We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden secret, we'll worth a stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Yunnan

Little Yunnan
No. 28 East Huangchenggen Beijie, Dongcheng district, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)
010-64019498
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 9,464 Restaurants in Beijing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Café, Yunnan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Neighborhood: Houhai
Description: Little Yunnan is a charming courtyard restaurant with outdoor seating near the Forbidden City, Houhai Lake, Nanluoguxiang and Art Museum, tucked away in the hutongs. The atmosphere is cozy and relaxed, perfect for relaxing with friends, visitors and tourists, and romantic dinners. Yunnan food is exotic, slightly sweet, spicy and sour, and is often described as the Thai food of China. Little Yunnan brews its own rice wine. Definitely one of must-see places when you visit Beijing.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hidden secret, we'll worth a stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stopped in for a lazy lunch on Sunday and had a fabulous meal... The lotus flowers were just to try and well... They were ok but also on the plate were the mushrooms with red chilies- outstanding!!! The ambience is charming in that small intimate china kind of venue. We ate with locals and felt we were getting a real experience without the organ meats and tripe. Menu was in English so we felt comfortable ordering local dishes. Next time we are ordering the crawfish? Smaller than langoustine but not prawns... They were being cleaned when we walked out and looked divine. Until next stop I'll be dreaming about little yunnan.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Yunnan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I've been to a number of Yunnan places in Beijing and this one is my favorite. Everything was well prepared and presented. The menu offers short English descriptions. We had the lemongrass spare ribs which were excellent and the Tilapia was even better. Plan on about 50 - 80 rmb a person. The restaurant is quant and full of character.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Yunnan cuisine very well represented in Beijing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Easy to find on a major artery of Beijing, we end up here thanks to tripadvisor.
We went there on a week evening and it was filled with locals. Reservations are highly recommended.
Crayfish is the highlight of this restaurant. We also had it and it was quite good: fresh and perfectly cooked. We particularly enjoyed the sauce. We also had the pea's sprouts, flower sprouts and cordiceps and black fungus. All fresh and all delicious!
The language skills are limited, but we managed to get what we wanted.
Outdoor seating is available.
We recommend this place and would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our Best Meal in China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This little gem of a restaurant is amazingly good! We've been to a lot of the top rated restaurants on Trip Advisor but this one has been our best meal so far. Unlike a lot of the restaurant suggestions here, this place doesn't feel too westernized.

It's just a 5 minute walk from the north exit of the Forbidden City. The street looks a little run down but once you find the courtyard you will see how cozy and inviting it is.

We tried the fried green beans, Yunnan chicken and pineapple sticky rice. All the dishes tasted amazing and I would recommend them all. The staff doesn't speak English but you can just point at things and the menu is very well laid out. We will certainly be back to this one! Do try it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value, good food, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

One of the best Chinese restaurants I have dined at. Prices very reasonable. Many of the diners were speaking Yunnan dialect....also a good sign for a Yunnan restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Yunnan also viewed

Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 
Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Little Yunnan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Yunnan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.