We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to give 5-star, but.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wall Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Red Wall Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com
and 9 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Freebies
Ranked #2 of 4,972 hotels in Beijing
York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would love to give 5-star, but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

First the bad, then the good.... This is absolutely a 5-star experience, however, there were 3 significant problems:
1. Wi-fi
2. Location
3. Shower

Apparently the Wi-fi worked well enough for video Skype calls on the iPhone or older Android versions. However on my Android 4.0 (ice cream sandwich) phone (galaxy S3), the Wi-fi would not connect. Despite the really helpful staff, the problem was not resolved. This was a big minus for me.

The hotel is great once you get inside. However, the walk to the front door is down a back alley that would give a sewer a bad name! It was dirty, ugly, and absolutely stunk beyond belief!

Finally, the shower was absolutely fantastic, once I had scraped the calcium build-up off each of the shower head nozzles! I am sure the staff would have done it had I asked. However, I was already in the shower, and did not want to get out! Also, I should not have had to ask.....

Despite these three problems, the hotel still gets 4 stars out of 5. That should tell you how good the rest of the experience was. The staff were amazing. This is obviously a small concern, and the staff really cared. The staff were exceedingly friendly and as helpful as possible. The hotel looked fantastic. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The breakfast was good, if a bit small; however, on the second day I asked for a double helping ;-), which was provided with no quibble.

I would absolutely stay in the Red Wall Garden Hotel again. However, I would phone them first to ensure that they had updated their Wi-fi to work with Android ICS ;-).

Room Tip: One of the three sides is single story, so no-one is creaking overhead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel. We would like to thank you for your detailed comment, Your detailed review helps us to improve our services even more! For the Wifi router problem, we will definitly change to a new one that match the signals of Android devices (for my device 4.1 android jelly bean, works fine here.) but we are definitly look into this case.

and you can also advoid the sewer , thats a long way to our hotel, and that is not the only way to our hotel. If you come from the Underground station, I sugeest you go out by exit A , cross the road and go straight right for about 300 meters you will see our hotel. And we also provide a free airport pickup service, make sure to tell us your flight details next time when you come to our hotel! Thank you for your review again. we will definitly fix the problems.

We look forward to seeing you again

Hope you had good trip back home!

Best Regards

Red Wall Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    87
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
74
134
26
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooks, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a delightful week at this off the beaten tourist path. Apparently the hotel was built for the Olympics using traditional materials and workmanship. We were treated to the best of two worlds; traditional architecture, furnishings and art work while enjoying warm, comfortable rooms with modern plumbing. We especially enjoyed our breakfasts with such staple Chinese foods as congee and duck. Well cooked and excellent service. The waiters were extremely helpful. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were spotless. We took advantage of the spa services and spent time wandering in the garden. Within walking distance to restaurants, markets and typical Hutong life. Highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel,

Your comment are very much appreciated. We hope our hotel made you felt like home. Shi jia HuTong is the most historical Hutong in Beijing, even Chairman Mao had lived in the Hutong before. And make sure to tell us your flight information when the next time you come! we hope to see you again in the future!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nestled up a quiet hutong (or lane) off the busy Dong Si Nan Da Jie street, just a few blocks east of the Forbidden City, the Red Wall Garden Hotel is a wonderful place to relax after a busy day in Beijing. It's a small, two storey, traditional, u-shaped building, set around a sheltered internal courtyard, with tables and chairs for outside eating. The hotel is beautifully maintained and we couldn't fault it. As it was our anniversary and the fact our son had got engaged in China that week, we were upgraded, not once but twice, both couples being given a beautiful suite on 2 levels, with direct access from the courtyard. Beds were comfortable and soft (unlike most hotel beds in China) and there was even a pillow menu so that you could order your favourite, and with its quiet location, a good sleep is guaranteed. At breakfast in their small restaurant, there was a wide choice of both eastern and western food and refreshments. The staff were very courteous at all times and couldn't have been more helpful. We can certainly recommend the Red Wall Garden hotel and would certainly return to it.

Room Tip: Our 2-level suite, 106, was conveniently situated in the corner of the courtyard. Our son's suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in Beijing and doesn't mind paying a little extra money. The staff were excellent and even though there was a little language boundary they were still willing to help. Housekeeping did an excellent job every day and the rooms were kept comfortable with air conditioning. The hotel restaurant is great but pricey. The hotel location isn't the greatest as taxi drivers had a hard time finding it. The staff closes the gate late at night making you feel safe. This hotel is an excellent place to come to after a long day of touring Beijing.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel.

