We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel with Growing Pains” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, Beijing Capital Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Langham Place, Beijing Capital Airport to your Saves list
Langham Place, Beijing Capital Airport
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Erjing Road, Terminal 3, Capital International Airport, Beijing 100621, China (Beijing Capital International Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #31 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 451 Reviews
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New Hotel with Growing Pains”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed at hotel for one night while flying from Bangkok to Seattle through Beijing. Hotel is new (two months old), well appointed, safe, and clean. Room and bed were comfortable. We ordered the room with Club L Privileges only to find out that Club L is still not open. (They told us it will be open in another month or so, but it did not appear that anyone was working to achieve that goal) We ate dinner at Fuel (one of two or three eating places) which offers pizza, ribs and other western fare. Food and drink was acceptable but they had a DJ blasting loud music which was not what we expected or desired. I ordered a bottle of wine at the bar from their menu to take back to our room, but unfortunately, they could not locate the wine in their inventory. I then selected a wine from their inventory, but they could not find a price for it on their menu. Finally, I found a wine that was both on the menu and in their inventory and all was well. I ordered a cosmopolitan for my wife to take back to the room. Drink was fine but is was mini-size and I had to promise to return glass to bar. Employees were all all young and friendly and spoke some english. Language was a bit of a challenge but difficulties were overcome. The biggest problem was that the staff was not well trained. Basically, they didn't have a clue as to what they were doing, although they tried very hard to please. With some good training for the staff, the hotel would be fine for an overnight stay while passing through Beijing while flying. Prices were reasonable. Hotel is near, but not at, terminal three. It is far from the city center and would not be a good choice for sightseeing in Beijing. Hotel is not currently up to Langham Hotel standards. I believe is is sort of like a Holiday Inn Express to Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_business_Mgr, General Manager at Langham Place, Beijing Capital Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay I am very disappointed to read about your service problems, please accept our apologies.
I assure you we are regularly training our young and friendly team however clearly more work is required.
I will be discussing your comments with my team and I assure you actions will be taken to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    119
    25
    7
    9
See reviews for
35
68
68
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Stayed 4 nights at this hotel recently. Let me start the review on the positive side:

* The hotel and rooms are beautiful, modern, very clean and safe
* Food was very good, breakfast was excellent. I suggest getting a package with
breakfast included is possible
* Drinks and bar areas are very nice as well, good service.
* Hotel staff was very responsive and polite - but not trained to solve issues.

As far as negatives there are quite a few significant issues:

* When faced with a significant challenge the hotel staff switches to "saying anything to see if the guest goes away" mode. As another reviewer pointed out, double check anything the staff tells you and push for resolution.

* Another problem was Internet service. Wired Internet service is slow and there are many
service interruptions. Wireless Internet coverage is spotty, slow and problematic. For a business oriented hotel this is a pretty big issue.

* The hotel is very far from downtown Beijing. You will need to take the Airport Express, and two other subway lines to get to the main attractions. Not issue if you are purely
on business at the hotel.

* If you need cash or any other convenience the closest location is the airport itself and the hotel shuttle service can take anywhere from 30 minutes to 1 hour - despite the hotel staff saying 15 minutes. If you need to go to the airport make sure you bring the hotel phone number and be ready to call.

* Fitness center to be desired without showers/sauna/spa

For a business conference the hotel is a good choice if they work on these issues. Otherwise I would look elsewhere. Definitely not a convenient hotel if you visiting Beijing on tourism.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_business_Mgr, General Manager at Langham Place, Beijing Capital Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we apologize for the service problems you experienced. We are currently working on extending the Wifi coverage in the hotel in order to ensure complete coverage. We are also installing an ATM to make it more convenient to access cash. Once again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

A rare property...an airport hotel that is comfortable, quiet, and luxurious property. Stayed for a company event/meeting. Upgraded to a junior suite, great breakfasts in the restaurant and solid service. Exercise room left much to be desired. Mostly cardio (that's what it's called anyway) with a small rack of free weights. Way out of town but very convenient to the airport. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

I stayed at this hotel on a layover in Beijing. First, you should note that the hotel is NOT inside the airport. Even though both the Hilton and Langham are sometimes advertised as "Terminal 3, Beijing Capital Airport", the fact is that both require a shuttle ride. Go to the ground floor, out exit 5, and wait in the island for the bus. There is usually someone there to direct you.

