We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epitome of a youth hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peking Yard Hostel

Save Saved
You added Peking Yard Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peking Yard Hostel
No.28A Wangzhima Hutong, Dongsi North Street, Dongcheng Disctrict, Beijing, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
Manila
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Epitome of a youth hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

[Disclaimer: This is a friend's review. I'll have to direct you to her if there are questions. :) ]

Stayed here from May 5-8 and May 18. It was very easy to find, just a short walk from the subway station. Lots of cheap places to eat around (try the teriyaki mochi at Cafe 85). This hostel is perfect if you just really want a nice and quiet place to stay in (unlike the sanlitun type party vibe hostel). Plus it looks better in person than in photos! The staff really spends A LOT of time fixing the flowers around. They were also very helpful and friendly (Hi lindsay and friends!!!)! They assisted me in booking train tickets going to Tianshui. I didn't mind paying the service fee (would've spent around the same if I did it myself anyway, with the added risk of being lost/buying the wrong ones). I was also able to refund my payment for the extra night I mistakenly booked. They cleaned our 6-bed room every afternoon. (Again, unlike other hostels.)

Also, this hostel is perfect for those who plan to travel around China. They allow you to leave a few pieces of your luggage, so you wont need to drag them (dirty clothes!) to the next city you're visiting. Just make sure to get them back a few days later!

One thing I'd suggest to them though is that they install bidets in the bathrooms, and put floor rugs by the room door and the bathroom door.

Thanks Peking Yard! Will surely stay here the next time I visit China.

-Kate from the Philippines

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    43
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
26
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

First, the location is great. The common area upon arrival is sweet. However, we found out that it is not as perfect as we had hoped.

We got a private room with a bath and paid nearly $90 USD. That is high for a hostel. The website said wifi but that is only in the common area. The speed is pretty weak at best. The common area is not as big as it seems since an entire table for 10 is reserved for staff. If you try to sit there, they will tell you to move. That is not too hostel-like. They are also very picky about bringing in outside food or drink. We were barked at for bringing in a beer. They sell things there at a premium thus the rule. Grrr.

There is no kitchen. It is a fridge and a microwave. So if you want to cook, that is not a good option.

The location was really good but there were lots of other options in that area that might be better for a couple. As a single person who wants a quite place to crash, this may be great.

Room Tip: If you are single, this may be a good option. Although there are other hostels in the area too. As a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was the nicest youth hostel I've ever visited.
Everything from the start makes you feel like home:
- The lovely flowers in the lobby
- The common room with comfy sofas, guitars, guides, books, magazines, ..
- The friendly staff
- The clean rooms
- Comfy beds

Only negative comments: wi-fi is only available in the common lounge and not in the rooms (though this makes the place more "sociable")

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If I had just been led in here with my eyes closed and laid on the mattress, I'd have thought I was in the States. Very soft and definately not from the Concrete Slabs are Us Store like all the other Chinese mattresses. Bonus great sleep because of that. Great shower with hot water and high enough my 5'11" frame didn't have to do a backbend to take a shower. Blow dryers in the room already. a/c works well. Located in a hutong just a short walk to the main road with bank, bakery and two subway stations. Taxi couldn't get all the way down the narrow alley so you will likely need to walk in from the main road but not too great a distance. Very knowledgeable staff. good western breakfast. expensive for a hostel, but probably because it was in Beijing - BUT did I mention the mattresses make up for any complaint I could possibly come up with? Walking distance to Nanluoguxiang shopping area with some great shops - you can't do much bargaining here but it's totally worth going to. not a mall. not the silk market or pearl market. it's an old shopping area in a hutong with a variety of things to choose from - not the same thing from store to store like everywhere else in China. I think I'll stay at Peking Yard Hostel every time I go to Beijing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liv0007
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We chose this hostel as an alternative to a faceless hotel as I wanted to stay in the hutongs and see a bit more of the backstreets of Bejing. For a hostel, the price is definitely on the high side for a private room and ensuite - the Holiday Inn etc is cheaper. That said, we had no complaints about the hostel - the rooms are clean and have AC and clean towels, and the bathrooms are of a pretty high standard for Beijing.

Only complaint about the hostel - the hutong yard layout means that there is quite a lot of noise as other guests walk past rooms etc, which can be a problem if you are a light sleeper (like my boyfriend). We were woken up at 4am by our amorous neighbours one night.

The communal area is the best part of the hostel - very laid back, with a traditional style hutong roof, lots of couches and comfy chairs, and a very cute cat :-) The staff speak passable English so its easy to get what you want if you don't speak any Chinese. Note that the food at the hostel is relatively expensive by Beijing standards - breakfast and coffee for two is RMB100, which is high for Beijing.

Overall, a good spot and we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
+ The communal area is the most relaxed I have seen in 4 months travelling. Loads of comfy sofas, pool table and PC.
+ The rooms have air-con and comfy beds with duvets and pillows.
+ Free luggage storage for two days.

Cons:
- The bathrooms seem clean but they constantly smell of the sewers.
- The wifi doesn't reach across to the rooms over the road.

Breakfast: Not included but great breakfasts available for a reasonable price.

Location: Pretty good. Within a couple of hundred metres of an underground station.

Would I Recommend To Friends?: Definitely.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hostel is located in a quiet Hutong about a min walk to the nearest subway. The lounge / bar area is lovely with loads of beautiful flowers. The rooms are nice, however the bathroom was quite smelly. I think this is due to old drainage systems in the Hutong area and is probably the case in most Hutong hostels. Overall, this is a really nice hostel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peking Yard Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peking Yard Hostel

Address: No.28A Wangzhima Hutong, Dongsi North Street, Dongcheng Disctrict, Beijing, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Beijing
#80 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Peking Yard Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peking Yard Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peking Yard Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.