We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wall Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Red Wall Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Red Wall Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Freebies
Ranked #2 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Thanks to an adventurous friend from the US who travels the world and wherever he goes he always finds the most typical place to stay and interesting things to do in that place, and who first introduced me to Red Wall Garden Hotel in Beijing.

Located in one of the most famous hutongs-Shi Jia Hutong- in the very central city, Red Wall finds its quiet square meters among the hustling-bustling of the metropolitan Beijing and subway station nearby very convenient.

Late summer in early September of last year, sitting in its courtyard chatting and drinking with friends under moonlight and gentle breeze, a voice from the back of my head tells me that I should try a night here experiencing what I’ve always felt about staying in a courtyard house of Beijing, a curious expectation back to my childhood.

It was done, right before this Chinese New Year of the Horse! Cold outside, warm and privacy inside. Small quiet wood crackling sound from the fire place in the restaurant, delicious Beijing noodles (the best I’d ever had!), spicy pan-fried pork slices…a bottle of Italian Chardonnay (yeah, believe me, try it with Chinese dishes!)…wooden staircases, old Chinese style decoration and furniture room, warm cozy lighting, a quietness extreme…and if with the right person…how romantic that could be…

Definitely, try it out when time is right.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear sylvie z:
It is always an honor and a pleasure to receive such a positive review from a Beijing local! Thank you for sharing your impressions here on tripadvisor.
One of our main goals is to offer our guests authentic Chinese hospitality in both product and service. I am delighted that you as the "resident expert" give our efforts such high marks.
We invite you to experience more of Red Wall Garden's romantic atmosphere and our restaurant's food specials during the upcoming Valentine's Day week.We will put an Italian Chardonnay on the side for you!

Xie xie,
Your Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    133
    29
    1
    1
See reviews for
137
236
35
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

What a stay! If you are someone who only stay at the top-3 ranked hotels in any given city for vacation, who want to have a taste of old Beijing, who are bored with international hotel chain, this is the place to be. However, don't come if you want a lovely swimming pool, or huge breakfast, or cannot climb the stairs. This is a boutique hotel with authentic taste of Hutong life from old time. I can be a picky person with services and cleanses, but this hotel provided almost everything I demand. Recommend visitors stop by the "Shi Jia Hutong Museum" (10 meter away from the hotel) for Hutong culture. I realized many famous history figures had lived in this Hutong.

Things can be improved: 1) traditional designed door is not enough to stop noise from the neighbor, woke people up at midnight; 2) receptionists might want to answer the phone with "good morning", not "Wei"; 3) if possible, to help taxi driver, adding a hotel sign at the entrance of Shijia Hutong can be helpful.

Thank you staff like Yao (her English name) who made everything so smooth.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Alicia Y:
Thank you for sharing your impressions of Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel with the tripadvisor community. Your kind review is very much appreciated!
Indeed, the recently opened Hutong Museum is only a stone's throw away from our courtyard hotel and provides fantastic insights into an important part of Beijing's history that over the past few decades has been disappearing at a rapid rate. Visitors of the museum, which was constructed with the support of the Prince of Wales Foundation, can travel back in time and see what the neighborhoods in China's capital looked like before urbanization started taking its toll.
Our hotel, in fact, tries to be an extension of this hutong culture both in service and architecture and we blend in with our surroundings. So while we lack swimming pools and elevators, we do our best to provide our guests with true Beijing hospitality that you might not find in the larger chain hotels close by.
I will certainly address your "cons" with my team and appreciate your constructive feedback. We have applied for street signage with the local government by the way and the paperwork is making its (slow) way through the local bureaucracy.
We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future - greetings to Hong Kong,
Your Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

During my extended long tour around Asia , I stayed at the red Wall Garden Hotel in Beijing. this is a very nice boutique courtyard hotel in a lovely small alley ( called shijia hutong) with a lot of charm and centrally located . We had a large room in the main building , it was absolutely fine and very cozy.
The food we had at the restaurant was remarkably good . Try the Beijing Noodles , a delight.
Staff were very attentive and smiling . Some of the staff spoke very good English , and this was truly helpful. The manager is European , and spoke several languages . The weather was cold but bearable, especially if you wear a thick winter jacket and a wool hat and gloves. Overall a very pleasant stay at the Red Wall, and I would certainly recommend it .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear francomara:
Please accept our thanks for your very kind review of our boutique hotel.
The Beijing Noodles are indeed one of our most popular dishes on the restaurant menu and are an absolute favorite with both our local and Western guests. Our executive chef is keen on using only the freshest ingredients and enjoys taking our guests on a "culinary journey" through China's provinces.
Thank you again for sharing your positive experiences at Red Wall Garden with other tripadvisor readers - we look forward welcoming you back to your "home away from home" next time you are in Beijing,
Your Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Booked the Red Wall Garden based on reviews. Was n't disappointed. From the moment we arrived till the day we checked out, the stay was great! We had booked the driver to meet us at the airport and that went well. The staff were very welcoming on our arrival. Even though the one room wasn't ready because of an overstaying previous guest, we were offered alternative rooms to relax in. The rooms we got were large and comfortable and had a good showers. Wi-fi is great, breakfast is buffet style and good quality. Staff were very helpful and helped organise our trip to the Great Wall. Well worth having the guide as well, Tina was wonderful. All the staff are to be praised but especially Lilly who helped us in the bar area with an impromptu meal. Pennapa who helped us with storing our big cases when we went to Xian. The location is great and really close to the subway which is really easy to use. Wangfujing street is about ten minutes way and easy to walk to but get directions from the hotel first. Overall 10/10 and wouldn't hesitate to recommend

