We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Stay in courtyard hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Wall Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Red Wall Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Red Wall Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Freebies
Ranked #2 of 5,422 Hotels in Beijing
scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Super Stay in courtyard hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband & I along with son and fiance stayed here for 3 nights. We had booked the deluxe rooms. We arrived tired after a 5 hour journey from Qingdao to find that we had been upgraded to the Garden Suite as we were celebrating our anniversary and son's engagement. Fruit, wine and fresh flowers were in our rooms, as well as a bunch of red roses and rose petals on the bed and in the bathroom. This was such a lovely surprise. The rooms were lovely, very clean and the bed was so comfortable, we even had a pillow menu to choose from. I needed to iron a few things and asked for an iron, it arrived within 5 minutes - great service. The girls on reception were extremely helpful especially when we tried to check in online for our flights back. All the staff were very helpful and courteous. My husband was not well when we arrived and the restaurant specially made him rice porridge. This was a really nice gesture. The only thing I would say that was wrong with the hotel is that you only get one breakfast per room per day. This is a bit odd. Would I stay here again? Yes, without a doubt. It is a lovely and peaceful oasis in the middle of a bustling city. The metro is a about a 5 minute walk. A taxi at the top of the road will get you anywhere for a few pounds. We just wish we had been able to spend more time in Beijing. When we return we know where we're going to stay - The Red Wall Garden!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel! we appreciate your comment. We do remember your stay! we are very happy that you loved it! We also hope your son and fiancee had a great time here, please pass on our blessing from all staff Red Wall Garden Hotel. we hope you had good trip back home! and hope to see you again in the future!

Best Regards

Beijing Red Wall Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    132
    29
    1
    1
See reviews for
137
235
35
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Negative point : breakfast not included in the price and that's all....

Location couldn't be better, it's in the middle of Beijing but it's quiet, only the wood floor creaks a little ! Nice area, typical. Subway just at 10minutes on foot.

Food is good but the menu on Ipad is not a good idea, it's not easy to see the full choice of courses and 1 screen for 2 persons is not enough, could be a subject to argue about..!

Bedroom was spacious, well decorated.

Great value for the price !

Room Tip: We were in a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel, We hope you had a wonderful stay.
Your comment are very much appreciated. We do take your advises seriously , we are currently working on a proper menu. we will have it soon. Make sure to book our free airport pickup service next time you come! we hope to see you again, and good trip back home.!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here four nights. Very nice and cozy courtyard hotel. The room was spacious and clean. Bed very comfortable. Nice shower, althoug the bathroom was a bit cold in the morning. Breakfast had both western and Chinese items. I think the Chinese food looked better, and mostly ate those. I only regret there was no freshly squeezed orange juice. Staff was very attentive and always with a smile. Although some of them did not speak/understand English well, we always managed to make us understood. Also, really close to a subway station. Would highly recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel, Your comment are very much appreciated. For your advises about the cold water in the morning and freshly squeezed orange juice, we do take them seriously will fix them as soon as possible. We hope you enjoyed your stay, and good trip back home.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent our first 4 days in China at the Red Wall Garden Hotel - Beijing. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The staff were so nice and very anxious to be helpful. They were very friendly. It is conveniently located in a Hutong - felt like it was off the beaten track. We can't recommend this hotel enough. They also have a very good restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel, Your comment are very much appreciated. Our target is to let every guest to feel like home, we hope we made you felt that way. Thank you again, remember to book our free airport pickup service the next time you come. We hope to see you again in the future! Have a nice trip back home!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

If like me you are a westerner and have never been to bejing and china before this hotel is perfect. It is close to the main shopping street, tiannamen square and forbidden city and also the underground. Is does not have a conventional location for a city centre hotel and at night time can be a bit edgy (the only police car I saw in a week in china - here and tianjin- was doing patrol near hotel) but this is probably part of the charm as there is not much of genuine old bejing left. Room size a bit disappointing for rate and can be noisy at night and in the morning (all rooms accessed from atrium) and bar/restaurant close v early for this class of hotel. Real bonus is the airport pick up/drop off and the very helpful English speaking staff especially Fay. Hotel will also do a tour for you but make sure they tell tour guide to skip jade, silk, tea, etc showrooms unless you want to be pressured into buying a piece of "authentic" china!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden hotel, Your Comment are very much appreciated. We do take your advises seriously, we are working to fix them as soon as possible, We are going to improve our services, there will be more training going on during the week. We hope to give you a different experience when the next time you come