The hotel has only been open for a month or two (as of Oct 2010), so everything is clean and new. Rooms have a great garden tub and separate shower. They are a good size, and well furnished. Towels are oversized and good quality. Bed is extremely comfortable and pillows are great - two thumbs up for sleep quality.

Wired internet in the room is expensive, but WiFi is free and seemed to work well throughout the hotel.

A few negatives: first, the staff training is not so great. I arrived at 11 pm and joined a group of 6 others waiting for the shuttle, they had been waiting up to 45 minutes despite calling a number of times and being told 'it is on its way' [the shuttle ride is approximately 2 minutes and you can almost walk]. If you arrive late at night, you might want to take a taxi. Shuttle back TO the airport worked fine. At check-in, staff had to ask which page of the passport was the name page, and ask the guest to help distinguish between the credit card number and expiration date (huh?). Check-in and out was slow. In the room, the seal around the shower door was really poor, and taking a normal-length shower resulted in a completely flooded bathroom.

The airport noise was not bad, I have been at quieter airport hotels, but it did not affect my sleep.

Overall, I would describe the Langham as an upscale hotel with a trendy and modern ambiance. The facility itself is very good. It needs some improvement from the operations side, but I'm prepared to put this down to teething problems and expect that to get better. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_business_Mgr, General Manager at Langham Place, Beijing Capital Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we apologize for the service problems you experienced. We recognize the transport problem and to improve the visibility at the terminal our shuttle buses are currently being painted Pink with Langham Place clearly marked on them. Once again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunfish Lake, MN
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Keep in mind when reading the following review that the hotel's purpose in life is to serve passengers utilizing the airport.

Arrived at 11:00PM. This facility is not, as implied in its advertisement, attached to Terminal 3. It is perhaps a km or two away. We took the shuttle bus from Terminal 1 to Terminal 3. (Unnecessary, because their pickup apparently services all three terminals.) We discovered quickly we were to wait for the van outside of Door 5 of Terminal 3. Here's the problem. The van didn't come for 40 minutes even though the hotel is only five minutes away by car. (The van is unmarked, which doesn't help.) The hotel responded to our repeated telephone calls by assuring us the van was "on its way" or "would arrive within five minutes" Both were lies. (There were perhaps 12 guests awaiting the van.) The irony is that the hotel is clearly visible from the terminal and is within a perhaps 15 minutes walk. Once at the hotel, there wasn't enough staff in place, and the staff that was there was incompetent, so that it took us another 20 minutes to check in, even though there was only one couple in front of us.

That said,the rooms are very new and rather nice. The internet was acceptably fast. The TV had at least 4 English language channels plus HBO. However, the hot water was never truly hot..

A tip. There is a window between the bathroom and the rest of the room. In the window are shades for privacy. However, the switch for those shades is hard to find. It's an unlabeled switch in the bathroom, next to the door.

The van from the hotel to the airport leaves every 30 minutes. That is stingy, considering that the terminal is less than 10 minutes away. What are they saving themselves for? Why not take people at their convenience, rather than the hotel's?

In short, if one is going to stay at this facility, arrive early and be prepared to take a taxi rather than wait for the van. Finally, don't believe a thing the hotel's staff says. By the way, check out the lobby, which is one of the most austere large rooms I have ever seen.

