We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional haven with all the mod cons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wall Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Red Wall Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Freebies
Ranked #1 of 5,414 Hotels in Beijing
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Traditional haven with all the mod cons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My boyfriend and I (late 20s) stayed at the RWG for 3 nights in mid September 2014 and loved it! The centre courtyard and buildings were so quiet and welcoming after the hectic drive from the airport. The standard room was a really decent size and the bed was plush and offered a wonderful night's sleep. The bathroom was well equipped with a rain shower that had fantastic water pressure. The furnishings are all in a traditional style, but comfortable and very clean. The courtyard was a fantastic place to relax and enjoy a drink as well as a meal, the only problem being that people were allowed to smoke whilst others ate, but that is very common in China. The food was delicious and we ate here 2 of the 3 nights (the first because we were so tired we didn't want to leave the hotel and the third because the meal we had when we ventured out on the 2nd night was very average). The staff speak very good English and were very accommodating (extra pillows within minutes and help choosing items on the menu I could eat - I'm allergic to shellfish). The location is very central. 5 mins walk to the subway, 10-15mins from one of the main shopping streets and 20-30 mins walk to Tianamen Square and the Forbidden City. Overall I would recommend to anyone looking for something a little different but still high quality.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    119
    25
    1
    1
See reviews for
116
198
31
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed in Red wall garden for 2 days on 31st Aug & 1st Sep. Staff spoken excellent English (though we are able to speak in Mandarin, preference to speak in English) and provided a list of recommended places for visit and restaurants to go to. Took a cab from airport and cab driver had difficulty locating the hotel as they are located in a smaller lane not directly facing the main road. However, we called the hotel and they managed to provide instructions to the driver. Just in case you faced the same issue, may help if you tell the driver it's near the Regent hotel.

Room were well furnished and bed was comfortable. Lobby and corridors were nicely decorated with chinese ornaments and antiques. The distance from the reception to the my room are not entirely sheltered so if it rains you will need an umbrella (which happened to us) But the reception will have umbrellas for you.

We also got the hotel to book a private car to take us to Great Wall Mutianyu the following day. Slightly more expensive compared to taking a cab but worth the money. Driver was extremely polite and the car that picked us up were comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for three days in August, and the hotel had us picked up at the airport at 3:30AM. Their staff was wonderful, and the courtyard is relaxing after a day with the crowds in the city. We were in several hotels during our trip, and this was the best.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, and it opened directly onto the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at the Red Wall Garden Hotel for about 5 days - Aug 28 - Sept 2, 2014.
It was the MOST wonderful experience! The hotel is the perfect mix of Chinese culture with modern conveniences - Chinese antiques and furnishings in well appointed rooms with modern bathrooms, air conditioning and plush bedding. It was immaculately clean, the bathroom was spacious and modern, the complimentary breakfast was generous with lots of Eastern and Western foods to choose from (they even brought me my Diet Cokes! I don't drink coffee). The staff is friendly, incredibly helpful, fluent in English (and many other languages too), and they will help you in any and every way possible. Shout out to Pennapa, Bonnie, the girls at the front desk and the waiters in the restaurant!! Another great thing about the hotel is that it is located in a hutong - traditional Chinese neighborhood in the heart of Beijing. So you get a real feel for how the Chinese live and you really feel a part of the city. (It is NOT a generic Western-style high rise hotel where you could be anywhere.) The locations is close to many of the big sights and it is a pleasure to come back to the hotel after a long day of sight seeing. One night we also had dinner at the hotel and it was as yummy as the breakfasts! I would recommend this hotel to any and all travelers to Beijing. You will LOVE it. We can't wait to go back!!
Kristina and Tommy Blake
Dallas, Texas USA

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Red Wall Garden's courtyard provides a beautiful escape from the activity of the city. The staff members are warm, welcoming, and attentive to detail. The property is continually maintained and very comfortable, not to mention that it is extremely well located for some of Beijing's main attractions. We enjoyed the unique ambiance, clean and comfortable rooms, but more importantly a staff that is clearly passionate about making the stay a great experience.

Traveling with our two-year old, it was a priority for us to have a car seat available, but not bring one with us. The hotel made special arrangements to help us keep our daughter safe no matter which vehicle we were in (the hotel's or otherwise).

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel! There is a gorgeous courtyard with a fountain, birds, a guy who makes dumplings. Very nicely furnished rooms and helpful staff. It only took about two hours to get to the great wall from the hotel. We had a tiny incident with the courtyard fountain, and the staff and manager were all incredibly friendly and helpful. Highly recommend a stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with my boyfriend for two nights in August and what an amazing hotel. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were treated like royalty. Nothing was too much hassle! We had a lovely room with a big balcony looking out onto the courtyard. The room was beautifully decorated and retained some traditional charm too. We eat one night in the restaurant and I would highly recommend it. Food was stunning and the staff were lovely and helpful once again. If I ever returned to Beijing I would think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5,414 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Beijing is an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing, located in one of the old Beijing historic neighborhoods: Shijia Hutong, a lovely tree-lined, low-rise lane. The hotel is within walking distance to the Forbidden City, the famous shopping streets of Wangfujing & Jinbao in Dong Cheng, the central district of Beijing. The Red Wall Garden Hotel is ideal for either work or pleasure.A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel, invoking the past,yet with modern facilities; a subtle blend of ancient Asian esthetic with a modern spirit; offers 40 individually appointed guest rooms, featuring ultra luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WIFI ( throughout the hotel) and mini-bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heater.Besides The Red Wall Garden Restaurant serving mainly classic Chinese cuisine the hotel also features a popular cozy lounge/bar overlooking the beautiful courtyard, which is the centerpiece of the hotel. Here guests can try Beijing street food creatively interpreted by the executive chef, enjoy a drink or simply relax. The Red Wall Garden Hotel often features live cultural, music and art performances.Guests can also take advantage of the hotel’s in-house car service, to explore the city, the Great Wall , or hop on to one of our bicycles or rickshaw to stroll through the hutongs and perhaps enjoy a Chinese massage in the treatment room after a long day of sightseeing or a hard day’s work. Our warm friendly english speaking staff awaits you."The Red Wall Garden Hotel Boutique Experience" : emotionally connects our guests with the intense desire for all things historical, cultural and artistic to experience the true lifestyle of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wall Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.