We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best service ever in China!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grill 79

Grill 79
No 1 Jianguomenwai Avenue,Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China (Guomao)
010-65052299-6459
Improve this listing
Ranked #168 of 9,465 Restaurants in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 31 Reviews
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Guomao
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best service ever in China!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Not only was the dinner meal delicious, the service was the best that I have ever experienced in China. Great views of Beijing!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Grill 79, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Lesrmartin,

Thank you very much for choosing Grill 79 and spending time making comments for us. We are so delighted to know that you are happy with both the food and our service. Sincerely look forward to having you again soon. :)

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mostly worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I had dinner with two friends. The views are stunning indeed, and it was a reasonably clear night by Beijing standards. Our experiemce was mixed. We had the Seafood Display for starter and it was excellent. There are generous portions of lobster, crab, scallops, shrimps and (white) sashimi. Two of us had lobster bisque and one had asparagus soup. Both were very tasty but the bowls were not hot and the soup had to be eaten quickly as it was barely at the temperature I would expect. We then had Wagyu beef (1 fillet and 2 strip loin). Very tasty but,not served hot, and mine was more medium than medium-rare that I had requested. None of these were major issues, but it is the detail that such a restaurant should pay attention to. The most serious shortcoming, in my mind, was the "perfumed" air. While pleasant in a hotel lobby, it certainly interfered with being able to fully appreciate the delicate flavours of the food, and most importantly the wonderful Clos Apalta wine that we drank.. My poor rating for teh atmosphere was purely because of this perfumed scent, and not the interior or the views of the restaurant itself..

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

its highest restaurant in china. with good steaks and western style food. its must for one time visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Grill 79, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear q8engrchina,

Thank you very much for visiting Grill 79 and spending time making review for us. To be exactly, Grill 79 is the highest restaurant in Beijing. :) Guests can have a good view of the city - from Tiananmen Square all the way to the Forbidden City and the West Mountain - while enjoying food and wine.

It is our big pleasure to learn that you had a nice dining experience with us. We look forward to having you again soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great view and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Overall a great experience in Beijing! Unique view, impressive service and good food sum up to an overall positive experience! Will come back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Grill 79, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear f00d_l0ver83,

Thank you very much for visiting Grill 79 and spending time making comments for us. It is our big pleasure to learn that you had a nice dining experience at Grill 79 and would love to come back. We look forward to having you again soon. :)

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Was on a business trip, and it was my first time in Beijing. I am a member of the shangri la golden circle and had many points to spend.
Had a look at their website and seemed like a great restaurant, so why not try it.
It was marvellous dinner with a great vue of beijing, service was excellent, and great design had a bit of a chat with the austrian manager and even offered two glasses of pinot noir.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Grill 79, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear ralph6429,

Thank you very much for visiting Grill 79 recently and making comments for us on TripAdvisor. It is our great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the food as well as the city view :) Sincerely look forward to having you again in the near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill 79 also viewed

 
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Grill 79? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grill 79, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.