We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we love the duck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jingzun Roastduck Restaurant

Jingzun Roastduck Restaurant
North of Building 6, Taipingzhuang Nanli, Chunxiu Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)
010-64174075
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 9,467 Restaurants in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 61 Reviews
Cuisines: Beijing Specialties
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
sta rosa philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“we love the duck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

our first plan was to go to this fancy restaurant that only serves peking duck but the traffic was crazy because of the coming mid-autum festival but we decided against it and settled for this restaurant... it was a very wise choice because it takes 30 minutes to go one block. next day we tried going again but traffic was even worst, so jingzu again and we love it. ate here 3 times during our 4 day stay in beijing

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Excellent restaurant and very good value. I had the duck and it was very good. To be honest if I compare it to Dadongs duck, near by (which I have been to twice recently) it is not quite as good & not quite as ceremonial in its presentation, but it is about half the price. If I was looking for the one off tourist experience I would go to Dadongs Dongsi, but as a regular Beijinger I will be back here too.
Menu's were in English, the service was good and there staff spoke some English. Other meals were good as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
“Ducking good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Cracking food, nice place, good price! would recommend it to anyone and very close to the Holiday Inn across the road!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Peking Duck +Alfresco setting = Heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

This was our second visit to Beijing, and if only we knew about this place then! Great value for the high quality in food and atmosphere.

We ordered Peking Duck, Beef & Mushroom and a fried rice. All were very good, and we didn't taste high levels of salt at all. This was probably our best dining experience in Beijing-previously, I recall the food (in general) being oily, salty and bland - this isn't the case here!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Service, but the food...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

On the way back to the apartment, we stopped at Jingzun for dinner. The patio is full every evening when I pass by, so I figured we'd give it a try. Service was prompt and very helpful. The young man at the door was able to seat us on the patio right away. The menu is large, and is in English and Chinese. We ordered the spicy peking duck, purple potatoes, chicken in chili, the assorted mushrooms, and a shrimp dish. The first four arrived quickly, as they were not not items. In Vietnam, they would be the equivalent of nhau food (food you eat while drinking beer and socializing). The dishes were initially good, but the sodium level slowly escalated. The chicken in chili in particular was very salty. The spicy duck was good, but similar to the duck we buy from the Chinese corner market back home, and a little salty. I didn't really like the mushrooms. Normally, I love mushrooms. In fact, only the night before we tried another restaurant that specialized in mushroom dishes. These didn't do it for me. Earthy, dry, not a lot of flavor. The potatoes were good. Soft and in a sweet sauce sprinkled with chili flakes. The potatoes provided a way to offset the saltiness of the chicken. When the shrimp arrived they were very good. Lightly fried and in a sweet and sour (tamarind?) sauce. Had all the dishes been on the level of the shrimp, it would have been a much tastier meal. The service here kept the rating decent, and it wasn't a huge hit to the wallet. Next time, maybe when we're a little more hungry or with a few more friends, we'll give the whole duck at try. I'm just not sure if we'll order any other sides to go with it...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jingzun Roastduck Restaurant also viewed

 
Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Jingzun Roastduck Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jingzun Roastduck Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.