We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to see the Wall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beijing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall
Yingbeigou Village, Beijing 101405, China (Huairou Scenic Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 548 Beijing B&B and Inns
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place to see the Wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

The place is great, very trendy looking, all eco-powered apparently.
The rooms are fantastic, with huge picture windows that look out on the wall and the mountains. Views that you (almost) can't buy! There a 2 minor niggles with the rooms, firstly the shower has a limited amount of hot water (I think it's the eco-power and as having a long hot shower is my ecological black-spot), I was a bit disappointed when the heat ran out - as was my wife when she wanted to get a shower as well! Secondly, the bathroom area is a kind of raised area behind the sleeping bit, with a low wall separating the two. While it may look cool to have no door on the toilet (with one of the best views in the world probably), it is not great for modesty preservation, so I'd ask the owners to think about adding some doors.
The only other thing that the hotel got wrong was our arrival and check in. It was cold and dark when we got here and were made to stand outside for a long time, firstly at the registration area while our passport details were taken, and then again OUTSIDE the bar/restaurant while out payment was taken. That could all have been done inside, or after we'd go to our room. So come on guys, think a bit more about that.
That aside, the staff were all super-friendly, helpful and knowledgable. The bar snacks (only snacks, no 'proper meal' service at the Brickyard) were amazing, The nachos in particular were super and we found ourselves talking a lot with the staff and getting on well with them.
Breakfasts are quite good by China standards and the home made breads and jams are pretty amazing.
There is a free transport service between the Brickyard and the Schoolhouse (a sister hotel). The Schoolhouse does have a more extensive menu and I'd recommend eating there if you want western style food and good wine.
One thing to be aware of is that the skylight and large picture window don't have curtains, so if you need it dark to sleep, you'll have to take advantage of the complimentary eye masks that are thoughtfully provided. However, you may also find your sleep disturbed at around 7.30am by either building type work, or some kind of announcement over the village tannoy system. Now, you may very well be wanting to get up an make an early beeline for the wall, but if you are looking forward to a lie in, this will be a disappointment.
Overall, I'd recommend the place, especially for a bit of peace and quiet and relaxation near the Great Wall. I think it'll be even better when there are spa facilities open, as a nice massage after the big climbs up to, then along the wall would have been just perfect. The Wall climbing itself was great and in late October, we had fantastic autumn colours in the trees.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    36
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
44
76
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Very calm, friendly, great rooms with view on the Great Wall, beautiful garden where also kids can play and the parents can read a book and having coffee, hiking trails just next to the hotel, possibility to hike up to the Great Wall, without many other tourists. Just a perfect weekend at the Great Wall!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

The Brickyard is a really special place. It is a little pricey, espcially by Chinese standards, but if you are willing to pay the extra it is well worth it. Our room was fitted with 20ft high windows at the end of the bed that looked straight out on to the mountains and the great wall itself. The bathroom was open plan with a wonderful shower and a very interesting toilet.....
The location is great, tucked away in a small village just away from the more touristy Mutianyu but for less than $10 the hotel staff arranged a taxi to take us to the wall and wait for us whilst we explored. For a few days of Great wall site seeing it really is the most perfect place.

The staff were extremely helpful and courtious and this only added to the enjoyment of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

It is great: big rooms stylishly decorated, spotlessly clean, lovely garden, lovely bar witch resembles with a library (you’ll find lot of books and games), deliciously breakfast, very helpful staff and last but not least, a fantastic view: each room has a wall of glass facing the mountains and balcony. As location, it’s about 10 minutes ride from the entry to the Great Wall and 2 minutes walking from a lovely chestnuts hill.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

What a perfect contrast to Beijing. Only 60 miles north of the city and a world apart. We spent a perfect weekend hiking the Great Wall, eating really well (see my reviews of The Schoolhouse, and the Xiaolumian Noodle Restaurant), reading, having a drink and playing games in the Inn's lounge where the wonderful breakfast buffet was served every morning.

We wanted to experience life in a small Chinese village but we didn't want to venture too far from the Beijing airport since we only had a weekend to spare. The folks at the Brickyard Inn made it as easy as possible: quick, clear responses to all my emails, they sent a car to pick us up at our hotel in the city and had the same car take us to the airport on our day of departure (one hour away). We didn't need our own car - we were always offered a ride in the Inn's van while we were staying there (to the Great Wall and to dinner). And we loved strolling around the village where everyone was so friendly.

The Brickyard Inn is beautiful. Our bed was extremely comfortable and had a great view, the shower was excellent and we had wireless internet the whole time we were there. We left with a little bit of a feeling for life in a small Chinese village.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

I spent the most incredible weekend at an art workshop organized by the Brickyard Inn, as part of the Schoolhouse complex, learning from the world class painter, Gregory Burns, waking up in the morning overlooking the Great Wall of China from my beautiful room, eating delicious and healthy food from the Schoolhouse restaurant, and surrounded by the friendliest staff. You cannot ask for more.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

What a fabulous weekend away from Beijing. The Brickyard is such a beautiful surprise at the foot of the Great Wall. To have that view from your window as the sunsets and rises is brilliant. I truly look forward to going back many times.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall

Address: Yingbeigou Village, Beijing 101405, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Huairou Scenic Resort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 548 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickyard is a lush and private eco-retreat that incorporates the kilns and other buildings of a traditional glazed tile factory in a design which is "green" from the ground up. The 16 queen rooms all have private terraces and story-and-a-half window walls with spectacular views of the Great Wall. Wireless internet but no TVs. Complimentary breakfast buffet and coffee, soft drinks, and homemade cookies all day the Lodge, where casual meals and bar service are also offered. The Activity Center is fully-equipped for conferences. The Brickyard Spa is set in our four-season garden with lotus pond and yoga platform. Enjoy complimentary use of the Exercise Room and the Outdoor Jacuzzi (available May). Try a Chinese massage or relax in the Spa's Gold Suite with Great Wall view sauna, private bath, treatment room, and courtyard with outdoor shower and cold plunge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brickyard Eco Retreat At Mutianyu Great Wall Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall to your Saves list