We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay in the Hutong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Orchid Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Orchid Hotel
No.65 Baochao Hutong, Gulou East Street, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 4,968 hotels in Beijing
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay in the Hutong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent 7 nights at The Orchid in June 2013, and we were pleased with the accommodations and were thoroughly delighted with the staff. Our room was small, but comfortable; however, it would have been a bit cramped, if we had spent a lot of time in the room. Larger rooms are available, and we will try to stay in a larger room on our next visit to Beijing.

The staff was excellent--friendly, courteous, and extremely helpful--from email information prior to our arrival through our entire stay. There was no hesitancy (or charge) for arranging for tickets to an acrobatic show (which we also recommend), travel tickets (train), and dinner reservations. Each time we had a question about where to go or how to get there, the staff was able to provide the information we needed (including transportation when necessary). Also, we had a problem with one of our credit cards, and the staff was instrumental in helping us to resolve that situation.

Breakfast on the roof at The Orchid was a great way to start the day, and drinks on the roof were a great way to end the day.

We found that the hotel's location in the Hutong was convenient to several sights and to the subway for reaching other parts of the city. "Living" in the hutong provided a great way to see an important part of Beijing.

In the "for what it is worth" category, we are from the US and are in our mid-sixties. We were visiting our son, who lives in Beijing and teaches at an international school there.

Room Tip: Unless you are traveling alone, you might prefer to get one of the larger rooms, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    57
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
33
154
19
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Olympic Peninsula
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We wanted to find a place to stay for a few days before we started a formal tour and happened upon Orchid while reading in Trip Advisor. What a find! Absolutely lovely place with a staff that provided excellent help, advice, and good conversation. Breakfast was included and there were some nice choices. Location is a bit of a chore finding, but we did it from the airport using the Airport Express train and the subway and some walking. Room was wonderful. Bathroom was really nice. Some of the things we liked were the low key approach of the staff, a pleasant place to have breakfast, an area to relax on the roof above the kitchen, and lots of resources to help in getting to know Beijing. We would definitely return on our next trip to Beijing.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bed and relaxing areas which might not be the best if you have trouble climbing stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Orchid for 2 nights at the end of June and at the end of our 5 day stay in Beijing. Like many other reviewers, our taxi wouldn't drop us at the hotel entrance so we did a little wandering around (including going into someone's house accidentally!!) to find it. Great to be in the hustle and bustle of the Hutongs though!
The staff were absolutely amazing - so friendly, helpful and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble and they gave us suggestions for eating out as well as sorting us a taxi to the train station.
The room was a good size and had all the amenities you would expect. However.... Our garden room backed on to some sort of construction/building site so we were woken before 7am each morning. The Apple TV was a nice idea but we kept losing the connection so had to do a lot of manual rebooting.
Roof terrace was great for relaxing with a glass of wine (from an extensive wine list) after a busy day or exploring the city. Breakfast was superb too.

A couple of things to note:
- getting to the metro station is relatively easy but not a very nice walk
- get the hotel to book you a taxi should you need one as we spent 45mins waiting on the main road for one and in the end gave up. Taxi drivers refused to stop for us 'Western' folk.

Overall, we were a little disappointed with the hotel after reading so many high rated reviews but would recommend to anyone wanting to experience the real Beijing.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed for a few days in June. This is a cracking place with lots of character in the heart of a hutong. The staff were particularly helpful throughout, with nothing being too much trouble. Many of the little touches made the whole experience so much easier, particularly the emails before arriving, the car service from the airport and the welcome pack. The room was clean and comfortable, whilst the roof top terrace was a great place to chill out for an hour with a drink after a manic day exploring the city and before heading out for dinner. We would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a Beijing adventure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed with a friend for a few nights while in Beijing. Staying in a hutong was quite the experience and added to the fun. Location was pretty good, although the subway is a good 15-20min walk. Recommend taking advantage of the offered car service from the airport as the hotel is a bit hard to find! Room exceeded expectations and was very comfortable. Even had a wine social (although we didn't attend as we were out and about nearly all the time we were in Beijing).

Staff was extremely friendly and courteous, and all spoke fluent English.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to finish my trip through China before writing reviews, in order to give a fair rating. Firstly let me say that staying in a hutong is a fantastic experience, and made the stay in Beijing truly memorable. First impressions of The Orchid were great, it was charming, and as other reviewers have said before the welcome pack is a great touch, as are the reminder e-mails you receive prior to arriving. Perhaps that was the problem as my expectations we're set pretty high, but I have say anything we asked them to organise was done. One of the rooms we were in had a terrible smell in the bathroom, when we brought it to the attention of the staff, the solution was to turn the fan on. This did not solve the problem. The laundry we sent to be done, took two days to be returned, but we were warned that if it continued to rain they couldn't dry it as there is no dryer. No problem with that but it came back stuffed in the laundry bag, not pressed. So I would not recommend using their laundry services, actually I felt insulted that they expected us to pay for this! This is a quaint casual hotel, but I do think the owners should perhaps spend a little more time (if any) at their hotel.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theorchidbeijing, Owner at The Orchid Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for staying at the Orchid and for providing valuable feedback to us.

To address your two concerns, let me add the following:

1) The smell in your bathroom is something that requires maintenance to look at, so our staff's solution to you was to turn the fan on while we arrange for maintenance to come and fix the problem. This alleviates the smell problem for the interim while not making you feel like you must leave your room immediately.

2) The laundry service we do is not a full-blown laundry shop service and we make no suggestions otherwise. It costs 50RMB (8$) for a whole load. This is cheaper than any 'hostel' I've ever seen in China, let alone hotel. Since we lack the staff and means to press and dry-clean clothing, I think for simply covering our costs and solving our guests' emergency laundry requirements this price is OK. Our street has three other tiny shops that will do the works for you, at a significantly higher price, so it is up to you to decide.

In the future we will obviously have to communicate this more clearly to certain guests as we hate to imagine that certain low-cost 'features' that we simply keep available for kindness and simplicity end up causing grief and a feeling of price-gouging.

Our hotel concept is driven by a relaxed interaction between guests and staff in order to make Beijing appear both easy and awesome, all while creating a genuinely cool vibe throughout the property. I think it is obvious that our staff really care about maintaining this feeling, but please don't confuse this with not caring about guests' problems.

Again, thanks for your comments, and see you next time in beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I can't possibly recommend the Orchid strongly enough. This hotel is in a great location, on a hutong close to the drum tower (if you have trouble getting there, that's always a great landmark to use) and the rooms and entire space are beautifully renovated with original brick, dark hardwoods, and a great rooftop deck area.

Most importantly, though, Joel and his staff are extremely thoughtful and they put a lot of effort into ensuring you have the best experience in Beijing, with caring and personal service that exceeds anything else we have seen in China. We ate at the best local little restaurants and saw a side of Bejing that you will never have access to unless you are a local. Truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: No.65 Baochao Hutong, Gulou East Street, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 4,968 hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.