In short, I can't recommend a facility whose staff doesn't tell the truth.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_business_Mgr, General Manager at Langham Place, Beijing Capital Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we apologize for the service problems you experienced. We recognize the transport problem and to improve the visibility at the terminal our shuttle buses are currently being painted Pink with Langham Place clearly marked on them. We have also increased the trips to T3 they are now every 15 minutes. Once again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

I booked a 'single' room with breakfast and free internet included through a travel agent for £100. I emailed them about where to find their shuttle bus, and they arranged for me to be met on arrival with a name sign by a helpful staff member, who saw me onto the (otherwise empty) bus. The ride took only ten minutes. The hotel is stylish, new and very clean, and my room was, for the money, magnificent - huge and pleasantly furnished. The staff were smiling and efficient, and the breakfast was very good. I can't praise this place enough, and I hope they get lots of guests (the place seemed a bit empty when I was there). This is a real review, by the way - I just couldn't find anything to criticize!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed at Langham for one night only due to a layover. We knew the hotel was just outside the airport, within walking distance. Unfortunately, no one at the airport understood English. Only when we pointed at a large sign “LANGHAM PLACE” to the clerk at the tourist information desk they understood what we were looking for and in broken English directed us to Gate B5. We went downstairs to gate B5 and another bus company employee could not understand us. We walked outside and saw small buses. Fortunately for us one of them was from Hilton and the driver in broken English told us to wait here for a shuttle from Langham. He left. 10 minutes later he returned and saw us waiting. He offered to call the hotel for us. Fortunately, I had the number and a phone which worked in China and just called the hotel myself to request a shuttle. It was not easy, but the operator understood me and the bus arrived in few minutes. Unless you speak Chinese, I suggest having somebody to write in Chinese the name of the hotel.
We were greeted at the hotel as VIPs. The hotel is brand new. It opened only few weeks ago. It is built with good taste; the decorations and furniture are superb. We had a feeling we were the only guests staying there. The hallways were empty. There was nobody in the reception area except for many employees, all of them trying to help us and understand our questions.
Our room was large, with beautiful linens, a desk, flat screen TV, a couch. Bathroom had a glass wall separating it from the room. It had a modern free standing tub, a separate rain shower head, wall mounted Geberit toilet, and a hair dryer. There were 2 robes and 2 sets of slippers. There was a speaker with volume control in the bathroom not to miss anything on TV. The hotel provided a shampoo, conditioner and a shower gel. There was no body cream.
We had a tea pot and a coffee maker. Our room had two large mirrors.
We arrived shortly before 10pm and were hungry. The reception clerk told us the restaurants were closed except for a bar. We went to the bar where we learned that the Chinese restaurant and the coffee shop were still open. The bar had pizza, salads and drinks. We checked the coffee shop. It had extensive buffet selection. Amazing, with no guests at the hotel….
We ordered at the Chinese restaurant for room delivery, since it was 10pm and they were closing. Everybody was extremely polite and tried to do their best. The only difficulty was the language barrier. The room had a safe deposit box and a minibar. The telephone looked like a mini computer. You can use to access the hotel services, information, check town directories, ask for help, set up a wake up call,
We asked about the shuttle to the airport for our next day departure. It runs every 30 minutes beginning 6:30am.
Breakfast was not included in our rate and cost 188 RMB plus tax (US $32) per person.
There was internet (ethernet connection) and Wi_Fi available for a fee.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie Z, Public Relations Manager at Langham Place, Beijing Capital Airport, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Stefanie Zhou, Communications Coordinator at Langham Place Beijing Capital Airport,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for posting your review.

We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langham Place, Beijing Capital Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, Beijing Capital Airport

Address: No.1 Erjing Road, Terminal 3, Capital International Airport, Beijing 100621, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Capital International Airport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Beijing
#22 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#23 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#45 Family Hotel in Beijing
#319 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Langham Place, Beijing Capital Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step off your plane at Beijing's Capital Airport, and within minutes Langham Place will take you from feeling frazzled to totally fab. Are you after a stylish room or spacious suite? We've got 372 of them. Looking for a fun dining experience? Be tempted by our five modern restaurants and bars. Want easy access to Beijing's key spots? We're mere minutes from the Capital Airport, New China International Exhibition Centre and the city hub, and only 45 minutes from the must-see Forbidden City and Tian'anmen Square. Wanting to stay wired, in the loop and online? Our tech-tastic facilities keep you connected around the clock. Once you touch down, put your feet up. You're only minutes from Beijing's vibrant new destination hotel. And when you bid us a fond farewell, your departure gate is as close as next door. Request Id ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Langham Place, Beijing Capital Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Place Beijing Capital Airport Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langham Place, Beijing Capital Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.