We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, wonderful staff, and Quiet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wall Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Wall Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Red Wall Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Freebies
Ranked #4 of 5,488 Hotels in Beijing
Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, wonderful staff, and Quiet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were not sure what to expect in Beijing, this being our first trip to China. We stayed in a “brand name” hotel near the Olympic Park for the first two days (the business part of the trip) but wanted to get a more “Chinese” experience and be closer to the center of things. We chose the Red Wall Garden Inn based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed in the least.

The hotel is on a quiet hutong in a neighborhood; “regular” people also lived and worked in the hutong. We were very surprised at how quiet things were: little internal hotel noise and virtually no noise from the street. We were a little nervous about noise when we saw the beautiful wooden floors but that never proved to be a problem. The hutong is dark at night, with near-silent electric mopeds coming and going; we never once felt unsafe, though, even in the dark with people standing in doorways.

There seemed to be a good number of Chinese business travelers and tourists at the hotel, and some Western tourists from all over (various parts of Europe, Australia, not a lot of Americans) but mostly the clientele seemed to be Chinese.

The location is fantastic. The Red Wall Garden Inn is centrally located in Beijing, maybe a 15-minute walk from the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square. There’s a subway stop (Dengshikou) about a block and a half from the hotel, some big-name hotels not far, and the Wangfujing shopping district not far.

The staff was extremely friendly and extremely helpful. We had to check in quickly because we were off to an unexpected business dinner, and the staff took us to our room, explained how everything worked, and while we were getting ready for the dinner, got us information for a driver and guide to go to the Great Wall the following day. Almost all of the staff spoke some English and we were never at a loss trying to explain a need or get directions.

Additionally, the hotel had two interns who were exceptionally helpful. One was from South Africa, the other from Senegal (with whom I was able to speak French); they were lovely, both very friendly in a quiet way with considerable attention to service.

The hotel puts two small bottles of water in the room (you can get larger bottles of water at the tiny grocery shop further down the hutong: 1.5 litre cost about 2 or 3 RMB). One afternoon upon returning to our room we noticed that the water had not been replenished and notified the front desk. They were horrified and the water was replaced instantly.

Our room was HUGE. In addition to a king size bed, there was a sofa, another settee, a sideboard/dresser, an armoire, two bed-side tables with storage, and a desk in an alcove. I don’t think I’ve ever had a hotel room with as much storage for clothes and belongings. The hotel is very proud of its Dux beds. I’d never heard of them but our bed was extremely comfortable; we slept very, very well. There were plenty of electric outlets and we were able to plug in some phone chargers without adapters. The windows opened and looked out onto the courtyard (see photo, there’s a nice coy pond). Black-out drapes worked well.

There was wifi and it worked OK; I’ve had stronger but it worked, except that you only got two connections (we had a laptop and two iPhones, so had to choose two of three).

The bathroom was very modern, with a big walk-in shower with a rain-type showerhead (and a hand-held shower), a nice hot-water ladder-type radiator that warmed towels well; the basin was very modern. Lighting could have been better but this is not a problem unique to this hotel.

Restaurant: We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant twice. It’s a little on the pricey side, but the buffet has quite an array of choices, from Chinese buns, salad, and sausage, to an omelet station, to pastries, juice, and fruit. Their coffee is OK. Because we were exhausted one night after our sojourn to the Great Wall, we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant, and it was quite good. We found Beijing food to be rather greasy, but the food in the restaurant was far less oily than what we found elsewhere, the cuts of meat were much better, and the presentation exceptional (see photo). The restaurant staff was helpful and polite, and the African interns were exceptionally helpful.

The front desk staff offered us a complimentary ride to the airport when we checked out. We were amazed! The driver was polite and an extremely careful driver. This was an unexpected treat, and one that would encourage me to stay here again.

Overall, there are certainly less expensive rooms to be had, but I wonder if there could be quieter. The staff is exceptionally polite and helpful. We have raved about our stay here since we returned, and I owe much thanks to Trip Advisor reviewers who steered us here.

