We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Orchid - the best name for a good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com
The Orchid Hotel
No.65 Baochao Hutong, Gulou East Street, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 4,968 hotels in Beijing
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Orchid - the best name for a good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I spent 4 days in Orchid amazing hotel in May. We found it on Tripadvisor and really had an amazing stay.

The room is very well appointed. The staff throughout the hotel was extremely friendly and gave some great recommendations on how to enjoy Beijing to its fullest.

Even though Shanghai was very warm during our stay, we really loved our breakfast and our drinks before dinner.

Next time we are visiting Beijing, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    57
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
33
154
19
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Absolutely loved The Orchid, they have the 'chic on a budget' balance just right, I didn't want to leave. Wonderful location, cosy little rooms, great breakfast and comfy bar in the foyer. The staff couldn't do enough to help, organising restaurant reservations and a daytrip to the Wall. Loved the free in-room wifi and music and movie library for nights in.
I'd recommend booking the car pickup on your first visit, as its quite hidden away and not all cab drivers are prepared to drive into the hutong.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

As a family we took three rooms and used the hotel as a base for exploring Beijing for a week. It is an oasis of calm set within the unrefined and unadulterated life of the Hutongs. The staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble - they even arrange for local restaurants to deliver food to eat in the hotel. Two things you must do - the trek the Orchid organises to the Great Wall that ends at Mutianyu but starts with a remote hill path to a part of the Wall that is totally deserted - and two, get the hotel to arrange tickets for the Chinese acrobat show. It might sound a bit cheesy but it absolutely amazing.

Room Tip: If you manage to book any you have done well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a beautiful surprise to enter this stunning boutique hotel
and what an incredible bonus - the breakfast was INCREDIBLE on top of a roof top that feels u r sitting in Bali - seriously impressive what attention to detail in every aspect even large bathroom
comfortable bed etc Well done on an excellent allround product

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I am sitting here in the room in The Orchid where my boyfriend and I have been staying for the past 6 nights and it has been such a lovely place to stay in Beijing. The most important things for us when we travel are comfy beds and quiet and clean rooms. The Orchid's beds are incredible and our garden room really quiet and immaculate. I'm not a fan of big hotels and we try and stay in small places when we can, we just think they are generally nicer. The Orchid certainly is that, it seems like the owners have thought very carefully about all the things they would like in a hotel and then created it. The whole place is very attractive, with wooden floorboards, white walls, plants, comfy sofas, nice wooden furniture and good air con. The breakfasts and coffee have been perfect for us, freshly prepared with just the right amount of food and available any time from 7am to 2pm, flexibility that was great when recovering from a long flight and a night out partying in Beijing. The staff have been friendly and helpful without being overbearing, so it felt very relaxed being here and it has really been like a home from home. The wi-fi always works and because there is a VPN we could post pictures of our trip on Facebook to friends back home. The location was fantastic and we found the place easily using their map and getting the airport express train and subway when we arrived. We have found Beijing easy to get around on foot and by subway and bus and found no need for taxis here. We did take a private car organised by The Orchid to Mutianyu and appreciated the convenience of that and the car had seatbelts and air con and the driver was fine, it seems like he is a regular driver for the hotel. I think it will be hard to beat this place and we will try not to compare the places we stay for the next couple of weeks during our travels around China with the Orchid. They, too have been selected after extensive research on trip advisor, but we have been rather spoiled here. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone travelling to Beijing and if ws ever come back this would be the place for us to stay. I have travelled a lot and stayed in all sorts of places and this is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in, quite unique and just perfect really, but I guess it is my kind of place.

Room Tip: We liked the fact that our garden room was really private and nobody could walk past the window. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Have been staying here for the last couple of days, and it has been great. It really is a little tranquil oasis in the absolute craziness of Beijing. The staff are friendly and it appears that nothing is too difficult for them. We have organized an airport pick up which went perfectly and then a trip to the Great Wall with driver and lunch. Again I cannot fault this trip. Both times the drivers made up for lack of English with friendliness

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Interesting way to start my review but the coffee at The Orchid is fantastic. Better then anything I'd tasted in China and better then most cafes back at home. The other great thing about this hotel is the locality map given to us on arrival. It's always a bit of a lotto when eating in Asia but Orchid's map was so helpful it finding us fantastic, authentic, local restaurants. That and the coffee make Orchid well worth the stay.

Only problem is that we didn't get picked up from the railway station as asked as part of the booking. Small problem. Apart from that the service was pretty good. I guess the other issue (which can't be helped) is that it's not really that close to a metro. Probably a brisk 15 minutes which doesn't sound like a lot but it all adds up.

As a nice hotel: good breakfast, nice comfy bed, TV, free wifi and you can even access Facebook. The bathroom was good but just had a few problems like not being able to close the shutters and the toilet not emptying. But altogether not too bad.

Room Tip: The staff suggest the closest metro is Guloudajie but we found the walk from Behai North was a lot n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: No.65 Baochao Hutong, Gulou East Street, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 4,968 hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Orchid Hotel to your Saves list