We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Red Wall Garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wall Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Red Wall Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Red Wall Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Freebies
Ranked #2 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Red Wall Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This great courtyard hotel is located in a quiet hutong very close to many sites and very close to the subway for those further out.
The hotel is relatively new but has a very traditional look and feel. We had a wonderful time there for 3 nights.
Hotel reception and drivers were fantastic. Rooms were very clean and traditional. Food service was a little slow but good food.
All in all a great hotel and location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Roger M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was very pleased to read you had enjoyed your stay. Thank you specially about the words regarding our staff. They are truly fantastic indeed.

Safe travels - hopefully you will get a chance to stay with us again soon!

Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    133
    29
    1
    1
See reviews for
137
235
35
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The RWG in Shijia alley is a fantastic place to stay. Don't be deceived, there is another Red Wall Garden that doesn't appear to be nearly as nice in a nearby Hutong, as we found out when our taxi took us to this 2nd RWG hotel upon our arrival in Beijing. We just returned from a 14-day trip to China, and we couldn't have been happier with our choice of this hotel in Beijing. We stayed in the RWG for 4 nights. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the food in the restaurant was excellent (although somewhat pricey for China at 98 Yuan for the all you can eat breakfast buffet, western or eastern food), and the staff and service were great. It was so easy to jump onto the subway at the Dengskikou station, and for 2 Yuan one can ride the subway anywhere, unlimited transfers, much easier than surface transportation (even during peak rush hour). The hotel itself is beautifully decorated in a traditional Chinese manner, and it was a very pleasant experience from start to finish. The RWG even took us to the airport free of charge for our flight home; I believe they would have picked us up too, but our arrival time by bus from Inner Mongolia was not certain. The hotel has 3 floors; no elevator however if that is important. All-in-all, my wife and I highly recommend this hotel in the old part of Beijing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Montana_Rustler,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and post the pictures.
I recommend every guest to print out the directions to our hotel from our website, which will facilitate getting to the right place.
We are glad you were happy with our rooms, restaurant, our staff and service.

We hope you had a good trip back home and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel any time soon.

Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ao Nang, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great experience! A local friend of mine recommended me this hotel but it was still more than what I expected. The location in the center of Beijing was perfect, only couple minutes away to metro and Wangfujing shopping street. Although it is close to everything it is still very private, quiet and peaceful. Imagine that in Beijing!! The service was very good, pleasant staff. The room was scrupulously clean with an excellent bathroom. The bed and linen had a luxurious feel to them and are very comfortable. The hotel has many public areas to relax in, including a courtyard which looks awesome at both daytime and night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Stephanscheidegger,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review our hotel.

It was a pleasure to read through your review. I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and our location. As you said, it is hard to find a "private, quiet and peaceful" place in Beijing which makes our hotel a perfect place to relax after a day of sightseeing.

Thank you for your very kind comments about our rooms, amenities and of course your kind praise of our service and team.

It would be an honor to welcome you back to the Red Wall Garden Hotel again, hopefully in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Excellent choice for a young family wanting to experience Beijing.

Positives ...

Great location. Only 10 minute walk from Wangfujing for shopping and clean and good restaurants. Also only 5 minutes from the Beijing Subway.

Quiet Hotel and Courtyard. Nice to just sit out in the morning or at night after a day of sightseeing.

Beds. Very comfortable and really not too bad for a parent and child to share, as long as they are not teenagers.

Extra Kids. There was no problem and no extra charge for 4 people (2 adults, 2 children) staying in the same room.

Breakfast. We found the food very good, with a nice choice of both American and Chinese style. Even the coffee was quite good I thought.

Service. Seemed to be attentive to our needs, very nice, and most I interacted with seemed to speak good english.

Bikes. Free bikes for those who want to experience Beijing on a bike. Be safe and go with the flow and you should be ok. I enjoyed my bike around Forbidden City. An interesting experience but I would only recommend for experienced bike riders/cyclists. Hotel could consider getting a few bike helmets for those more comfortable riding with a helmet.

Free Shuttle One Way. They arranged for pick-up from airport to hotel when we arrived. Were only a few minutes late, but we called and they confirmed driver was on his way and where to meet him and there were no problems. We also arranged for them to drive us back for a fee, which I would recommend. Avoids the stress/hassle of alternatives, especially for a family with lots of luggage.