Tips for guests: Do take the subway—it goes everywhere, announcements are in Chinese and English, and it is unbelievably inexpensive (2 RMB per trip). It is crowded and can get very crowded at rush hour, but nothing to fear. And for Westerners looking for good coffee, there’s a Starbucks in Jinbao Tower about a block away from the hotel. And in spite of the direction cards the hotel gives out, taxi drivers cannot always find Shijia Hutong: you need to tell the driver it’s near the Shijia International School. The Regent Hotel is around the corner and a good landmark.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel. Your very detailed review is much appreciated! Your pictures are very beautifully taken. Make sure to tell us your flight details for the complimentary airport pickup when the next time you come. By the way, we have a Loyalty customer program a few days ago, to give some special offers and deals to loyalty customers, make sure to email us for further information. Thank you again, we hope to see you in the future!

We look forward to hearing back from you

King Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    181
    32
    2
    2
See reviews for
181
338
56
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ufa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I'm impressed by visiting your wonderful hotel! You have a very luxurious, clean, stylish and comfortable! Staff very friendly and caring! Simply great service! Excellent location and a nice, relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel, we hope you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. Your precious comment encourages us. We will do better in the future. Our hotel provides 24 hours butler service, all our staff willing to serve you again in the future! We hope you had a good flight back home.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Best Regards

Red Wall Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Having over the years stayed in many mediocre hotels in Beijing, this hotel is definitely a sanctuary in the middle of chaos.
The courteous and helpful service by all the staff is exceptional. The rooms are great with extremely comfortable beds unusual for China where most mattress's are hard.
Free Wifi and the shuttle that not only can pick you up/take to/from the airport, they will also take you/collect you from rail stations, very useful.
The restaurant is fine both for dinner and breakfast
Only stayed one night but will use again.
Thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel, your comment are very much appreciated.

As you mentioned our flight pickup service is one of the advantages from us. Also our 24 hours bulter service, we provide everything that you need and help you the most to satisfy guests'.

Make sure to tell us either your flight or train details when the next time you come to our hotel, incase we don't miss you!

Thank you again, we hope to see you in the future.

Hope you had good journey back home

King Regards

Red Wall Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The concept of remodeling old Beijing houses called "hutong," is a great concept. Many other products and services have fused traditional Chinese culture into the modern amenities. There are a lot of example of these kind of hotels and restaurants in Shanghai.

This Red Wall Garden seemed like one of those with a professional website to free airport pick up and the great looking entrance.

However of the 3 nights, the whole package felt like a compromise in every direction. Instead of a nostalgic old Chinese home with luxurious modern amenities. It felt like a old hotel room lacking amenities (bath tube) dressed up in random faux antique Chinese furnitures. It had all the compromises of an old home with moldy bathroom tiles, with none of the charm. In fact it reminded me of old Hotel 8 dress in Chinese suits. btw Hotel 8 is just across the ally.

The location is supposed to be great as its near the forbidden city or the center of Beijing. But for anybody familiar with Beijing, it really doesn't mean anything. The surrounding has no appeal made worse by the harsh winter of Beijing. There really is nothing to see nor do as we walked around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel, Your comment are very much appreciated.
Red Wall Garden Hotel is located in the famous hitorical Shijia Hutong, it is mainly showing the foreigners where and how people live in beijing in the old days.
For bath tub we do have them in some rooms. please make sure to tell us you want those rooms with tub.

There is one of the biggest business street with many luxury shops near our hotel, which is 5mins walk from us. Also the Pedestrain street Wangfujin is 10-15mins walk from us.

