We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Orchid Hotel to your Saves list
The Orchid Hotel
No.65 Baochao Hutong, Gulou East Street, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 5,545 Hotels in Beijing
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. The room was fantastic, relaxing and a delight to come back to each night. The breakfast menu is one of the best I have seen in a hotel. The staff are very friendly and efficient. Perhaps most importantly, the location, while potentially tough to find at first, puts you right in the middle of the electric atmosphere of a Hutong. The selection of eclectic and unusual local bars and restaurants will keep you busy every evening. Overall, if in Beijing, stay at the Orchid

Helpful?
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This small quaint hotel is not only a hidden gem but one of the best hotels I have stayed at. It really was our sanctuary away from the noise and bustle of Beijing. It is conveniently located to many sights and restaurants. The bed was comfortable, the room was very clean and the never ending fruit bowl was the cherry on top!

Not only were they able to arrange transportation, they also invited us to an impromptu dumpling making class one evening which was lots of fun! Not only did we get to make and eat dumplings, we got to have wonderful conversations with other guests staying at The Orchid over wonderful glasses of wine.

Breakfast menu consists of favourites such as pancakes and breakfast sandwiches but all with a local twist! Each item we chose was delicious and carefully prepared.

We will stay here again the next time we are in Beijing.

Room Tip: Room number seven had steep stairs up to a loft bed which were a bit tricky for my 6'3 husband t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karleegrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a little gem tucked away in a neighborhood in Beijing. Beautiful, clean rooms. Great wine. But the best part is they can provide you with everything on a moment's notice. They hired a guide for us to go to a remote part of the Great Wall. His name is Joe hamlet2008.com@163.com He'll drive you 2 hours out of Beijing and hike up a mountain to a remote part of the wall with no tourists!! So worth it!! Reliable transport to and from airport. I highly recommend.!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PCrofut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My previous review for this hotel was for the Yin Room and it pretty much summed up what a fantastic find The Orchid is and the wonderful location.

All the rooms are uniquely different and this time our Garden room was off the small outside courtyard and very comfortable. It didn't have a window, instead there was a large sky light with an opening blind to let in the light. It was roomy, quiet, excellent value with free wifi, Apple TV and breakfast included.

The rooms have everything you need but the only minor annoyance was there were no side lamps on the bedside tables - there is a central one on the wall behind the bed but it was a bit annoying if one person wanted to read & the other wanted to go to sleep. This was a minor blip and the overall attention to detail and added extras more than compensate.

I really love the location of this charming hotel and its friendly atmosphere. Its an easy walk to the Drum & Bell towers, Nanluoguxiang and the Houhai Lake area. We walked to the Forbidden City from here because we like to explore - We detoured a bit & it took about 1 hour.

Mr Shi's Dumpling just across from the The Orchid did not disappoint yet again. You can count on Mr Shi's - the dumplings selection is big and you always have an enjoyable meal. There are heaps of other places to eat in Baochao Hutong - try Dali Renjia, Modernista or Southern Barbarian ( all within a 5 minute walk).

Cant complement the staff enough. They managed to rustle up for us a bottle of South Australian Red and helped with train tickets. More than helped with the train tickets because we needed them last minute at a busy period on a popular train - they sent someone to the station in the early morning to get us the tickets we needed and they didnt even charge us a commission.

You might find it a bit hard to get a taxi when you depart. The hotel called us one but it didnt show up, we had expected this and it was easy just to take our luggage to the end of the street to Gulou Dongdajie and hail one from there. Make time allowances for this if you are going to the airport or train station & have to be on time.

As said in my previous review this is a wonderful intimate hotel and the location cant be improved. It has everything you need with personality in abundance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annieandhamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Small, friendly and perfectly situated in the midst of the Hutongs. The service was very good, beds comfortable and an excellent breakfast. An added bonus is pleasant bar area and good wine list. If you want a small hotel with a personal service then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 666StephenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a lovely small quiet hotel tucked away, but within a bustling neighbourhood with plenty of nearby restaurants and bars to sample. Within an easy walk of several major sites and the much expanded, safe and east to use subway network. Staff were extremely helpful, making suggestions, helping with transfers and even giving you a local map and mobile phone! They even gave us breakfast when we went to drop off our luggage after arriving on an early flight. Good coffee and nice room top it off nicely.

Room Tip: We think the room with the private terrace was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel and it was once again a wonderful experience. The location is very special - in the hutong district - a very interesting area for walking around. Also, it is about 10 minutes walk to the subway station. Our children (11 and 14) stayed in a courtyard room and we stayed in a larger garden room next door so it is very convenient for families. The breakfasts are excellent - there is a choice of about 7 or 8 dishes which are all tasty, fresh and nutritious - pancakes, fruits, cheese and bread, eggs and the coffee is quite good, however, we did find that this depended on who was brewing it.
This is not a five star hotel but I mean this in a positive way - it is the staff and the unique touches which make it so good - on arrival we were given a mobile phone and a map with restaurants, cafes and attractions all marked out, and a subway map which we used every day. The staff, who all speak many languages, are very friendly and helpful with any request and offer advice and ideas about attractions and restaurants. They are very willing to organise anything from washing to booking restaurants and tickets.
Also, they have a lovely selection of wines located in the little bar in the foyer or you can take a drink up to the rooftop area with some nice views.
Very good value for money in Beijing and I believe the owner is planning to open another similar style hotel in the Dashilan district of Beijing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank imof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#9 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#17 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 5,545 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
New World Beijing Hotel
#11 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#19 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: No.65 Baochao Hutong, Gulou East Street, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 5,545 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid is the ultimate base for exploring Beijing from within. Situated right in the middle of all the action of the old city and staffed by some of the coolest and fun people, staying at The Orchid means you will love Beijing, and want to come back for more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing