We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of the same . . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Orchid Hotel to your Saves list
The Orchid Hotel
No.65 Baochao Hutong, Gulou East Street, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #10 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Rockhampton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More of the same . . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My review is short and sweet - the Orchid is everything all of the previous glowing reports have told you - great staff, wonderful breakfast and the most amazing location in old Beijing - we found the express train and then subway from the Airport not too difficult - but taxis are not expensive in China and we certainly appreciated the ~$25 transfer (arranged by the Orchid) to the Beijing South railway station on our way out of town when Beijing turned on some early snow for us last Sunday. Mr Shi's across the road is a must - it's not just dumplings ! - but they are to die for !

Room Tip: We loved our stay in the Yang Room - as others have said a little for private in a small hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    65
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
41
186
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were in Beijing for a big neuroscience conference this past June and chose to stay at the Orchid based on the killer reviews. We certainly weren't disappointed. The staff at the front desk were always welcoming, friendly and super knowledgeable. Our room was a little loft with a fab little sitting room (and amazingly spacious bathroom) downstairs and a sleeping area upstairs. The breakfast was absolutely divine - a wonderful mix of western and eastern influences, served on the outdoor terrace. It was easily the most peaceful and relaxed part of our days in buzzing, energetic Beijing! Whenever we travel back to Beijing, we will definitely pick The Orchid again - and so should you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is one of the most interesting hotels I have ever stayed in. It is situated amongst the hutongs in the old part of Beijing. When the driver (or taxi) drops you off, you will think that you are in the wrong place. Once you enter the front door, you are transported to a boutique semi luxury hotel. There are no frills here...just modern, clean, relaxing, and uncluttered spaces. We stayed in the Yang room with the rooftop terrace. It is worth the extra to get this room as it is the most remote and secluded. It also has a wonderful private terrace overlooking the Orchid and surrounding areas. The only complaint that I have is that we arranged the hotel to pick us up from the airport after our 14 hour flight. The driver was supposed to be waiting for us at the immigration exit. Unfortunately, he was not amongst the other 30 drivers. After 30 minutes of waiting, we found a phone and called the hotel. Finally, after about an hour of waiting the driver arrived and shuttled us to the hotel. It is definitely worth having a driver pick you up as the taxi line looked to be over 2 hours and most taxis will not know how to get to the hotel. If you do take a taxi, be sure and print of directions in Mandarin. Overall it was a wonderful place to stay in a very interesting and historical section of Beijing. Oh yes, eat some dumplings at Mr. Shi's!

Room Tip: Get the Yang room with the roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Yes - this is another excellent review of The Orchid. We have just spent 9 nights staying in various of the differently themed rooms. They are all wonderfully equipped, comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed the breakfasts, the excellent wine list and the peace and tranquility of the courtyard. The staff were always available for help and advice - a nice touch was that despite a very early departure for the airport (4am!) some "take away" breakfast cake had been carefully packed for us to take with us.

Only one thing - those of us who have enjoyed our stay here need to stop writing good reviews and telling people about The Orchid or we shall never be able to get a reservation again!

Room Tip: Sorry - the choice is down to you - all the rooms are great and described on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Same great experience. One in our party was looking for a martini, and the front desk staff made sure he had the fixings the next evening. The staff go the whole nine yards, and the breakfasts are wonderful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel was such a pleasure. We stayed as a family in 2 courtyard rooms with our children, 10 and 13. We had no trouble finding the hotel, but I had researched the map before we arrived (just look for Mr Shi's dumplings). The taxi from the airport dropped us on the main road and we had to walk about 100m down the hutong but this was no problem at all and made our arrival even more exciting. From the moment we arrived we felt at home - the staff were most welcoming and offered us breakfast after our overnight flight. We found it was like staying with friends - the staff suggested restaurants and trips and organised bookings for us. They wrote out directions in english and mandarin. We booked a trip to the Great Wall through the hotel and it was the highlight of our visit - we had an excellent driver and guide (the Jiankou to Mutianyu walk). The breakfast was really outstanding, the beds extremely comfortable, the location was perfect - we used the subway to go everywhere - it is very efficient and easy. I could go on to mention Mr Shi's tasty dumplings, the apple TV, the wines in the bar, the walks ...but other reviewers have said it all.

Room Tip: We stayed in courtyard rooms, which are the cheapest - rooms were quiet, clean and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, ill
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Orchid will make you feel at home in the middle of a chaotic city. I loved Beijing, but was exhausted after exploring each day during national holiday week. Staying here was a very relaxing. The staff was very helpful without being overbearing. Tucked away in a quiet location(get the driver pickup from the airport or train station, once you know the location its easy, but first time is tricky). Very soothing facility.

Room Tip: all rooms have access to main rooftop terrace, but get the one with the private rooftop if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Address: No.65 Baochao Hutong, Gulou East Street, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.