We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely homely hotel in a great area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Orchid Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Orchid Hotel
No.65 Baochao Hutong, Gulou East Street, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 5,414 Hotels in Beijing
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely homely hotel in a great area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here at the last 2 days in Beijing after a long 10 days of travel. And we wanted to stay somewhere we can relax for the last 2 days in China. And this was a real gem hidden away in the local old town of Beijing. It is tucked away so you can easily miss it, but once you walked in the place was just like home. Or felt like home at least. We stayed in the yin room with a private courtyard. It was spacious and homely. Plenty of films we can watch and fruit bowls to enjoy! ( We had enough of greasy food so endless fruit was a god send!) Courtyard was really lovely and homely, and peaceful. Breakfast was also lovely and coffee and juice was amazing! Just what we needed! Shame I couldnt have stayed longer, but if you are coming to Beijing come here! It's the best hotel in Bejing!

Room Tip: If you can get the yan room which has a private upstairs balcony! We wanted that room but it was tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    60
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
39
175
20
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I spent 4 days in Orchid amazing hotel in May. We found it on Tripadvisor and really had an amazing stay.

The room is very well appointed. The staff throughout the hotel was extremely friendly and gave some great recommendations on how to enjoy Beijing to its fullest.

Even though Shanghai was very warm during our stay, we really loved our breakfast and our drinks before dinner.

Next time we are visiting Beijing, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Absolutely loved The Orchid, they have the 'chic on a budget' balance just right, I didn't want to leave. Wonderful location, cosy little rooms, great breakfast and comfy bar in the foyer. The staff couldn't do enough to help, organising restaurant reservations and a daytrip to the Wall. Loved the free in-room wifi and music and movie library for nights in.
I'd recommend booking the car pickup on your first visit, as its quite hidden away and not all cab drivers are prepared to drive into the hutong.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

As a family we took three rooms and used the hotel as a base for exploring Beijing for a week. It is an oasis of calm set within the unrefined and unadulterated life of the Hutongs. The staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble - they even arrange for local restaurants to deliver food to eat in the hotel. Two things you must do - the trek the Orchid organises to the Great Wall that ends at Mutianyu but starts with a remote hill path to a part of the Wall that is totally deserted - and two, get the hotel to arrange tickets for the Chinese acrobat show. It might sound a bit cheesy but it absolutely amazing.

Room Tip: If you manage to book any you have done well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a beautiful surprise to enter this stunning boutique hotel
and what an incredible bonus - the breakfast was INCREDIBLE on top of a roof top that feels u r sitting in Bali - seriously impressive what attention to detail in every aspect even large bathroom
comfortable bed etc Well done on an excellent allround product

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I am sitting here in the room in The Orchid where my boyfriend and I have been staying for the past 6 nights and it has been such a lovely place to stay in Beijing. The most important things for us when we travel are comfy beds and quiet and clean rooms. The Orchid's beds are incredible and our garden room really quiet and immaculate. I'm not a fan of big hotels and we try and stay in small places when we can, we just think they are generally nicer. The Orchid certainly is that, it seems like the owners have thought very carefully about all the things they would like in a hotel and then created it. The whole place is very attractive, with wooden floorboards, white walls, plants, comfy sofas, nice wooden furniture and good air con. The breakfasts and coffee have been perfect for us, freshly prepared with just the right amount of food and available any time from 7am to 2pm, flexibility that was great when recovering from a long flight and a night out partying in Beijing. The staff have been friendly and helpful without being overbearing, so it felt very relaxed being here and it has really been like a home from home. The wi-fi always works and because there is a VPN we could post pictures of our trip on Facebook to friends back home. The location was fantastic and we found the place easily using their map and getting the airport express train and subway when we arrived. We have found Beijing easy to get around on foot and by subway and bus and found no need for taxis here. We did take a private car organised by The Orchid to Mutianyu and appreciated the convenience of that and the car had seatbelts and air con and the driver was fine, it seems like he is a regular driver for the hotel. I think it will be hard to beat this place and we will try not to compare the places we stay for the next couple of weeks during our travels around China with the Orchid. They, too have been selected after extensive research on trip advisor, but we have been rather spoiled here. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone travelling to Beijing and if ws ever come back this would be the place for us to stay. I have travelled a lot and stayed in all sorts of places and this is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in, quite unique and just perfect really, but I guess it is my kind of place.

Room Tip: We liked the fact that our garden room was really private and nobody could walk past the window. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Have been staying here for the last couple of days, and it has been great. It really is a little tranquil oasis in the absolute craziness of Beijing. The staff are friendly and it appears that nothing is too difficult for them. We have organized an airport pick up which went perfectly and then a trip to the Great Wall with driver and lunch. Again I cannot fault this trip. Both times the drivers made up for lack of English with friendliness

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: No.65 Baochao Hutong, Gulou East Street, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5,414 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.