We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel that has a few minor issues.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wall Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Red Wall Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Red Wall Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Freebies
Ranked #2 of 5,435 Hotels in Beijing
Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A very good hotel that has a few minor issues.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at the Red Wall Garden Hotel during a recent trip to Beijing.

Would I stay at this hotel again? The answer is an unquestionable yes. To truly experience Beijing you must do so by staying in the Hutongs where people still live, work, and play in the streets themselves. Isolating yourself in one of Beijing’s five-star towers like the nearby Park Plaza will not afford you with the rare opportunity to see how daily life in Beijing once was and continues to unfold. HOWEVER this recommendation does come with some caveats. Do not come to the Red Wall expecting a five star hotel, while the cost of this hotel was not an issue for me I have stayed at poorer hotels (especially in North America) for far greater sums of money for the price the Red Wall is a very good hotel but not five star. If 5 Star is what you are expecting you will disappointed. But if you are the kind of traveler who likes to really experience local culture (without compromising the need for comfort) the Red Wall is definitely the place for you.

The pluses are many: the staff are efficient, very friendly and very accommodating (good customer service is something that I have found very rare in China and thus should be cherished and encouraged). My room while small was very comfortable and very well appointed. The location was tranquil and I very much enjoyed sitting in the courtyard drinking a beer while listening to the birds, water and the steady hum of the conversations around me. While others on this post have complained about noise infiltration from late-night activities in the courtyard area I did not find this to be the case (and I had a ground level room facing the courtyard). The heavy curtains were more than adequate to muffle any late night revelry. The hotel’s location is excellent. Line 5 of the Beijing Subway is located no more than a city block away. Subways in Beijing are very easy to use and inexpensive so for 2 yuan you can be at the Forbidden City/Tian’ammin Square or the Wanfujing shopping district in a matter of minutes.

Now to the minuses: firstly the Hutong on which the hotel is located is very difficult to find (and not convenient to the subway) this is especially true if you arrive at night or take the wrong subway exit (take exit C). I would strongly recommend that if you are planning to first arrive via the train/subway system (as I did) or even by taxi (regardless of your facility with Mandarin) that you co-ordinate your first arrival to coincide with the daylight hours. Even taxis get lost at night; late one evening I returned to the hotel in a taxi helped by a friend semi-fluent in Mandarin and we ended up having to give the driver directions to the hotel. The Hutongs in Beijing are maze-like and are generally poorly signed so depending on your direction of travel you may never see a street sign. The numbering system is irregular, not all buildings within a Hutong are numbered and even if numbered the numbers are unlit and quite small (usually red and white in colour) which makes them very hard to see at night. The hotel itself is very difficult to miss being well lit and well signed but to get there you must first ensure that you are one, on the right Hutong and two, heading in the correct direction. Once you are confident with your surroundings the hotel’s location will no longer be an issue. However I can envision that people arriving at night with lots of luggage or kids may find locating the hotel stressful and difficult. My advice to the hotel (and Trip Advisor) is to provide far better directions on their websites than are currently there as not every guest will arrive via the airport (I arrived in Beijing via high speed train).

While noise infiltration from the courtyard was not an issue noise infiltration from the adjacent rooms especially the room above was an issue. The floors and walls are poorly insulated so conversations, footfalls, and the sound of running and draining water can be very clearly heard through the walls and especially the floor. If possible request a room on the second floor then you will only have to deal with noise from the two sides and not from above.

The hotel’s restaurant should be given a miss. While the food is not poor it is at best unremarkable and quite expensive by Beijing standards. There are far better far less expensive options within the Hutongs themselves or on the adjacent thoroughfares (Dongsi in particular) to waste your money on mediocre food.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Northof60Canada:

Thank you for your very kind and detailed review of our property.

I have taken the liberty of forwarding your constructive criticism with regards to the hotel restaurant to our Food and Beverage Team in charge of the guest cuisine.

It is undoubtedly true that our hotel is somewhat "tucked away" in a quiet tree-lined alley in the middle of bustling Beijing, which can be challenging to locate for even experienced (taxi) drivers. Prior to their visit, we encourage guests to familiarize themselves with our property's approximate location within the central ring of the city: Clear directions in English and Chinese, as well as details on our complimentary airport pick-up and drop-off service, can be found under the "Get Here" tab on our official website (www.redwallgardenhotel.com)
Once you are here, our team can provide you with dual-language "taxi cards" that easily communicate your desired destination to your driver and ensure that you have no trouble finding your way back to the property.

Thank you again for your review and suggestions on how to improve our services and facilities. Your feedback is much appreciated!

Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    140
    29
    1
    1
See reviews for
142
255
37
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to call your holiday home hidden in the hustings. Our room was a cute little 2storey cottage. Very peaceful with pleasant staff helping as much a possible + always with a smile. Free airport transfer one way, so great to be picked up from airport with persons who knows where they are going. Breakfast and dinner both beautiful. Peaceful stay close to the busy streets for exploring. Very comfortable bed for a good night sleep after that Great Wall of China trek. Definitly recommend the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Ilona-star:

We are so glad you chose our boutique hotel as a base for your "explorations" and you were able to experience the sights and and sounds of Beijing and its surroundings.

Our helpful guest services team is at your disposal to arrange individulaized tours to other points of interest in case your travel plans call for a another trip to Beijing.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to your "home away from home" soon!

Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Coming to China for the first time is not always the easiest... The Red Wall Garden Hotel helps to make your trip comfortable, warm and friendly. This is a hidden gem in a big bustling city. The accommodations themselves are great, location is perfect and most importantly the staff is the best! This will be my new home on my future visits to Beijing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Chster15:

Thank you for your kind comments - I will share them with our dedicated staff. Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future!

Best Regards,

Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Enter from the hustle and bustle of the street into a quiet oasis of calm and service. The decor is unique and changes from the global chain hotels. The rooms were very comfortable, beds and linens of top quality. You can not go wrong here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review for us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Red Wall Garden Hotel. Indeed many guests compare us with an oasis of calm right in the middle of Beijing. Glad also that you mention the decor: we aim to be unique and to showcase the Chinese culture in every aspect of the hotel. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very nice hotel in a convenient location near the center of Beijing. The hotel is smaller and has lots of character, and the rooms were nice and clean. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful - they booked tours for us and even went to the train station to purchase tickets for us. We really enjoyed the on-site restaurant - it was a little pricey, but that was to be expected.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would stay there again if I return to Beijing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for writing us a review! We appreciate your kind words.
Our goal is to make sure that everything you could possibly need is already waiting for you, so that you have more time to enjoy your vacation and the beautiful things Beijing has to offer! Hope you enjoyed the tours our staff booked for you as much as you enjoyed the hotel.
Thank you again for staying with us and writing this review, and we look forward to hosting you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Verry good hotel near the center of Beijing.
Nice and clean rooms.
Good breakfast
Good food in the evening on the open square.
Friendly staff
Especially YaoYao; she knows how to deal with the guests; she's amazing!
If I go back to Beijing, I would defenitely book the same hotel again.

Kind regards from Belgium,
Tomas

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Tomas. Thank you for such a lovely review of our hotel and our wonderful staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share your memories, such as of enjoying a great meal in our lovely courtyard. We all hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

an amazing hotel in the city....in such a central location ...yet so quiet..we had a wonderful stay...the staff is so very helpful..rooms super comfortable...walking distance from wangfujing market....15 mts from silk market..what more does a tourist want....?? we reached our hotel very late one day tired due to the sight seeing and shopping...came to know that the chef had left since it was sooo late...still in10 minutes the staff arranged for hot fried rice specially for us...i saw that girl (i think her name was Yao yao ) rushing for her home soon after... she had stayed that extra tym so that she cud arrange for our dinner...was really touched !! the name garden is very apt coz in sucha small place they have so many colourful flowers..its a beautiful sight in the morning !!

Room Tip: if u have problems taking stairs...opt for a room on the ground level....though the wooden stairs ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We are glad that you had a marvelous stay here at the Red Wall Garden Hotel. Your comments about our services, amenities and great location is greatly appreciated. Our staff truly enjoys providing an excellent experience to each and every visitor, going out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. Thank you for your comments - we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5,435 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Beijing is an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing, located in one of the old Beijing historic neighborhoods: Shijia Hutong, a lovely tree-lined, low-rise lane. The hotel is within walking distance to the Forbidden City, the famous shopping streets of Wangfujing & Jinbao in Dong Cheng, the central district of Beijing. The Red Wall Garden Hotel is ideal for either work or pleasure.A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel, invoking the past,yet with modern facilities; a subtle blend of ancient Asian esthetic with a modern spirit; offers 40 individually appointed guest rooms, featuring ultra luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WIFI ( throughout the hotel) and mini-bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heater.Besides The Red Wall Garden Restaurant serving mainly classic Chinese cuisine the hotel also features a popular cozy lounge/bar overlooking the beautiful courtyard, which is the centerpiece of the hotel. Here guests can try Beijing street food creatively interpreted by the executive chef, enjoy a drink or simply relax. The Red Wall Garden Hotel often features live cultural, music and art performances.Guests can also take advantage of the hotel’s in-house car service, to explore the city, the Great Wall , or hop on to one of our bicycles or rickshaw to stroll through the hutongs and perhaps enjoy a Chinese massage in the treatment room after a long day of sightseeing or a hard day’s work. Our warm friendly english speaking staff awaits you."The Red Wall Garden Hotel Boutique Experience" : emotionally connects our guests with the intense desire for all things historical, cultural and artistic to experience the true lifestyle of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wall Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.