We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Orange Hotel Beijing Jianguomen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Crystal Orange Hotel Beijing Jianguomen to your Saves list
Crystal Orange Hotel Beijing Jianguomen
No.25 Yong'anli Middle Street, Jian Guo Men Wai, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 5,463 Hotels in Beijing
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent room for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Lived in Beijing for 5 years and been travelling back-and-forth between Beijing and Shanghai for 2 years now.

I must say that this is a nice little gem in Beijing! The room is very comfortable with nice light settings, a small fish tanks, covered "sun balcony" and an outdoor balcony. More importantly, there's a dual shower head shower! Perfect for couples or even if you just enjoy a nice long hot shower by yourself!

The price makes this hotel very attractive as well. I think it's much more reasonably pried compared to other similarly equiped hotels.

The only downside is the location of the hotel. It's a little hard to find and not easy to get a taxi. If you have to be somewhere on-time you'll need to leave early and/or hitch the subway (can be extremely crowded during rush hour). Don't get me wrong, the hotel is quite centrally located near CBD but the actual location is a little harder to find for a first time traveler.

Net-net, this hotel is now one of my favorites in Beijing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    69
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
17
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

the hotel stay has been great for us.
the rooms and toilets were clean and the space was great.
and the touch controls are able to adjust the room lights and settings .
i love that they actually provide travel adapters at the side of the study table.

the bathroom had both a standing shower and a bathtub !
my only issue is breakfast doesnt seem to be provided.

we upgraded our room on our 4th night and the other room was equally fantastic !

Room Tip: non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

This hotel is a little gem amongst a bustling city. Well located with a central/main underground station nearby. It is walking distance to the Silk Market.
The staff are friendly and tries to assist in many ways, though English speaking is not always good, it is adequate.
The rooms are comfortable and very clean with great bathrooms. The price for what it offers is excellent. We were a group of 8 adults and we were all very happy with the service and our stay at the hotel.
The only small issue for some may be a limited bfast menu for some but the food served is good.

Room Tip: choose a high floor and non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I liked this hotel very much!
Please find below the list of my thoughts about it:
ADVENTAGES:
- Comfortable bed
- Small Dove chocolate, every day on the pillow
- Positive atmosphere: in a room I had an aquarium with fish and the introducing letter “from” the fish, Rubicon cube and radio with funky music uploaded on the SD card. In a room there were touch panels to “set up the lightening mood” – geeky idea!
- Service was just great: I have done the laundry (very reasonable price, well done, everything was ready in ~5 hours, inc. ironed T-shirts), service welcomes you every time you enter the hotel, during Halloween they were wearing the Pirate’s huts, masques, colorful hair – and they look they were having fun!
- I the lobby there are two Mac computers to check out things while you are in the lobby
- Room equipment: hairdryer, tooth brush, comb, soap, shampoo, balm, network cable, huge plasma TV, bathrobe, shoe polish equipment.
- Breakfast not included, but the price is ~8$
- Nice location! It is ~5-8 minutes (350m) to the metro station line 1 (Yong'anli), or 12 to line 1 and 2 (Jianguomen).

My regular morning: Walk out from the hotel, turn right, buy some tangerines from the local seller, order 5 dumplings (bamboo box style) for less than 1$ on the corner of the street (be careful! They disappear fast! 8 AM or earlier is a perfect time to eat them), turn right and go straight to LG Twin Towers (50m) to Starbucks and drink coffee, go out on the other side and jump to metro Yong'anli. On the other side of the street there is a so called Silk Market. You can do some shopping there – you can buy only local stuff (clothes, teapots, chopsticks, “original” watches, silk, pearls, hmm… everything ;)).

For fancy shopping you need to go to The Place (local and international brands) which is more/less walking distance or China World Hotel underground - a lot of great designers.

DISADVENTAGES
- If you like to eat breakfast in the hotel, you will find very European style food in the lobby restaurant. Service is great but the food itself – pretty regular: croissant or sandwich, egg, vegetables, coffee, tea, comgee. I will rate it as: OK.
- No business center – if you would like to print the boarding pass, they do not provide this service. BUT there is a copy shop nearby.

