We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Oasis in Beijing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wall Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Red Wall Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Red Wall Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Freebies
Ranked #9 of 5,545 Hotels in Beijing
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Oasis in Beijing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned from a one week stay at the Red Wall Garden Hotel. I really can't say enough about the experiences there. The hotel is as described in all of the previous reviews. I only want to add my support for this hotel here. From the quiet the hotel can provide after a busy day to the support of the staff that go out of their way to make your experience one to remember. Would stay there again without hesitation. I was traveling for business but my family was there with me and they truly enjoyed their stay as well.

Room Tip: We upgrade to the Red Wall suite and it was worth having the extra room for my family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kcdysart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Incognito-one

Thank you so much for your kind review and I am glad you made it home safely to new Jersey. I know you have been and seen so many other places and therefore your review means a lot to all of us and is also helpful to many other trip advisor users.

Hope to see you back again soon either for business or pleasure.

Warmest wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We recently spent 9 nights at Red Wall Garden Hotel and were more than happy with our choice. This is a wonderful hotel and a true find. Our room was spacious, nicely furnished, and well air conditioned, the beds were comfortable, and the bathroom had a luxurious rain shower. We enjoyed sitting in the lovely courtyard in the evenings. The location is very convenient (in a quiet Hutong in short walking distance from a subway station) and the staff is super helpful and friendly. This hotel is a gem. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UP789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear UP789,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us at the Red Wall Garden Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Red Wall Garden Hotel again, hopefully in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I went with my family at the Red Wall Garden Hotel a few weeks ago and I found it exceptional! I booked through the website www.epoquehotels.com, which has a very nice selection of boutique hotels. The staff was friendly and the atmosphere was charming.
I hope I will be able to go back to Beijing one day and stay at this awesome place again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Roger B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you specially about the words regarding our staff.

Safe travels - hopefully you will get a chance to stay with us again soon!

Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just spent five nights in this lovely hotel. It is a great mix of modern convenience with Chinese character, but the best thing was being able to sit in the evening in the courtyard away from the bustle of the city and enjoy good food and excellent service. It is worth paying extra for the superior rooms if you would like a private balcony and some additional comfort. The staff were all unfailingly helpful and reacted positively to our requests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken532013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Ken532013,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was very pleased to read you had enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences like of sitting in our peaceful courtyard in the evening enjoying the food and service provided by our team.

Once again, thank you for posting your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

On a short business trip from Europe I was looking for a calm, city-centered and ideally somehow traditional but safe place to stay for 2 nights. I found this place right in the heart of Beijing: the Red Wall Garden Hotel. It is in walking distance (15 min) from either the major political and administrative buildings as well the major tourist spots like the Forbidden City and the Tiananmen Square. It is set back from a typical very small street (taxi drivers usually had to ask around to find the spot) with a beautiful calm garden. The hotel itself is supposed to be built in a more traditional style (just 3 levels) with lots of wood and bambus, which is also reflected in the rooms: I was impressed by the nice shower with a wooden bath tub and the ancient-looking (but modern) phone: very nice ideas! The staff was very friendly and able to understand and speak English at a (for Beijing) good level. All in all I was more than happy to have found this place via Tripadvisor and I was not dissatisfied. I can personally recommend this place to stay. S. Berger from Hamburg, Germany

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear mrberger,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Glad that you liked the design and look of the rooms and hotel and our location right in the heart of Beijing.

We are also happy that you found us via TripAdvisor, hope you had a safe trip back to Hamburg and hopefully see you back soon at the Red Wall Garden Hotel.

Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while in Beijing on business. It is located in the midst of the busy center of Beijing yet inside a hutong that offers you an escape from the hustle and bustle of the modern center and gives you a view on local life as it has probably existed for ages. Close to sights, restaurants and shopping, yet far from the stress. The hotel itself is located inside of walls and is spread across a couple of low buildings with a relaxing garden courtyard in the center. The staff do everything to make your visit pleasant. They are very helpful as well to arrange tours for you if you need it. I've recommended this hotel to friends visiting Beijing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belgian_Foodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear bgallop,

Thank you for such a lovely review of our hotel and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed our central location inside the Shijia Hutong. It indeed offers an escape from the hustle and bustle of the city, giving you the chance to experience the "real" China.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Red Wall Garden Hotel again, hopefully in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights after traveling across Russia and Mongolia on the Trans-siberian railway and we loved the luxury after our previous weeks cramped into train compartments. The hotel is situated on a lovely shady and quiet hutong only a couple of hundred metres from a metro station, shopping areas and numerous restaurants. The courtyard setting is wonderful with a great night time atmosphere. You feel a thousand miles away from the hustle and bustle of the nearby streets.

The level of service at this hotel is exceptional with the staff always ready to assist with any inquiry or problem. The reception booked us tickets for an acrobatics show and also dinner at a local fine dining restaurant to try the famous Peking duck dish.

We ate several meals here and found the food to be very good and also fairly reasonably priced. The service was also exceptional. Our first night we were invited to a cocktail reception in the courtyard where we had a few free signature drinks of watermelon mojitos for an hour. A lovely touch and made us feel very welcome. The staff are always smiling and seem genuinely happy to serve.

The rooms themselves are spacious with excellent showers. The decor is old style chinese and adds a lovely touch of romance. The beds are very comfortable. The tripadvisor rating is well deserved and they are certainly trying to maintain their high position with excellent service. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: The end upstairs rooms have small secluded balconies which are lovely to sit on in the mornings for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TimMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear TimMPerth,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us at the Red Wall Garden Hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed our location which is close to many Beijing attractions, but offering a great place to relax after a busy day.

I will pass your compliments about the restaurant to our Chef and F&B staff. I am also glad that you enjoyed our rooms - which are traditionally designed with modern amenities.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Red Wall Garden Hotel again, hopefully in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#11 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 5,545 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 2,416 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#17 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#26 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 5,545 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Beijing is an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing, located in one of the old Beijing historic neighborhoods: Shijia Hutong, a lovely tree-lined, low-rise lane. The hotel is within walking distance to the Forbidden City, the famous shopping streets of Wangfujing & Jinbao in Dong Cheng, the central district of Beijing. The Red Wall Garden Hotel is ideal for either work or pleasure.A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel, invoking the past,yet with modern facilities; a subtle blend of ancient Asian esthetic with a modern spirit; offers 40 individually appointed guest rooms, featuring ultra luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WIFI ( throughout the hotel) and mini-bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heater.Besides The Red Wall Garden Restaurant serving mainly classic Chinese cuisine the hotel also features a popular cozy lounge/bar overlooking the beautiful courtyard, which is the centerpiece of the hotel. Here guests can try Beijing street food creatively interpreted by the executive chef, enjoy a drink or simply relax. The Red Wall Garden Hotel often features live cultural, music and art performances.Guests can also take advantage of the hotel’s in-house car service, to explore the city, the Great Wall , or hop on to one of our bicycles or rickshaw to stroll through the hutongs and perhaps enjoy a Chinese massage in the treatment room after a long day of sightseeing or a hard day’s work. Our warm friendly english speaking staff awaits you."The Red Wall Garden Hotel Boutique Experience" : emotionally connects our guests with the intense desire for all things historical, cultural and artistic to experience the true lifestyle of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing