We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the visit to Beijing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Orchid Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Orchid Hotel
No.65 Baochao Hutong, Gulou East Street, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #5 of 5,123 hotels in Beijing
Largo, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth the visit to Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This little gem is just that, a gem. The staff are very accommodating and speak multiple languages. The rooms were very comfortable and roomy. They have television with a wide variety of movies which was helpful while I was sick for a couple days so I caught up on Chinese history. Staff even went to the pharmacy for me, looked up my departure terminal, provided instructions to taxi driver.. Location is close to many things including Mr. Shi's dumplings. Nice touch to have bottled wine available. Cozy dining area and reception. Hard to believe such a top notch place at the end of the alleyway. I felt like a spoiled guest.

Room Tip: Room with Chinese doors and lock was a little hard to open but very private and inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    58
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
167
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We chose to stay at The Orchid because of the great reviews that we had read on TripAdvisor and i'm glad to say they can add another satisfied customer to the list. Some reviewers had said that the property was difficult to find and our flight arrived at midnight so we chose to take the hotel up on their airport pickup service. After a small hiccup with the driver being at the wrong gate, we managed to find him and headed to the accommodation. The room was clean, comfortable and had fresh fruit and Apple TV waiting for us. The breakfast was amazing and we were provided with a walking map of the area with some good food places, activities, subway map and some basic phrases in Mandarin as well as a local phone should we happen to get lost to call the hotel.

All of the staff were extremely helpful, called taxis for us, booked a driver for the day, spoke fluent english and were full of recommendations. The selection of wine at the bar is also great and gives you a chance to meet others staying at the hotel. Most travellers were American or European and its great to share experience and travel suggestions with them. This place is a great alternative to chain hotels and has a more friendly, homey feel about it. I recommend it to everyone!

Tips
- A taxi from the airport to The Orchid should cost less than 100 yuan and its located in a laneway directly across from Mr Shi's Dumplings
- You HAVE to try the cake for breakfast (pancakes)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a small Hutong hotel, more of a guesthouse. We stayed in the yang room with out own roof terrace. The room was lovely, with fruit everyday. The room was very comfortable. The hotel staff are very friendly, and there is a wine bar (with reasonably priced wine for china!)in the foyer. It's a very friendly and chatty hotel. Breakfast is great and included. Wifi is good. We travelled as a gay couple, and the hotel was really gay friendly. We met people there that had stayed many times before. Te location is fantastic. A little hard to find - but they offer a pick up service from airport or train, and that worked really well. The Hutong has lots of restaurants and is close to the bars of huahai lake, and to some funky shops. Fantastic location, wonderfully comfortable hotel!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel and its a true little gem in this historic quarter of Beijing. Close to lots of historic sites and a plethora of restaurants and bars, I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful and they've created one of the BEST maps of their area of Beijing, making exploring the area a complete doddle. Even easier with the local phone that they give to you, a lovely touch!

The rooms aren't huge and with 2 open suitcases and carry-on pieces and dead clothing scattered around the room, it was a bit tight, as was the small bathroom. I'm personally not a fan of the "memory foam" or Tempur mattresses that they have although, that said, I slept very well. We had our own very small outdoor area but it wasn't exactly an inviting place to be, particularly at this time of year. The hot water was a bit touch-and-go when we were there but the staff attended to the problem immediately. The hotel can be tricky to find the first time but then you can't miss it (opposite Mr Shi's Dumplings).

Breakfast was tasty and filling and the views from the rooftop seating area were a lovely introduction to Beijing's hu'tongs. It might not be a 5-star hotel and its a bit worn around the edges but we loved it and its an excellent little boutique hotel in a fabulous un-missable location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood,TN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

First time to Beijing and found my hotel on tripadvisor. Like most of the reviews had a wonderful time. Great staff, wonderful breakfast and coffee. The location is very central and gives you a better appreciation of old Beijing being in the hutongs. Would also recommend making dinner reservations far in advance for Black Sesame Kitchen which is within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I know the word ‘Oasis’ has been used in past reviews to describe this little gem of a hotel but I could not think of another word that described it better.

It was late at night (10:30 pm) when we arrived at the hotel. I had arranged a private car pickup at the airport that I thought was very reasonable. The Hutong was dark and the pollution very heavy, when we got out of the car we heard noises and arguments from the places in the Hutong. It was a very small alley leading us to the Orchid that was full of pedal bikes – we could barely get our luggage by. I was prepared for this as I had read the reviews but I had not told my husband what to expect so I think he was a bit nervous.

When we opened the door to the Orchid it was like a breath of fresh air. Once we were inside we did not hear any noises or smell the pollution from outside the hotel. The staff took our luggage and brought it directly to our room. The hotel had just finished a wine tasting evening for their guests and a few people will still in the lounge area having a nice time. We were greeted by the Reception Manager, she offered us a glass of the wine that they tasted that evening and sat with us in the lounge chatting with us a little about Beijing. She could tell we were tired by the long day of travel so she suggested we buy a bottle of wine to enjoy over the next few days in our room... which we did.

We stayed in the Yang Room – which I think is one of the larger rooms. The room was a decent size, limited storage but I was not expecting much more. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The weather was cool when we stayed there and we never had problems with the temperature in the room. It took a while for the water to heat up in the shower and it did not stay hot for very long – but once again that is something you accept when you are staying in a smaller ‘cultural’ hotel. The Apple TV was very interesting (I have not seen that before)… it was hit and miss… some movies you got some you did not… but that was OK as we were so tired from the days we did not have a lot of time to watch TV. The roof top terrace of this room was very nice and would be a definite treat if the weather would have been better. But the weather did not stop us from enjoying a glass of wine up there… we just bundled up a bit.

We thought breakfast and coffee were very good. They had several choices so you did not have to have the same thing 2 times in a row… unless you wanted to. It was busy and since no one could sit outside you had to sit with other guests. But we enjoyed this as it gave us a chance to meet and chat with the other guests about their experiences in Beijing.

We had arranged a driver via the hotel to take us to the Great Wall… yes, it was maybe a bit pricier than finding a driver via another source but I trusted the hotel and sometimes it is worth the cost to feel comfortable with your arrangements.

In the neighbourhood we ate at the Southern Barbarian (it was OK) and Mr Shi’s Dumplings (it was very good). We had also arranged a private dining experience at the Black Sesame Kitchen (10 minute walk from hotel) and we really enjoyed that evening, lots of good food and wine.

We loved the Orchid Hotel experience and would definitely recommend it. It not only gave us a place to stay but it gave us a place to meet new friends and enjoy the local feel of Beijing. Many Thanks to Joel and The Orchid staff for giving us a warm welcome to Beijing and making our stay so pleasurable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

It's not easy to find it but once you do you'll be delighted with this lovely little hotel hidden in a hutong. The rooms are small but have everything you need, breakfast is lovely and the staff are incredibly helpful. We booked our tour to the Great Wall through reception and were very happy (although the diversion to see the Olympic Stadium could have been missed!). Big thanks to the 2 French girls that work there for their restaurant and bar recommendations!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: No.65 Baochao Hutong, Gulou East Street, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5,123 hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.