Only comment is the rooms are a bit small, but for the price/location/value, it is I think very good for what you will get in downtown Beijing. The bathrooms were also nicely laid out and pretty clean.

Overall, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Kirk0,

Thank you for such a lovely and detailed review of our hotel and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences, such as riding our bikes through Beijing. That is a great way to explore the city. By the way, we just bought new helmets and additional reflectors for the bikes.

We are glad you enjoyed our central location, our comfortable imported DUX beds, our breakfast and service.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the Red Wall Garden Hotel again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omegna, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I absolutely loved my stay in this beautiful hotel. This was really a great experience to stay in such a traditional area of Beijing, especially if you are visiting China for the first time. My room was excellent. Really warm and comfortable decorated with lovely amenities. Loved the rain shower! I did not have breakfast, but I had dinner and the food was very good. The staff was helpful with great level of English (which seems very difficult to find in Beijing). The uniqueness, charm and comfort made this my favorite hotel I have stayed in Asia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Thinkindie,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review our hotel.
It was a pleasure to read through your review. I am thrilled to know that we were your favorite hotel in Asia. What an honor. I am happy to know that you enjoyed our location and that you got to experience the real China. Thank you for your very kind comments about our rooms, restaurant and also for your kind praise of our service and team.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Red Wall Garden Hotel again, hopefully in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Good qualitu hotel, designed jnnovatively, breakfast was ok. The beds are comfortable. Staff was very quick and attentive to respond my request. Child friendly . My wife love this hotel very much.hotel.Nice place to spend witb family.will visit again for second honeymoon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Linyin333 ,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

It would be an honor to welcome you back to the Red Wall Garden Hotel for your second honeymoon.

Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I am currently staying at the Red Wall Garden hotel and couldn't wait to write a positive review. As soon as my girlfriend and I arrived we were upgraded to a delux room without asking at all. We were given a map by a very curtious receptionist with a list of things that we would definitely want to experience and the best way to get to these activities. Extremely helpful for two 25 year olds who have never been to Beijing. The breakfast buffet was not included in our price for hotel which was a little disheartening because we saw that it was for other people, but the selection and quality of food was great nonetheless. Our air Conditioning was not working after the first night, so we talked to reception and it was fixed by the time we were back after our first day of activities. It is conveniently located close to a metro station and easily accessible to many of the best sites in Beijing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Andrew W,

I am absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay so much that you felt like posting a review even before leaving. Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback.

Our breakfast (as well as airport transfer) is only complimentary for guests who book on our official website. So next time you know where to book ;)

We are glad our team pointed you out where to go and what to do in Beijing. We hope that you had a great time and enjoyed our city.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Red Wall Garden Hotel again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Beijing is an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing, located in one of the old Beijing historic neighborhoods: Shijia Hutong, a lovely tree-lined, low-rise lane. The hotel is within walking distance to the Forbidden City, the famous shopping streets of Wangfujing & Jinbao in Dong Cheng, the central district of Beijing. The Red Wall Garden Hotel is ideal for either work or pleasure.A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel, invoking the past,yet with modern facilities; a subtle blend of ancient Asian esthetic with a modern spirit; offers 40 individually appointed guest rooms, featuring ultra luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WIFI ( throughout the hotel) and mini-bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heater.Besides The Red Wall Garden Restaurant serving mainly classic Chinese cuisine the hotel also features a popular cozy lounge/bar overlooking the beautiful courtyard, which is the centerpiece of the hotel. Here guests can try Beijing street food creatively interpreted by the executive chef, enjoy a drink or simply relax. The Red Wall Garden Hotel often features live cultural, music and art performances.Guests can also take advantage of the hotel’s in-house car service, to explore the city, the Great Wall , or hop on to one of our bicycles or rickshaw to stroll through the hutongs and perhaps enjoy a Chinese massage in the treatment room after a long day of sightseeing or a hard day’s work. Our warm friendly english speaking staff awaits you."The Red Wall Garden Hotel Boutique Experience" : emotionally connects our guests with the intense desire for all things historical, cultural and artistic to experience the true lifestyle of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wall Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.