Have a nice stay in China!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stay in a business class double room on 10/F for 3 nights during a weekend. Not a luxury choice, but the room at reasonable price is provided with sufficient amenities for budget travelers targeted for sight-seeing/ outing during the day:
1. Convenient location – within 10 min walk from metro station on line 1
2. Comfy bed
3. Clean shower and bath
4. Clean wooden and stone floor in room
5. A genuine no smoking room on no smoking floor.
6. An openable window to breathe fresh air if needs be.
7. Ipod station and free WiFi in room.
The only down side is that it’s not easy to locate and may take a longer route on taxi, if you have never been there before and with huge luggage. And there is only one lift available for 11 floors of hotel rooms and the efficiency of the vertical transport will be tested if full-housed.
Will stay there again if I’ll visit Beijing again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The hotel is located in a street with real local flavour. If, like me, you find the large hotel chains impersonal and boring, this is a great hotel. The value for money is also superb. In the street of the hotel you find small shops selling everything from fruit to chickens and hole-in-the wall 'eateries'. It's very safe and you can walk around at any time of day or night.
In the street behind you find more upscale restaurants including an excellent Manchurian restaurant.
The hotel has great interior design, free wifi and friendly staff. Great music starts playing as soon as you enter your room, nice touch! The room design as well is really nice! There is a docking station for your ipod, and I was happy with the size of my room. More than enough for a single person.
The only negatives I can think of if I need to list them:
1) I couldn't find a hairdrier in my room, but it could be that I missed it and I also did not ask for one as I had my own anyway.
2) taxi drivers sometimes had trouble finding the hotel due to the location in the small neighbourhood street but the hotel provides a good map which you pick up once you get there. The key is to make sure you have good instructions in Mandarin for when you arrive at the airport and need a taxi.
3) no gym, but if you want to go small and personal (and great value) something has to give. There is a large gym around the corner which you can visit as a guest.

If you like big hotel chains with all the services and facilites then this is not your hotel but if you like great design and a stay with more local flavour and excellent value then this is a great hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is a beautifully fresh boutique hotel with lots of thought put into the design. The bedroom although not large has excellent touches. Mood lighting, a lovely rain shower in a super bathroom, good flat screen TV and free internet access. Most impressive is the option for varying the speed of the fan on the aircon. It can be reduced to a whisper level for the night ensuring the noise of the fan does not disturb ones nigh sleep. There are few facilities. Only one lift (elevator) which meant we often had to wait and a restaurant that only opens for breakfast. However this is a boutique hotel and, as such, these are not major weaknesses. The location is down a side street but near a main artery and close to the silk market, embassy district and other attractions. Taxi drivers seem to have an issue with the location but if you provide the phone number to the taxi driver the hotel staff is adept at providing directions – so we did not consider the location a major disadvantage.
What a pity that the operation of the hotel does not live up to the design. On the first night our aircon stopped working and only blew hot air - a hot and sticky night resulted. Several requests to have it attended to the next day led to no change. Promises that “a colleague would come up to look at it” were not acted on. The result was another disturbed night’s sleep. Further requests the next eventually saw a member of the reception staff arrive that night. It turned out that the aircon for the whole hotel was being switched off! Presumably this was a money saving exercise. Having strongly pressed the need for the aircon to be operating during the night it was eventually switched on and we had a cool and comfortable night. However, it is unacceptable that such a thoughtful design element should be frustrated by what appears to be penny-pinching operating.
Penny pinching is also evident in the dreadful breakfast. One has to choose from a list of a small range options and only one item was available within the options. Asking if we could choose a second item within the options led to the information this would result in being charged for an additional breakfast! What was provided was also very poor. On our first day the croissants hard and desiccated, rye dread was actually only commercial sliced brown break and the breakfast boiled eggs were rock hard. We passed on breakfast for the next two days and there are many options within 10 minutes’ walk adjacent to the embassy district.
Overall the staff wished to be helpful but appeared inexperienced. They were unsure about a number of issues in the hotel and environs. Communication was difficult as no one had any real ability to communicate in English. This was contrary to our experience in a range of other hotels we experienced over a three week stay in China.
To recommend or not? The hotel is beautifully designed and the breakfast can just be avoided. It may suit those seeking a romantic getaway rather than those on business. Changing the breakfast offering, ensuring the aircon works as intended and having some staff with reasonable English would transform this potentially excellnet hotel.

Room Tip: Insist on aircon working during night in warm weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Orange Hotel Beijing Jianguomen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Orange Hotel Beijing Jianguomen

Address: No.25 Yong'anli Middle Street, Jian Guo Men Wai, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 5,463 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A high-end design Hotel, a fusion of Chinese and Western design, featured with 5-star hotel in-room facilities. Best value high-end hotel in Beijing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crystal Orange Hotel Beijing Jianguomen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Orange Hotel Beijing Jianguomen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.