We hope you had a good trip back home, and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

King Regards

Red Wall Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife ask me to search for a traditional hutong(historical house) type of hotel. After going thru some research, found this hotel. Near Wangfujing shopping district and subway station.They offer free airport pick-up. We booked a suite with 2 queen beds as we are a family of 4. Room was clean and with all standard amenities. However as this is a historical conservation building, there was no lift and we were staying on the 3rd storey. There are some noise coming from a primary school nearby early in the morning. There is free wifi in the building. The breakfast was a little disappointing with the selection and standard of food. The alley outside the hotel compound was a little dark and the distance of walking to the Wangfujing district is about 800 metres. Quite challenging if the weather is cold and the road is undulating. Overall will recommend to anyone who want to try 1 night or 2 for the experience living in a traditional beijing guest house.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you have lots of luggage or have diffculty climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel. your comment are very much appreciated.
We do take your advices seriously, for breakfast, we will certainly improve more selctions in the future. And due to we dont have lifts in our hotel, our staff can carry them to your room, and on your check out date, you can call us to bring them to the reception. We hope you had a good trip back home.

Look forward to seeing you in the future

King Regards

Red Wall Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Decided to stay at Red Wall Garden Hotel Wangfujing for several days in Beijing with my family.
After I made the booking I ve been told that we get a complimentary airport pickup, I was surprised by that, (who wouldn’t pick a lovely hotel that provides a free pickup service? I don’t think there are many hotels can do the same.) When we arrived at the airport it was 2hours late, due to the bad weather our flight delayed. But when we came out from the exit, I wad kinda shocked that the driver was still waiting for us. I see my name Immediately on a big card. The driver can speak some basic English was very nice to us too.
Once we arrived at the hotel, we received a warm welcome from the friendly front desk staff that were very helpful, suggesting bus routes and recommending places in local area. Must be one of the best English speaking staff we ve experienced. Due to there were no lifts in the hotel, they helped us to carry all bags to 3rd floor.Bedrooms in the hotel was clean with all wooden furniture. Very Chinese style. Bed is dux brand incredibly comfortable.( oh forgot to say they upgraded my room for free :) )
The breakfast was great, many varieties, and the waitresses were extremely helpful.
The underground station was 5 mins away from the hotel easy to find, I suggest to use the underground more than any other transportations, since the traffic is really bad in Beijin.
We certainly recommend the hotel and will definitely return to it!

Room Tip: super deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galisteo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Charming hotel with a very helpful staff. We liked the location and the breakfast is generous and good. Pretty easy to get lost in the hood, though, so make sure you take a hotel locator card from the desk.

Negatives were a mildewy smell in the bathroom and hard pillows, but overall, good

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel
We hope you enjoyed your stay, your comment are very much appreciated.

Mildewy smell on the pillow is probably cause by the wet weather. We do apologies for this happed. In future we will make sure there will not be any of these smells happen again. Thank you for your advice.

we hope you had good trip back home

Look forward to seeing you again in the future!

King Regards

Red Wall Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#18 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 5,488 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#12 of 5,488 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#2 of 5,488 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5,488 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Beijing is an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing, located in one of the old Beijing historic neighborhoods: Shijia Hutong, a lovely tree-lined, low-rise lane. The hotel is within walking distance to the Forbidden City, the famous shopping streets of Wangfujing & Jinbao in Dong Cheng, the central district of Beijing. The Red Wall Garden Hotel is ideal for either work or pleasure.A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel, invoking the past,yet with modern facilities; a subtle blend of ancient Asian esthetic with a modern spirit; offers 40 individually appointed guest rooms, featuring ultra luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WIFI ( throughout the hotel) and mini-bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heater.Besides The Red Wall Garden Restaurant serving mainly classic Chinese cuisine the hotel also features a popular cozy lounge/bar overlooking the beautiful courtyard, which is the centerpiece of the hotel. Here guests can try Beijing street food creatively interpreted by the executive chef, enjoy a drink or simply relax. The Red Wall Garden Hotel often features live cultural, music and art performances.Guests can also take advantage of the hotel’s in-house car service, to explore the city, the Great Wall , or hop on to one of our bicycles or rickshaw to stroll through the hutongs and perhaps enjoy a Chinese massage in the treatment room after a long day of sightseeing or a hard day’s work. Our warm friendly english speaking staff awaits you."The Red Wall Garden Hotel Boutique Experience" : emotionally connects our guests with the intense desire for all things historical, cultural and artistic to experience the true lifestyle of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wall Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.