We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service,value& well located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wall Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Wall Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Red Wall Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Freebies
Ranked #1 of 5,418 Hotels in Beijing
London, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good service,value& well located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Decided to stay at Red Wall Garden Hotel Wangfujing for several days in Beijing with my family.
After I made the booking I ve been told that we get a complimentary airport pickup, I was surprised by that, (who wouldn’t pick a lovely hotel that provides a free pickup service? I don’t think there are many hotels can do the same.) When we arrived at the airport it was 2hours late, due to the bad weather our flight delayed. But when we came out from the exit, I wad kinda shocked that the driver was still waiting for us. I see my name Immediately on a big card. The driver can speak some basic English was very nice to us too.
Once we arrived at the hotel, we received a warm welcome from the friendly front desk staff that were very helpful, suggesting bus routes and recommending places in local area. Must be one of the best English speaking staff we ve experienced. Due to there were no lifts in the hotel, they helped us to carry all bags to 3rd floor.Bedrooms in the hotel was clean with all wooden furniture. Very Chinese style. Bed is dux brand incredibly comfortable.( oh forgot to say they upgraded my room for free :) )
The breakfast was great, many varieties, and the waitresses were extremely helpful.
The underground station was 5 mins away from the hotel easy to find, I suggest to use the underground more than any other transportations, since the traffic is really bad in Beijin.
We certainly recommend the hotel and will definitely return to it!

Room Tip: super deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    121
    27
    1
    1
See reviews for
127
214
32
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galisteo, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Charming hotel with a very helpful staff. We liked the location and the breakfast is generous and good. Pretty easy to get lost in the hood, though, so make sure you take a hotel locator card from the desk.

Negatives were a mildewy smell in the bathroom and hard pillows, but overall, good

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel
We hope you enjoyed your stay, your comment are very much appreciated.

Mildewy smell on the pillow is probably cause by the wet weather. We do apologies for this happed. In future we will make sure there will not be any of these smells happen again. Thank you for your advice.

we hope you had good trip back home

Look forward to seeing you again in the future!

King Regards

Red Wall Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

First the bad, then the good.... This is absolutely a 5-star experience, however, there were 3 significant problems:
1. Wi-fi
2. Location
3. Shower

Apparently the Wi-fi worked well enough for video Skype calls on the iPhone or older Android versions. However on my Android 4.0 (ice cream sandwich) phone (galaxy S3), the Wi-fi would not connect. Despite the really helpful staff, the problem was not resolved. This was a big minus for me.

The hotel is great once you get inside. However, the walk to the front door is down a back alley that would give a sewer a bad name! It was dirty, ugly, and absolutely stunk beyond belief!

Finally, the shower was absolutely fantastic, once I had scraped the calcium build-up off each of the shower head nozzles! I am sure the staff would have done it had I asked. However, I was already in the shower, and did not want to get out! Also, I should not have had to ask.....

Despite these three problems, the hotel still gets 4 stars out of 5. That should tell you how good the rest of the experience was. The staff were amazing. This is obviously a small concern, and the staff really cared. The staff were exceedingly friendly and as helpful as possible. The hotel looked fantastic. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The breakfast was good, if a bit small; however, on the second day I asked for a double helping ;-), which was provided with no quibble.

I would absolutely stay in the Red Wall Garden Hotel again. However, I would phone them first to ensure that they had updated their Wi-fi to work with Android ICS ;-).

Room Tip: One of the three sides is single story, so no-one is creaking overhead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel. We would like to thank you for your detailed comment, Your detailed review helps us to improve our services even more! For the Wifi router problem, we will definitly change to a new one that match the signals of Android devices (for my device 4.1 android jelly bean, works fine here.) but we are definitly look into this case.

and you can also advoid the sewer , thats a long way to our hotel, and that is not the only way to our hotel. If you come from the Underground station, I sugeest you go out by exit A , cross the road and go straight right for about 300 meters you will see our hotel. And we also provide a free airport pickup service, make sure to tell us your flight details next time when you come to our hotel! Thank you for your review again. we will definitly fix the problems.

We look forward to seeing you again

Hope you had good trip back home!

