjoy the refined cuisine, or to sacrifice some of the dishes to become cold / eaten in a definetley wrong order, with the same result as before, while trying to enjoy at least some dishes. Sending dishes back will result in the reheating of those later, which really defeats the point.

I've tried it THREE times and always with the same result. Talking to the management does not help and I simply gave up on this place, which is a pity, for I value Nadaman back in Japan quite high.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nadaman Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nadaman Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nadaman Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.