We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wall Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Red Wall Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Red Wall Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Freebies
Ranked #2 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel - great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel last week. Nice service that you get picked up at the airport when booking on their website, as I know from past experience that it can take more than 1 hour to get in a taxi once you get out of the airport.. The rooms are very nice, more modern than I expected but still with a Chinese touch. Huge and comfortable beds. Loved the wooden bathtub. The location is fantastic – very quite but right in the center. The best was sitting in their yard in the evenings. Nice place to relax and have a few Tsingtaos. Definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear mucci60,
Thank you for such a lovely review of our hotel and we appreciate you taking the time to share your memories, such as of enjoying a Tsingtao in our lovely courtyard.

Indeed it can be a hassle to get in a taxi at the airport, but we are happy to pick up our guests booking on our website.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Red Wall Garden Hotel again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    133
    29
    1
    1
See reviews for
137
236
35
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our first time visit to China and we chose the Red Wall Garden Hotel after noting it well reviewed here, on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. Spacious and very comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff - and a convenient location in Hutong due east of the Forbidden City.

We should point out that it's approximately a 20-30 minute walk from the hotel to the central, key sights of Tiananmen Square the Forbidden City. Which would seem, at first, a little far out. But once you understand the scale of Beijing, it's actually very close. And if you prefer not to walk, Taxis which, are plentiful and good value, are easily hailed down nearby. Also, whilst we did
not have time to use it, the hotel is also close to a metro station.

All in all, an excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear PenguinAndFriend,
Thank you so much for posting so a positive review for the Red Wall Garden Hotel.
We were delighted about your comments regarding our rooms, our friendly staff and our great location.
Hope to welcome you back soon!
Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights in this lovely courtyard hotel. The ambiance and décor is very Chinese and attractive. I liked staying in the hutong because you see daily life around you. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. The sitting rooms, computer area and the courtyard were also very attractive and nice for sitting and reading a book. Each night we were there we had tea in the courtyard---it was delightful. The staff were helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear LFM82,

I am absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful feedback. I am happy that you got to experience the "real" China by staying in a Hutong hotel and that you had a chance to enjoy our lovely courtyard with a book or a cup of tea.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Red Wall Garden Hotel again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June 2013 for two nights. Free airport pickup was great. Driver was waiting at the airport with sign. He drove a late model minivan, and got us to the hotel in good time. This is a small hotel, and service is excellent. Located in the Wangfujin area, close to the Forbidden City and shopping street of Wangfujin. Short walk to the nearest subway stop. The suite was excellent. great bathroom. Wooden tub was inviting, very clean. Very different from the big hotels. Only 40 rooms. Staff was attentive and friendly. Speaks English well. (they take regular English lessons). Manager was very much hands-on. Breakfast buffet was excellent, and reasonably priced. (100 RMB). Great relaxing court yard. Nice public spaces. Located in a classic Hutong area, like your little getaway.

Room Tip: suite we stayed in was two levels. If you don't like the stairs, then it's something to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Eigerhike,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review our hotel.

It was a pleasure to read through your review. I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and our location. As you said, we are close to many of the main Beijing sights. Thank you for your very kind comments about our rooms, pick-up service, breakfast and also for your kind praise of our service and team.

It would be an honor to welcome you back to the Red Wall Garden Hotel again, hopefully in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauconda, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Visiting China for the first time can be a little overwhelming but the minute my family and I set foot in the Red Wall Garden we relaxed. The staff was so nice we left feeling like we made some new friends. Stefan, the manager, even hung out with us. They paid attention to details, like setting apples aside for the children (thanks Ying!). They were helpful with directions and answering any questions we had. We stayed June 17-22, 2013 and every moment was a delight. It was hard to leave.

The property is interesting, with restful common areas inside and a well-kept courtyard outside. The rooms are spacious, the bathroom was clean and the shower was very nice. The Dux bed was super comfortable.

The location is awesome. It is about halfway down a hutong and quiet as can be. The residents like to smile and say "hello." There are a couple small stores where you can buy drinks and snacks, a convenient laundry with one-day service, barbeque and other tasty food and more...right down the alley. Plus, the subway is only a five-minute walk.

If you stay in a traditional box hotel you'll miss out on a one-of-a-kind experience.

Thanks Ying, Luz, Lee (sorry for the spelling) and the rest. You do a great job!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear ggoes,
Thank you for your constructive review of the Red Wall Garden Hotel. I was very pleased to read you had enjoyed your stay. Specially the words regarding our friendly and helpful staff. Our team really do go that extra mile (literally) to make all of our guests stays as enjoyable as possible. We hope that your husband had a great birthday in Beijing and enjoyed our little surprise.
Hope to welcome you back soon!
Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very spacious and comfy room, excellent big shower, super friendly staff. We had a room on the third floor. Although the rooms on the first and ground floor that look on the inner court, may seem attractive, I think privacy and space is much better on the third floor. No lift however, so you have a good exercise a few times per day. Dinner in the inner court is good and quiet. Breakfast is abundant and delicious. Staff is kind, helpful and very friendly.

Room Tip: take plenty of the abundant Chinese breakfast and you'll walk a whole day on it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear jvddoel,

Thank you so much for posting so a positive review for the Red Wall Garden Hotel.

The team and I were delighted with your feedback and that we were your favorite hotel in Beijing. Thank you also for the kind words regarding our staff.

We hope to welcome you back very soon again.

Best regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Lovely courtyard hotel which is as described. Traditional exterior with modern and large rooms. Stylish interior decor. Good location from sights - couple of kilometres and near to a range of restaurants.

What really stood out though was the service - I experienced a medical issue in the middle of the night and the staff were fantastic. They acted quickly and calmly and were really helpful. For the rest of the trip, they also could not have been more attentive, checking that all our needs were taken care of. Really amazing - sometimes places and people are more defined by how they react in difficult situations and they excelled - a perfect response to the situation. Thanks!!!

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear MCP247:

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I shared your kind comments with our staff this morning - everyone had a big smile on their face. Ying from the Front Desk, in particular, asked me to tell you "thank you for the flowers" :-)

Safe travels - hopefully you will get a chance to stay with us again soon!

Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Beijing is an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing, located in one of the old Beijing historic neighborhoods: Shijia Hutong, a lovely tree-lined, low-rise lane. The hotel is within walking distance to the Forbidden City, the famous shopping streets of Wangfujing & Jinbao in Dong Cheng, the central district of Beijing. The Red Wall Garden Hotel is ideal for either work or pleasure.A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel, invoking the past,yet with modern facilities; a subtle blend of ancient Asian esthetic with a modern spirit; offers 40 individually appointed guest rooms, featuring ultra luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WIFI ( throughout the hotel) and mini-bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heater.Besides The Red Wall Garden Restaurant serving mainly classic Chinese cuisine the hotel also features a popular cozy lounge/bar overlooking the beautiful courtyard, which is the centerpiece of the hotel. Here guests can try Beijing street food creatively interpreted by the executive chef, enjoy a drink or simply relax. The Red Wall Garden Hotel often features live cultural, music and art performances.Guests can also take advantage of the hotel’s in-house car service, to explore the city, the Great Wall , or hop on to one of our bicycles or rickshaw to stroll through the hutongs and perhaps enjoy a Chinese massage in the treatment room after a long day of sightseeing or a hard day’s work. Our warm friendly english speaking staff awaits you."The Red Wall Garden Hotel Boutique Experience" : emotionally connects our guests with the intense desire for all things historical, cultural and artistic to experience the true lifestyle of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wall Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.