We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a 5 star experience in a Hutong location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wall Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Red Wall Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Red Wall Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Freebies
Ranked #9 of 5,545 Hotels in Beijing
Orange, California
Level Contributor
191 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Truly a 5 star experience in a Hutong location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at several hotels in China, and I can tell you the star rating system is a very loose one, and certainly not comparable to the US ratings. HOWEVER, this little gem of a hotel was beyond in terms of friendlieness of staff, quality of rooms, the plush towels, great food, and the feeling of actually being in the hutong neighborhood. There were excellent personal touches: welcome card from manager, bowl of fruit in room on arrival, they knew our name in the restaurant!!! It was so convienently located for touring the city, and we will definately stay here again on the next visit to Beijing. The beds were comfortable, high end cosmetic and shower supplies, and I would encourage consideration of this hotel. Enjoy the experience of neighborhood and days gone by.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank agbowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your comment.
It has always been our commitment to ensure that our guests’ stay with us is a memorable one. All of our guestrooms are equipped with plush comfortable 'Dux’ beds which are imported from Sweden and we do our best to provide the best Beijing experience to our guest as much as we can.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here 2 weeks ago and had a excellent time in Beijing partly because of the location of this hotel and the great service we received. Its ideally located centrally with good access to most areas via the nearby subway station. The staff were very helpful with advising us on our holiday and made us feel very welcome. They even provided us with a welcome fruit bowl and Kinda eggs as it was easter weekend!

The hotel is probably not the most authentic chinese courtyard hotel but it definitely has many elements of chinese design with plenty of western comforts. The only issue we had was that our reservation did not have breakfast included even though we had booked this. This was easily rectified with no hassle immediately once I showed them the confirmation e-mail.

All in all, cannot fault the service we received and would recommend others stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Red Wall Garden hotel.

First and foremost, we would like to extend our apologies for the confusion on your booking. Glad to know that that matter has been resolved at the Front Desk. Meanwhile, we are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The Chinese Courtyard is one of the popular features at Red Wall Garden Hotel alongside our hotel excellent location close to the subway and is accessible to most areas in central Beijing. We are looking forward to welcome you and your guests to our hotel again soon.
Best regards
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I choose to stay at this hotel as it was recommended by some friends of mine living in Beijing. I liked the idea about staying in a traditional area of the city. After seeing the reviews about this hotel I was pretty excited to see something different than the usual chain hotels...and I must say: I loved every single aspect of the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and large, huge beds, really nice bathroom with rain shower. The hotel feels really “homey” and peaceful. And believe me – in Beijing you learn to appreciate a place like this. I would definitely come back and can highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kallediekante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Kallediekante,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned in your review many guests enjoy the calm environment of the hotel after a hectic day in the city or sightseeing. We strive for that “homey” feeling and do everything to make our guests feel comfortable. We are looking forward to welcome you, your family and friends to Red Wall Garden Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in March and it really was excellent. I was super impressed by the genuine friendliness of the staff and the rooms and beds were very good. Service and food at breakfast could not have been better. It made a perfect wind-down on the way back from a hectic business trip in Taiwan. I would definitely stay here again and would not bother looking for other hotels if ever staying in Beijing in the future.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Dom,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments about our staff and hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you to Red Wall Garden Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at the Red Wall garden Hotel in March, and had an excellent experience. Very friendly and co-operative staff, lovely room, good location, I was very impressed. I would definately recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bim66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Bim66,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you had an excellent experience. We appreciate your comments and we are looking forward to welcome you to Red Wall Garden Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at the Red Wall Garden Hotel and it was just great! I booked through my favorite boutique hotel website, epoquehotels.com which has an abundance of gorgeous properties to choose from that are so different than chain hotels. The staff at the hotel is incredibly friendly, they are always there to help. But the rooms was my favorite thing. They are comfortable and so traditional! Staying at the Red Wall Garden Hotel was truly a marvelous experience. It's also in a convenient location. I recommend it if you travel to Beijing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Jack,
Thank you for your review. Your review is important to us. We value and appreciate receiving your compliments. Our location nearby the Forbidden City and the famous shopping streets of Wangfujing really makes the hotel a perfect place to explore Beijing. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Red Wall exceeded our expectations. We loved the decoration of the rooms and the attentive service of the Butlers.
The Hotel is very well located and we just loved to experienced a true boutique hotel in China!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terrenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Terrenas,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to meet your expectations and that you liked our rooms. We try to keep a traditional design without compromising on modern amenities and maximum comfort. We are looking forward to welcome you, your family and friends to Red Wall Garden Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#11 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 5,545 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 2,418 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#17 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Xidan
Raffles Beijing Hotel
Raffles Beijing Hotel
#16 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 5,545 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Beijing is an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing, located in one of the old Beijing historic neighborhoods: Shijia Hutong, a lovely tree-lined, low-rise lane. The hotel is within walking distance to the Forbidden City, the famous shopping streets of Wangfujing & Jinbao in Dong Cheng, the central district of Beijing. The Red Wall Garden Hotel is ideal for either work or pleasure.A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel, invoking the past,yet with modern facilities; a subtle blend of ancient Asian esthetic with a modern spirit; offers 40 individually appointed guest rooms, featuring ultra luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WIFI ( throughout the hotel) and mini-bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heater.Besides The Red Wall Garden Restaurant serving mainly classic Chinese cuisine the hotel also features a popular cozy lounge/bar overlooking the beautiful courtyard, which is the centerpiece of the hotel. Here guests can try Beijing street food creatively interpreted by the executive chef, enjoy a drink or simply relax. The Red Wall Garden Hotel often features live cultural, music and art performances.Guests can also take advantage of the hotel’s in-house car service, to explore the city, the Great Wall , or hop on to one of our bicycles or rickshaw to stroll through the hutongs and perhaps enjoy a Chinese massage in the treatment room after a long day of sightseeing or a hard day’s work. Our warm friendly english speaking staff awaits you."The Red Wall Garden Hotel Boutique Experience" : emotionally connects our guests with the intense desire for all things historical, cultural and artistic to experience the true lifestyle of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing