We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Orchid Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Orchid Hotel
No.65 Baochao Hutong, Gulou East Street, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #4 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. The room was fantastic, relaxing and a delight to come back to each night. The breakfast menu is one of the best I have seen in a hotel. The staff are very friendly and efficient. Perhaps most importantly, the location, while potentially tough to find at first, puts you right in the middle of the electric atmosphere of a Hutong. The selection of eclectic and unusual local bars and restaurants will keep you busy every evening. Overall, if in Beijing, stay at the Orchid

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    58
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
166
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This small quaint hotel is not only a hidden gem but one of the best hotels I have stayed at. It really was our sanctuary away from the noise and bustle of Beijing. It is conveniently located to many sights and restaurants. The bed was comfortable, the room was very clean and the never ending fruit bowl was the cherry on top!

Not only were they able to arrange transportation, they also invited us to an impromptu dumpling making class one evening which was lots of fun! Not only did we get to make and eat dumplings, we got to have wonderful conversations with other guests staying at The Orchid over wonderful glasses of wine.

Breakfast menu consists of favourites such as pancakes and breakfast sandwiches but all with a local twist! Each item we chose was delicious and carefully prepared.

We will stay here again the next time we are in Beijing.

Room Tip: Room number seven had steep stairs up to a loft bed which were a bit tricky for my 6'3 husband t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a little gem tucked away in a neighborhood in Beijing. Beautiful, clean rooms. Great wine. But the best part is they can provide you with everything on a moment's notice. They hired a guide for us to go to a remote part of the Great Wall. His name is Joe hamlet2008.com@163.com He'll drive you 2 hours out of Beijing and hike up a mountain to a remote part of the wall with no tourists!! So worth it!! Reliable transport to and from airport. I highly recommend.!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My previous review for this hotel was for the Yin Room and it pretty much summed up what a fantastic find The Orchid is and the wonderful location.

All the rooms are uniquely different and this time our Garden room was off the small outside courtyard and very comfortable. It didn't have a window, instead there was a large sky light with an opening blind to let in the light. It was roomy, quiet, excellent value with free wifi, Apple TV and breakfast included.

The rooms have everything you need but the only minor annoyance was there were no side lamps on the bedside tables - there is a central one on the wall behind the bed but it was a bit annoying if one person wanted to read & the other wanted to go to sleep. This was a minor blip and the overall attention to detail and added extras more than compensate.

I really love the location of this charming hotel and its friendly atmosphere. Its an easy walk to the Drum & Bell towers, Nanluoguxiang and the Houhai Lake area. We walked to the Forbidden City from here because we like to explore - We detoured a bit & it took about 1 hour.

Mr Shi's Dumpling just across from the The Orchid did not disappoint yet again. You can count on Mr Shi's - the dumplings selection is big and you always have an enjoyable meal. There are heaps of other places to eat in Baochao Hutong - try Dali Renjia, Modernista or Southern Barbarian ( all within a 5 minute walk).

Cant complement the staff enough. They managed to rustle up for us a bottle of South Australian Red and helped with train tickets. More than helped with the train tickets because we needed them last minute at a busy period on a popular train - they sent someone to the station in the early morning to get us the tickets we needed and they didnt even charge us a commission.

You might find it a bit hard to get a taxi when you depart. The hotel called us one but it didnt show up, we had expected this and it was easy just to take our luggage to the end of the street to Gulou Dongdajie and hail one from there. Make time allowances for this if you are going to the airport or train station & have to be on time.

As said in my previous review this is a wonderful intimate hotel and the location cant be improved. It has everything you need with personality in abundance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Small, friendly and perfectly situated in the midst of the Hutongs. The service was very good, beds comfortable and an excellent breakfast. An added bonus is pleasant bar area and good wine list. If you want a small hotel with a personal service then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a lovely small quiet hotel tucked away, but within a bustling neighbourhood with plenty of nearby restaurants and bars to sample. Within an easy walk of several major sites and the much expanded, safe and east to use subway network. Staff were extremely helpful, making suggestions, helping with transfers and even giving you a local map and mobile phone! They even gave us breakfast when we went to drop off our luggage after arriving on an early flight. Good coffee and nice room top it off nicely.

Room Tip: We think the room with the private terrace was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel and it was once again a wonderful experience. The location is very special - in the hutong district - a very interesting area for walking around. Also, it is about 10 minutes walk to the subway station. Our children (11 and 14) stayed in a courtyard room and we stayed in a larger garden room next door so it is very convenient for families. The breakfasts are excellent - there is a choice of about 7 or 8 dishes which are all tasty, fresh and nutritious - pancakes, fruits, cheese and bread, eggs and the coffee is quite good, however, we did find that this depended on who was brewing it.
This is not a five star hotel but I mean this in a positive way - it is the staff and the unique touches which make it so good - on arrival we were given a mobile phone and a map with restaurants, cafes and attractions all marked out, and a subway map which we used every day. The staff, who all speak many languages, are very friendly and helpful with any request and offer advice and ideas about attractions and restaurants. They are very willing to organise anything from washing to booking restaurants and tickets.
Also, they have a lovely selection of wines located in the little bar in the foyer or you can take a drink up to the rooftop area with some nice views.
Very good value for money in Beijing and I believe the owner is planning to open another similar style hotel in the Dashilan district of Beijing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: No.65 Baochao Hutong, Gulou East Street, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.