Best Regards

Red Wall Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a delightful week at this off the beaten tourist path. Apparently the hotel was built for the Olympics using traditional materials and workmanship. We were treated to the best of two worlds; traditional architecture, furnishings and art work while enjoying warm, comfortable rooms with modern plumbing. We especially enjoyed our breakfasts with such staple Chinese foods as congee and duck. Well cooked and excellent service. The waiters were extremely helpful. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were spotless. We took advantage of the spa services and spent time wandering in the garden. Within walking distance to restaurants, markets and typical Hutong life. Highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel,

Your comment are very much appreciated. We hope our hotel made you felt like home. Shi jia HuTong is the most historical Hutong in Beijing, even Chairman Mao had lived in the Hutong before. And make sure to tell us your flight information when the next time you come! we hope to see you again in the future!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nestled up a quiet hutong (or lane) off the busy Dong Si Nan Da Jie street, just a few blocks east of the Forbidden City, the Red Wall Garden Hotel is a wonderful place to relax after a busy day in Beijing. It's a small, two storey, traditional, u-shaped building, set around a sheltered internal courtyard, with tables and chairs for outside eating. The hotel is beautifully maintained and we couldn't fault it. As it was our anniversary and the fact our son had got engaged in China that week, we were upgraded, not once but twice, both couples being given a beautiful suite on 2 levels, with direct access from the courtyard. Beds were comfortable and soft (unlike most hotel beds in China) and there was even a pillow menu so that you could order your favourite, and with its quiet location, a good sleep is guaranteed. At breakfast in their small restaurant, there was a wide choice of both eastern and western food and refreshments. The staff were very courteous at all times and couldn't have been more helpful. We can certainly recommend the Red Wall Garden hotel and would certainly return to it.

Room Tip: Our 2-level suite, 106, was conveniently situated in the corner of the courtyard. Our son's suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in Beijing and doesn't mind paying a little extra money. The staff were excellent and even though there was a little language boundary they were still willing to help. Housekeeping did an excellent job every day and the rooms were kept comfortable with air conditioning. The hotel restaurant is great but pricey. The hotel location isn't the greatest as taxi drivers had a hard time finding it. The staff closes the gate late at night making you feel safe. This hotel is an excellent place to come to after a long day of touring Beijing.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel.

Your positive comment are very much appreciated! We hope you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. Your satisfaction is our encouragement. There is still a lot more that we need to improve. thank you again, we would love to see you again some time in the future, by the way make sure to book our complimentary airport pickup service when the next time you come!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the friendly Red Wall Garden Hotel for 6 nights for vacation. We were impressed with the airport pickup - the flight was late, but the driver was still there! The hotel is in the middle of Shijia Hutong; you get a real taste of Beijing life by exiting left and coming across a busy street filled with locals. A laundry shop towards that direction, closer to the busy street, did a great job with our clothes. Breakfasts were tasty and filling. The room and comfy bed were clean, and we had a view into the courtyard with their singing birds, fountain, and garden. We hired a hotel driver to take us to Mutianyu Great Wall and the Ming Tombs. The location was fantastic, we were able to navigate the subway just fine, and we walked to Tiananmen Square and Wangfujing Street. Their staff did a great job, and knew some English.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel.

Your comment are very much appreciated. We hope that our hotel made you felt like home. Shi jia HuTong is the most historical Hutong in Beijing, even chairman Mao had lived in the Hutong before. And make sure to tell us your flight information when the next time you come! we hope to see you again in the future!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5,418 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Beijing is an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing, located in one of the old Beijing historic neighborhoods: Shijia Hutong, a lovely tree-lined, low-rise lane. The hotel is within walking distance to the Forbidden City, the famous shopping streets of Wangfujing & Jinbao in Dong Cheng, the central district of Beijing. The Red Wall Garden Hotel is ideal for either work or pleasure.A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel, invoking the past,yet with modern facilities; a subtle blend of ancient Asian esthetic with a modern spirit; offers 40 individually appointed guest rooms, featuring ultra luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WIFI ( throughout the hotel) and mini-bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heater.Besides The Red Wall Garden Restaurant serving mainly classic Chinese cuisine the hotel also features a popular cozy lounge/bar overlooking the beautiful courtyard, which is the centerpiece of the hotel. Here guests can try Beijing street food creatively interpreted by the executive chef, enjoy a drink or simply relax. The Red Wall Garden Hotel often features live cultural, music and art performances.Guests can also take advantage of the hotel’s in-house car service, to explore the city, the Great Wall , or hop on to one of our bicycles or rickshaw to stroll through the hutongs and perhaps enjoy a Chinese massage in the treatment room after a long day of sightseeing or a hard day’s work. Our warm friendly english speaking staff awaits you."The Red Wall Garden Hotel Boutique Experience" : emotionally connects our guests with the intense desire for all things historical, cultural and artistic to experience the true lifestyle of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wall Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.