Thank you again, and we hope you will choose Red Wall Garden Hotel the next time you are in Beijing. Hope you had good flight back home.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

There are two Red Wall Garden Hotels (they are affiliated)- this review is for the one located in the Shijia Hutong. Not really sure where to start as it was fantastic in every regard. We booked a family room, but it turned out to be a family suite - absolutely huge two bedroom apartment with two bathrooms and a small foyer area. The rooms were furnished beautifully with Chinese antiques. It was so nice to come home to at the end of a long day exploring. It is a calm oasis. Our rooms overlooked the roofline of traditional houses near us.
Beds are a dream to sleep on, and the pillow menu was a delight to experiment with.
Breakfast was included and there was more than enough variety to satisfy even the fussiest of eaters.
Staff were very helpful, and went out of their way to make sure that we were looked after. They offered to book us a car to take us to the wall (Mutianyu) at a cost of Y1200 for the four of us, but we found a driver on the street who took us for half that amount.
We took advantage of the free pickup service from the train station, and so glad we did as the queue for a taxi was about 1hr long.
Taxis do have trouble finding it, so we took a card from the Regent, which is a large hotel nearby, and that seemed to work OK. Be aware that lots of taxis do not like to stop for westerners, scared of the language barrier, even the locals have problems getting a taxi sometimes. The Red Wall Garden though is very close to the subway, and that is an easy and cheap way to get around.
If you want to stay in a high-rise that has all the coziness of a morgue, then this is not the place for you. If however, you want a hotel that is full of charm and character, and still luxurious, then give the Red Wall Garden a go - you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel, we hope you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. Thank you for your advises for other guests. There is problem of getting a taxi but our butler can get a taxi for you on the street. Thank you again we hope to see you again in the future! remember to book our pick up service 2,3 days before your arrival !

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

I can really recommend this hotel, an oasis of calm in the busy Beijing with wonderful staff. One tip is to book through their web page where they then offer free pick up service. Book de Lux rom since they have best standard. The hotel Can help you with a visit to the Great Wall and other arrangemang at your choice. I'm tired of the big hotel chains and Red Wall garden is a very good alternative with more caracter.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel. Your comment are very much appreciated! Our complimentary airport pick up service is a big advantage of us, not many hotels can do that in the industry. Boutique hotel is growing fast nowadays, I am sure guests want to stay in a special place.

Thank you again, and we hope you'll choose Red Wall Garden Hotel the next time you're in Beijing. We also hope you had good flight back home

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No. 41 Shijia Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5,422 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Beijing is an oasis of tranquility in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing, located in one of the old Beijing historic neighborhoods: Shijia Hutong, a lovely tree-lined, low-rise lane. The hotel is within walking distance to the Forbidden City, the famous shopping streets of Wangfujing & Jinbao in Dong Cheng, the central district of Beijing. The Red Wall Garden Hotel is ideal for either work or pleasure.A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel, invoking the past,yet with modern facilities; a subtle blend of ancient Asian esthetic with a modern spirit; offers 40 individually appointed guest rooms, featuring ultra luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WIFI ( throughout the hotel) and mini-bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heater.Besides The Red Wall Garden Restaurant serving mainly classic Chinese cuisine the hotel also features a popular cozy lounge/bar overlooking the beautiful courtyard, which is the centerpiece of the hotel. Here guests can try Beijing street food creatively interpreted by the executive chef, enjoy a drink or simply relax. The Red Wall Garden Hotel often features live cultural, music and art performances.Guests can also take advantage of the hotel’s in-house car service, to explore the city, the Great Wall , or hop on to one of our bicycles or rickshaw to stroll through the hutongs and perhaps enjoy a Chinese massage in the treatment room after a long day of sightseeing or a hard day’s work. Our warm friendly english speaking staff awaits you."The Red Wall Garden Hotel Boutique Experience" : emotionally connects our guests with the intense desire for all things historical, cultural and artistic to experience the true lifestyle of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Wall Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.