We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.3 Sanfeng Beijing, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #57 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a functional hotel in a good location in Beijing. The rooms are fine with more than enough space. There is a German themed restaurant as part of the hotel which serves a decent pint. The breakfast was ok without being special. The staff were efficient enough. All in all a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time out to share your experience at our hotel, we are delighted that you enjoy your stay with us. The German restaurant is Hopfenstub, we have a set of brew equipment, the fresh brewed beer is worth to try. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    112
    28
    3
    7
See reviews for
21
42
8
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a business hotel in a business area, the breakfast was amazing - great choice in the buffet ( even can have chickens feet with salad! )
The room was fine, very clean and lots of space.
The Blue Frog next door is a great place to eat especially on a Monday as burgers are buy one get one free as are drinks, nothing else close by that we could see apart fram usual American suspects !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Time there Sept 2012.This was the first hotel we stayed in on our 15 day tour of China with Oriental Travel Company. I will rate this first and then at the end put all the other hotels we stayed at so those can be checked. as there doesnt seem to be anywhere to rate tours I will do it here. Everything we did was arranged for us and even though we were dubious as if everything would go alright it did. Flights that were arranged for us were Emirites, brilliant changed flights in Dubai but stayed in the same terminal so easy. Arrived beijing and met by our tour manager Harry Wu who was a star all the way through, he put us in a taxi to the hotel where we booked in not to much problem but not much english but everyone was polite.The room we had was lovely and all touches there slippers,toileterities and kettle (careful dont use the big bottles of water expensive) 2 small ones provided for cleaning teeth etc every day.The beds were so comfy with mattress and pillows really nice. The hotel was reallylovely. had to swipe your key card to get to your floor in the lift -good idea.Had a look in the swimming pool and leisure centre it was beautiful but we didnt have time to use it. Breakfast english, chinese, continental or japanese very nice maybe not as hot as we are used to but lovely. Didnt have any other meals here as we were on tour. 3 nights here ate at the Blue Frog cafe next door one night which was really good cost about £22 with 2 beers.Traffic is heavy in all chinese towns and you seem to take your life in your hands when crossing the road, traffic just goes round you. I wont go through all we did with the tour just go onto Oriental Travel Company site and check out. Rest of tour hotels Grand Noble hotel Xi'an,Crown Plaza Panda Garden Chengdu,Century cruise ship,Yangtze river,Grand Mercure Zhongha Shanghai

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments . We pride ourselves in delivering the most comfortable stay for our guests and offer a wide range of Food & Beverage options in our property to suit every taste, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Arrived to the hotel 9 pm the room i reserved was not available so they decided to downgrade me, after i protested they let me wait an hour and half until this issue was resolved,
It seemed they just couldn't care less even though i am a gold member.
No bell boy around to help with the luggage.
the room was clean, the shower wasn't working proper it had a leak ans spraying water all over the place, this was my second time at this hotel the first time was about two years ago the service was also bad back then but i hoped it changed for the better and igt seems it just got worse.
this hotel gives a bad name to the crowne plaza chain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for your review and we are very sorry to hear about the situation at checkin. Please send me a direct message via nora.li@ihg.com with any more details that we can make investigation and address this issue with your directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I recently spent five nights at the Crowne Plaza U-Town and was very happy with the hotel. My room was quite large, very clean, very modern and well appointed. The pool is great for swimming laps (although note that you must have a bathing cap to swim and to buy one from the hotel costs 40 yuan). I didn't use the fitness centre, but it was a decent size and had all the standard equipment. I found the buffet breakfast to be excellent and it had the best selection of all the hotels I stayed in on my tour. I ate at the hotel restaurant one evening and it was fine. There is an ATM in the lobby which is a good source for getting yuan and the hotel staff were happy to help change some bills as well.

The hotel is attached to a mall, which is interesting to browse if you have some time to kill. There is a food court and some restaurants in the mall (including a Starbucks). There's a supermarket about a block away from the hotel and a Walmart grocery store about 2 blocks away -- good for stocking up on bottles of water beyond the two free small bottles the hotel provides.

If you're a tourist, the hotel is a bit far from the major tourist attractions -- especially given the traffic conditions in Beijing. I was on a tour so it didn't matter to me, but if I was travelling on my own, I might prefer to be closer to the Forbidden City. If you have time, I do recommend visiting the nearby Fork Museum/ DongYue Daoist Temple - it was a fascinating (and quiet) place to while away a couple of hours.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our 5-star service and our exceptional f&b options, and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Regarding the tour sites, it takes 30minutes to forbidden city by taxi, and it's convenient to take subway as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown Hills, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is nice. Has wifi in the rooms. Overhead shower leaked horribly, dumping about a gallon of water on the floor. Decent sized room for Beijing. Nice exercise room. Pretty good area, lots of reasonable eating options in the mall next door--Blue Frog if you need some Western food. 7-11 to the right and across the street. Only odd thing is the taxi driver from the train station did not know where it was even with the address written in Chinese. He had me call the hotel so he could talk with them. Taxi driver coming back from Great Leap Brewery also did not know where it was.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights at start of China tour. The hotel has a huge atrium lobby with comfy chairs etc. Room was very well appointed with 2 chairs and large bathroom with modern fititngs. Location appeared to be in business district so not a lot to do in the immediate area although taxis are very cheap. Breakfast selection was immense - from fruit, pancakes and cakes, asian, cooked breakfast etc. Main issue we faced was with the concierge where there was a definite issue with understanding english. We wanted to see a show and tried for 2 nights to arrange this through the concierge but without success. Coffee and cakes in the lobby were great - but expensive as 15% service charge added to inflated prices. Shopping centre appeared to be newly opened and so lots of empty shops but good for a quick browse - food court in basement was fun and we had ice creams here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town

Address: No.3 Sanfeng Beijing, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town 4.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town is an international hotel perfectly located in Beijing's Central Business District, adjacent to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs,Embassy Area, Sanlitun Bar Street and teh Silk Market. Hotel prime location is wonderfully convenient in meeting your business, shopping and entertainment needs. The hotel adjoins popular U-Town Lifestyle Center and Shopping Wall, which features a vibrant array of leisure and entertainment venues. Splendid accommodations and superior quality service make Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town The Place to Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.