We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Orchid Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Orchid Hotel
No.65 Baochao Hutong, Gulou East Street, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #5 of 5,123 hotels in Beijing
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This Hotel was just perfect for our 4 day trip to Beijing. The staff was delightful and very accommodating. It was such a treasure to stay right in a Hutong and have that experience. We felt very safe at all times. The staff invited us to a Dumpling cooking lesson and that was a real treat to be a part of that experience. It was shared by all with good wine, great food, good conversations with the other guests, and of course the Dumplings were the caveat on top of it all. If you really want to experience the true Beijing, stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    58
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
168
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. The room was fantastic, relaxing and a delight to come back to each night. The breakfast menu is one of the best I have seen in a hotel. The staff are very friendly and efficient. Perhaps most importantly, the location, while potentially tough to find at first, puts you right in the middle of the electric atmosphere of a Hutong. The selection of eclectic and unusual local bars and restaurants will keep you busy every evening. Overall, if in Beijing, stay at the Orchid

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This small quaint hotel is not only a hidden gem but one of the best hotels I have stayed at. It really was our sanctuary away from the noise and bustle of Beijing. It is conveniently located to many sights and restaurants. The bed was comfortable, the room was very clean and the never ending fruit bowl was the cherry on top!

Not only were they able to arrange transportation, they also invited us to an impromptu dumpling making class one evening which was lots of fun! Not only did we get to make and eat dumplings, we got to have wonderful conversations with other guests staying at The Orchid over wonderful glasses of wine.

Breakfast menu consists of favourites such as pancakes and breakfast sandwiches but all with a local twist! Each item we chose was delicious and carefully prepared.

We will stay here again the next time we are in Beijing.

Room Tip: Room number seven had steep stairs up to a loft bed which were a bit tricky for my 6'3 husband t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a little gem tucked away in a neighborhood in Beijing. Beautiful, clean rooms. Great wine. But the best part is they can provide you with everything on a moment's notice. They hired a guide for us to go to a remote part of the Great Wall. His name is Joe hamlet2008.com@163.com He'll drive you 2 hours out of Beijing and hike up a mountain to a remote part of the wall with no tourists!! So worth it!! Reliable transport to and from airport. I highly recommend.!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My previous review for this hotel was for the Yin Room and it pretty much summed up what a fantastic find The Orchid is and the wonderful location.

All the rooms are uniquely different and this time our Garden room was off the small outside courtyard and very comfortable. It didn't have a window, instead there was a large sky light with an opening blind to let in the light. It was roomy, quiet, excellent value with free wifi, Apple TV and breakfast included.

The rooms have everything you need but the only minor annoyance was there were no side lamps on the bedside tables - there is a central one on the wall behind the bed but it was a bit annoying if one person wanted to read & the other wanted to go to sleep. This was a minor blip and the overall attention to detail and added extras more than compensate.

I really love the location of this charming hotel and its friendly atmosphere. Its an easy walk to the Drum & Bell towers, Nanluoguxiang and the Houhai Lake area. We walked to the Forbidden City from here because we like to explore - We detoured a bit & it took about 1 hour.

Mr Shi's Dumpling just across from the The Orchid did not disappoint yet again. You can count on Mr Shi's - the dumplings selection is big and you always have an enjoyable meal. There are heaps of other places to eat in Baochao Hutong - try Dali Renjia, Modernista or Southern Barbarian ( all within a 5 minute walk).

Cant complement the staff enough. They managed to rustle up for us a bottle of South Australian Red and helped with train tickets. More than helped with the train tickets because we needed them last minute at a busy period on a popular train - they sent someone to the station in the early morning to get us the tickets we needed and they didnt even charge us a commission.

You might find it a bit hard to get a taxi when you depart. The hotel called us one but it didnt show up, we had expected this and it was easy just to take our luggage to the end of the street to Gulou Dongdajie and hail one from there. Make time allowances for this if you are going to the airport or train station & have to be on time.

As said in my previous review this is a wonderful intimate hotel and the location cant be improved. It has everything you need with personality in abundance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Small, friendly and perfectly situated in the midst of the Hutongs. The service was very good, beds comfortable and an excellent breakfast. An added bonus is pleasant bar area and good wine list. If you want a small hotel with a personal service then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a lovely small quiet hotel tucked away, but within a bustling neighbourhood with plenty of nearby restaurants and bars to sample. Within an easy walk of several major sites and the much expanded, safe and east to use subway network. Staff were extremely helpful, making suggestions, helping with transfers and even giving you a local map and mobile phone! They even gave us breakfast when we went to drop off our luggage after arriving on an early flight. Good coffee and nice room top it off nicely.

Room Tip: We think the room with the private terrace was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: No.65 Baochao Hutong, Gulou East Street, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5,123 hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.