Your positive comment are very much appreciated! We hope you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. Your satisfaction is our encouragement. There is still a lot more that we need to improve. thank you again, we would love to see you again some time in the future, by the way make sure to book our complimentary airport pickup service when the next time you come!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the friendly Red Wall Garden Hotel for 6 nights for vacation. We were impressed with the airport pickup - the flight was late, but the driver was still there! The hotel is in the middle of Shijia Hutong; you get a real taste of Beijing life by exiting left and coming across a busy street filled with locals. A laundry shop towards that direction, closer to the busy street, did a great job with our clothes. Breakfasts were tasty and filling. The room and comfy bed were clean, and we had a view into the courtyard with their singing birds, fountain, and garden. We hired a hotel driver to take us to Mutianyu Great Wall and the Ming Tombs. The location was fantastic, we were able to navigate the subway just fine, and we walked to Tiananmen Square and Wangfujing Street. Their staff did a great job, and knew some English.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel.

Your comment are very much appreciated. We hope that our hotel made you felt like home. Shi jia HuTong is the most historical Hutong in Beijing, even chairman Mao had lived in the Hutong before. And make sure to tell us your flight information when the next time you come! we hope to see you again in the future!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband & I along with son and fiance stayed here for 3 nights. We had booked the deluxe rooms. We arrived tired after a 5 hour journey from Qingdao to find that we had been upgraded to the Garden Suite as we were celebrating our anniversary and son's engagement. Fruit, wine and fresh flowers were in our rooms, as well as a bunch of red roses and rose petals on the bed and in the bathroom. This was such a lovely surprise. The rooms were lovely, very clean and the bed was so comfortable, we even had a pillow menu to choose from. I needed to iron a few things and asked for an iron, it arrived within 5 minutes - great service. The girls on reception were extremely helpful especially when we tried to check in online for our flights back. All the staff were very helpful and courteous. My husband was not well when we arrived and the restaurant specially made him rice porridge. This was a really nice gesture. The only thing I would say that was wrong with the hotel is that you only get one breakfast per room per day. This is a bit odd. Would I stay here again? Yes, without a doubt. It is a lovely and peaceful oasis in the middle of a bustling city. The metro is a about a 5 minute walk. A taxi at the top of the road will get you anywhere for a few pounds. We just wish we had been able to spend more time in Beijing. When we return we know where we're going to stay - The Red Wall Garden!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel! we appreciate your comment. We do remember your stay! we are very happy that you loved it! We also hope your son and fiancee had a great time here, please pass on our blessing from all staff Red Wall Garden Hotel. we hope you had good trip back home! and hope to see you again in the future!

Best Regards

Beijing Red Wall Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Negative point : breakfast not included in the price and that's all....

Location couldn't be better, it's in the middle of Beijing but it's quiet, only the wood floor creaks a little ! Nice area, typical. Subway just at 10minutes on foot.

Food is good but the menu on Ipad is not a good idea, it's not easy to see the full choice of courses and 1 screen for 2 persons is not enough, could be a subject to argue about..!

Bedroom was spacious, well decorated.

Great value for the price !

Room Tip: We were in a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel, We hope you had a wonderful stay.
Your comment are very much appreciated. We do take your advises seriously , we are currently working on a proper menu. we will have it soon. Make sure to book our free airport pickup service next time you come! we hope to see you again, and good trip back home.!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4,972 hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Beijing is an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing, located in one of the old Beijing historic neighborhoods: Shijia Hutong, a lovely tree-lined, low-rise lane. The hotel is within walking distance to the Forbidden City, the famous shopping streets of Wangfujing & Jinbao in Dong Cheng, the central district of Beijing. The Red Wall Garden Hotel is ideal for either work or pleasure.A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel, invoking the past,yet with modern facilities; a subtle blend of ancient Asian esthetic with a modern spirit; offers 40 individually appointed guest rooms, featuring ultra luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WIFI ( throughout the hotel) and mini-bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heater.Besides The Red Wall Garden Restaurant serving mainly classic Chinese cuisine the hotel also features a popular cozy lounge/bar overlooking the beautiful courtyard, which is the centerpiece of the hotel. Here guests can try Beijing street food creatively interpreted by the executive chef, enjoy a drink or simply relax. The Red Wall Garden Hotel often features live cultural, music and art performances.Guests can also take advantage of the hotel’s in-house car service, to explore the city, the Great Wall , or hop on to one of our bicycles or rickshaw to stroll through the hutongs and perhaps enjoy a Chinese massage in the treatment room after a long day of sightseeing or a hard day’s work. Our warm friendly english speaking staff awaits you."The Red Wall Garden Hotel Boutique Experience" : emotionally connects our guests with the intense desire for all things historical, cultural and artistic to experience the true lifestyle of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wall Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.