We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to try properly prepared duck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guo Guo Sifang Roast Duck

Guo Guo Sifang Roast Duck
No.2015 Vantone Center, 6A Chaowai Dajie, Chaoyang district | Ooooo, Beijing, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)
010-59071920
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 9,456 Restaurants in Beijing
Cuisines: Beijing Specialties
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to try properly prepared duck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Glad I tried it and the place was lovely, presentation of the duck was something to see. Not my favorite type of food - but not bad at all. Just a little gamey for my American tastebuds. Would recommend though, no problem.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    45
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Good food and english menu, but we missed the duck as they only serve the national dish until 8pm (restaurant closes officially at 9pm, but we left around 10pm). If we had had time we would have returned for the duck. Note that the restaurant is not placed exactly where it according to the TA map. Look up "Vantone Center" on google maps instead and grab the subway, it's close by.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great Duck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Gave this resturant a try based on Trip Advisor reviews. The location is one stop up from the Acrobat Show, so we went here prior to the Cha. The food came out quick and was very good. None of us had ever had Peking Duck and were pleasantly suprised. They did not speak much English but we managed. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Top Contributor
493 reviews 493 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
“Excellent value but location out of the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This place is probably not close to any tourist attractions that you are visiting. More in the business district than tourist area. However it is one of the best restaurants to vist, especially for duck.
Our duck was very good and the price is very reasonable unlike places like DaDong. I was there with 3 Chinese friends who enjoyed all the dishes. While it is located in an area with a high density of foreigners, the food is authentic Chinese.
You can now get there pretty easily by subway with the new line 6.
Good for people on a budget looking for good Beijing duck

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but well worth the search”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This restaurant was recommend to us by a Beijing resident friend, and we were not disappointed. The Peking Duck is superb, as were many of the other menu choices, and the real bonus is a great selection of good quality and reasonably priced wines. The ambiance is relaxed and welcoming, and Summer, the English speaking waitress, could not have been more helpful. Most of the other guests were locals, which we found to be a very encouraging sign. As other reviews have said, the place is tricky to find, but we asked our taxi driver to find the Vantone Centre and we got there after a little looking around. When we left, we really struggled to find a taxi, so would recommend that you ask the restaurant to call one for you. Overall, this is easily the best Peking Duck restaurant in Beijing that we could find - try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guo Guo Sifang Roast Duck also viewed

 

Been to Guo Guo Sifang Roast Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guo Guo Sifang Roast Duck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.