We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sichuan 11 - excellent experience all round” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hutong Cuisine

Hutong Cuisine
35 Dengcao Hutong | Dongsi South Street, Dong Cheng District, Beijing 100009, China
010-84014788
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Hutong Cuisine like an insider
$69*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: cooking classes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sichuan 11 - excellent experience all round”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We did the Sichuan 11 morning class. We first met and did the market tour with Chungyi. She is a lovely person, speaks good English, has a great sense of humour and is a very good instructor. The market was interesting - she explained each section - certainly worth 100 rmp. The cooking class was very organised - room with large table for everyone to do prep and the kitchen has gas rings for everyone to cook their dishes. Very well strutted - you don't need to be a great cook to d this - she makes it easy no matter what level you are at. You can buy a beer if you get thirsty and the toilet facilities are westernised. I definitely recommend this. Reasonable good value for money - we had heaps to eat -5 dishes and I couldn't eat it all.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    11
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were all dissapointed. Chef shows you how to do the dish and than she leaves to wach tv, check her email. You are supposed to cook. When you ask a question she tells you check your recipe . We asked her to cook one dish and to eat it while it is still warm but she said that its better to eat in the end. Of course two dishes were completly cold when we stoped cooking the 3rd dish. The 4 dish she is doing by herself and you can only wach. We wanted to cook it as well but she refused. She also used half of the ingredients from the recepy so she made us a dish for 2 people which we were supposed to share between 5.
And maybye the most important: she made 2 dishes wchich were not tasty! One was delicious, one was good but the other 2 were poor. All of us love chinese cusine and we all participated in cooking class before and we expected something similar.This is not it.
The price is relatively high for china ( you can do cooking course in chengdu sichuan for 100rmb) . My advice - avoid.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Beijing Experience - Dim Sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked on the Dim Sum course with ChunYi and had a great time. The course cost Y260 and lasted around three hours. In that time we made sweet dim sum, BBQ pork Dim Sum which we were shown how to fry and steam and Wonton Soup.

ChunYi is very lively and helpful in both showing cooking techniques and explaining how to get the best flavour from the food. Her English is good and she could answer every question.

The Dim Sum we made was honestly the best we had in Beijing and the techniques learnt and takeaway recipes mean we will be able to make these at home. The kitchen is well equipped and you feel like you are having a lesson in someone's home, which provides a personal touch. A perfect way to spend an evening in Beijing.

You can also include a market tour before hand for Y100.

We made the deposit online, which ChunYi refunded and paid in full cash on the day as this was better for us and ChunYi.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best Experience in Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Everyone wants to experience the hutong, so they should definitely take Chunyi's class with the market tour!!! We wanted to pick our menu so we could learn to make our favorite green beans, but were willing to share with others, so Chunyi posted our menu and we met the nicest ex pat who is also from IL! Chunyi's home is lovely. We cut all our own ingredients and cooked our own dishes (unlike other places I read reviews on) at our own cooking station, and learned a ton. Would have taken another class if we had time!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Practical tips, a lot of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I did siumai and har gow in the spring so I decided to try a wok class this time. Again it was a lot of fun to cook with Chun Yi and three other persons who love cooking. Chun Yi is a good instructor, gave us a lot of practical tips on how to cut vegetables, how to "massage" meat etc. as we went. Simple dishes but delicious. She even showed us how to sharpen a cleaver.

We ate lunch outside in the courtyard. I didn't expect to be able to eat outside at this time of the year. Although the air was quite thick (Beijing air quality...), it was kind of nice. I warmly recommend the class to anyone interested in Chinese cooking.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hutong Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Hutong Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutong Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.