We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All is well.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Chunxiu Road, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100027, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #56 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All is well.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Very fast Wifi, nice rooms.
Good location and affordable rates inclusive of breakfast. Breakfast could be better, very poor bread basket, no ham or bacon. Was here 2 times prior to this visit. Tao from Budapest, Hungary.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victor f, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest: Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in thenear future. Thanks for your approval and praise to our hotel. We are looking forward to your coming again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    229
    34
    3
    3
See reviews for
53
73
54
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is not a bad hotel, maybe better than the three stars I give it, but the missing things were important to me. First, the good: clean, fairly priced (a wide range of online quotes for the same room--best to shop around), internet worked mostly well with some bandwidth limits, breakfast selection OK if not great, TV selection, the usual things one might expect from this kind of international property.

Here were other things that affected my rating:
* Location is subjective. If your hotel is next to your office, then it's in a good location. This property is quite a long walk to the Dongzhimen Subway, much too far to walk with luggage. The free shuttle bus is apparently only at intervals in the morning, and fills up quickly. The hotel is also quite a long walk from the heart of Sanlitun. So it's not really "near" much of anything.
* Getting a taxi in the morning was chaotic and impossible. No queues, no hope at all. Were it not for a kind-hearted shuttle bus driver who apparently broke the rules and let us onto the already-full bus with our bags, we would probably have missed our flight. He got us to the Subway, even though we had planned to take a taxi from the hotel. No way at all to do that.
* It's noisy there, outside on the busy road, and inside in the middle of the night with loud and thoughtless guests. This is not the hotel's fault, but even so ...
* Aircon didn't work. Fan did, but there was no way to cool down the room. Opening the window slightly just made the noise worse.
* No mini-refrigerator. It would have been very nice to have one.
* There never seemed to be anyone at the information/concierge desk. Not unusually, we had many questions about how to find different locations, but we had to ask front desk staff. They were helpful enough, but I felt guilty about blocking other guests who were waiting to check in or out. Is that really my fault? No.

That's it.

Room Tip: Try for a room not facing the noisy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victor f, IHG Social Listening Team at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Goloh,

Thank you for your valuable feedback shared on Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen and it is much appreciated.We are very sorry that you experienced inconvenience due to the traffic and service. Rest assured that we are looking into make people staying more comfortable, ensuring that we provide all our guests with an excellent experience.Your advice is very import to us, we thank you for your constructive feedback andlook forward to your continuous support in the near future.Thank you!

Sincerely,IHG Social Listening Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

In Beijing I most recommend this Holiday Inn.And I have stayed many times at this hotel.Check-in and check-out is very convenient.Location is great, parking is very convenient.But breakfast very unpalatable.....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victor f, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest: Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in thenear future. Thanks for your approval and praise to our hotel. We are looking forward to your coming again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

This hotel offers good value for money option in a quiet area of Beijing - service level is great (loved chatting with the driver of the complimentary bus service) and polite - maintenance is good but a little off from the subway (is quite a walk).

Dongzhimen is a good base as it offers good connectivity to the airport via the subway - but finding the entrance to the airport-bound platform is quite a nightmare - you have been warned (though some TA members beg to differ). Note as well that subway underground passageways are not meant as a road crossing (unlike Singapore and HK where is used to cross to the other side of the roads).

Breakfast options is quite good though would be limited by western standards.

Good value and service!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victor f, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest: Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in thenear future. Thanks for your approval and praise to our hotel. We are looking forward to your coming again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

It´s a well located and reasonably priced hotel. The room was good and had everything I needed. The restaurant offered western and Chinese food as well. Some of the front desk staff speak English and are ok as far as service is concerned. There is a great Beijing Duck restaurant in front of the hotel and a western style supermarket half a block away. I would recommend getting the front desk to write in Mandarin where you want to go. Taxi drivers do not speak English. Get the hotel card and address in Mandarin to get back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The rooms are ok with basic, clean facilities. Very noisy though both inside the hotel itself (people shouting across from one room to another at 1 am) and outside (the hotel is next to a major road). Lobby staff only speaks very basic English. Ok for one night, but no longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Having experienced my fair share of sketchy accommodations in China, I was very pleased at how Western the level of comfort and service that this hotel provided with wonderfully reasonable prices. The neighborhood is brimming with character, a great little grocery store just down the street, fruit vendors, and a relaxing massage all just a block or two away to end your day of adventure perfectly. The rooms are well-appointed, and clean; the staff is very helpful, friendly, and speaks functional English. All in all, it was a great stay for a great price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen

Address: No.1 Chunxiu Road, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Beijing
#44 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#49 Business Hotel in Beijing
#181 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll enjoy all the convenience of a city centre location when you choose Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen. Beijing Capital International Airport is 30 minutes away and historic Beijing is also within easy reach. This welcoming hotel sits back from the city in its own gardens, and has complimentary high-speed Internet throughout.Visit nearby company headquarters such as IBM and Boeing, as well as a host of embassies in the area. You can also welcome up to 100 guests or associates to one of our 4 meeting rooms at Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen. Parking is complimentary and we're a 10-minute walk from the city's subway network.Take a stress-free subway ride to many of the city's landmarks, most within a few minutes of the hotel. Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City are both around 8km away, so you're close to the best of Beijing. Our friendly Front Desk staff can suggest tours for the family, and kids under 18 stay free.Savour a complimentary breakfast before exploring the city. Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen also offers set lunch and dinner menus, ideal if you're on the go. Venture out to Sanlitun Village to find one of Beijing's most popular entertainment spots, with dozens of bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.