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear foxxboy:
This is high praise indeed coming from a seasoned traveler like yourself - thank you very much!
We appreciate your wonderful comments that pretty much cover all aspects of operation here at the hotel. Lilly in particular will be thrilled to find out that she made your day with an "impromptu lunch".
Thank you also for praising our chef's efforts. It might be of interest to other tripadvisor readers to note that we have added a fresh omelette station to our buffet breakfast offerings. In addition, our kitchen team is always happy to accommodate requests to suit special dietary requirements or tastes.

We look forward welcoming you back in the not too distant future,
Your Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay at the Red Wall Garden Hotel for a few days in January. We couldn't be happier with the experience. The customer service from the hotel staff is bar-none. The ambiance of the hotel, with its refurbished ‘hutong’ appearance, is more than charming. The wait staff and manager of the Hotel are approachable, friendly, and helpful. We described our stay there as excellent, as if you were exploring the halls of a traditional Chinese home with the comfort and privacy of your own room. We can't speak enough of the help and assistance from the hotel staff from simply their advice, to dinner reservations, to directions, and help with anything. If ever we returned to Beijing we will stay at no other place than the Red Wall Garden Hotel. We have already recommended to all of our friends.

Room Tip: Even the smallest rooms are plenty nice for a couple. The larger rooms offer a wonderful view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Leland W:
We are very pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and made it back safely to Tennessee. It was a pleasure having you both with us!
Our team has a genuine desire to ensure that our foreign guests take back fond memories of their stay in Beijing. They will gladly recommend sites and restaurants that are located off the beaten track and allow the adventurous visitors to explore the less touristy side of China's capital. It sounds like you enjoyed their suggestions and I will make sure to let Pennapa and her team know.

Thank you for spreading the word about our little boutique hotel amongst your friends - we look forward to welcoming them as well,
Your Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spent three days here in December and it was fantastic. Made you feel like you really were in China, unlike some of the more 'international' hotels. Great location, great evening meals, super rooms and extremely helpful staff. Well done!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
dear Guest , Thank you for the nice words about our small boutique hotel in Beijing.
We hope we can welcome you soon again in Beijing or in one of our affiliated Epoque Hotels worldwide.
Very Best Regards ,and Happy Chinese New Year !

The Management
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

A home away from home. The visit began with being met at the airport by a friendly face; great when you're a first time visitor to China and arrival is late at night.
A very large comfortable, quiet room, with a view across Hutong roof tops (all very quaint). Staff incredibly helpful and friendly, nothing too much trouble. Dining very good and with variety. A log fire burning in the lounge for those very cold Beijing days. Bedroom heated with piped heating (very cosy).
A short walk in one direction will take you to the closest subway, or a little further on to the main shopping street of Wangfujing (interesting for those who like to shop for clothes). Walk in the opposite direction and you go deeper into the Hutongs and find yourself witnessing every day life, with an array of local eating places and one of the many fruit, meat and fish markets.
A wonderful experience. Thanks Stefan, Pennapa and the team

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear FrankieBuster:
Glad to hear you made it back safely to Australia! Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and sharing the "secret" with other tripadvisor readers.
Pennapa and her team send their regards - we hope to welcome you back soon.
Your Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Beijing is an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing, located in one of the old Beijing historic neighborhoods: Shijia Hutong, a lovely tree-lined, low-rise lane. The hotel is within walking distance to the Forbidden City, the famous shopping streets of Wangfujing & Jinbao in Dong Cheng, the central district of Beijing. The Red Wall Garden Hotel is ideal for either work or pleasure.A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel, invoking the past,yet with modern facilities; a subtle blend of ancient Asian esthetic with a modern spirit; offers 40 individually appointed guest rooms, featuring ultra luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WIFI ( throughout the hotel) and mini-bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heater.Besides The Red Wall Garden Restaurant serving mainly classic Chinese cuisine the hotel also features a popular cozy lounge/bar overlooking the beautiful courtyard, which is the centerpiece of the hotel. Here guests can try Beijing street food creatively interpreted by the executive chef, enjoy a drink or simply relax. The Red Wall Garden Hotel often features live cultural, music and art performances.Guests can also take advantage of the hotel’s in-house car service, to explore the city, the Great Wall , or hop on to one of our bicycles or rickshaw to stroll through the hutongs and perhaps enjoy a Chinese massage in the treatment room after a long day of sightseeing or a hard day’s work. Our warm friendly english speaking staff awaits you."The Red Wall Garden Hotel Boutique Experience" : emotionally connects our guests with the intense desire for all things historical, cultural and artistic to experience the true lifestyle of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wall Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.