We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view from the top of Beijing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing to your Saves list
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Escape_Winter
Ranked #22 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 302 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great view from the top of Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a very new hotel, so it satisfies all of my high tech needs, for example an iPhone stereo player is a plus for my trip at the end of the day. The hotel's lobby is on 64th floor and it provides free snacks and drink to all the in-house guests, which is a rare treat in such a luxury hotel. The even better part is that I can just all my local business contacts to have a small meeting here at the awesome free meeting room with complimentary freshly brewed coffee. The room is spacious, with elegant and smart deco. I personally like the Nespresso capsule coffee machine in the room minibar very much. There's also an elevator which accesses to the China World Shopping Mall, which is quite convenient, but I didn't have much time to see it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Katherine W,

Thank you very much for sharing comments with us. I am glad to learn that your overall experience of staying with us was a positive one.

The Resident's Foyer (also the hotel lobby for all check-in and check-outs) on 64th floor is one of the unique features of China World Summit Wing. All the in-house guests can enjoy benefits including soft drinks, coffee, tea and fresh whole fruit throughout the day, as well as snack refreshments three times a day. And the complimentary usage of meeting room which you have experienced, is another benefit that guests can enjoy per day per room.

Thank you again for reviewing us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    75
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
24
12
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
366 reviews 366 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Don't come here alone like I did unless your good at making some connections in the bars downstairs. Excellent view I mean seriously. The hotels super overpriced like most things out in this area but it is worth it. I would stay again. And the beds are fantastic.

The food is top notch as well. I didn't have to run around in the middle of the night looking for street vendors to sell me mystery dumplings for once.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Chris S,

Thank you very much for the kind words and I am delighted to see you had the opportunity to experience our F&B outlets during your stay. Hope next time when you visit Beijing, China World Summit Wing could be your optimal choice again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My first visit to Beijing (though not to China), I was wondering what to expect. A somewhat complicated system of elevators and guest lobby at this hotel, meant that it wasn't the easiest to get around. Once in my room (7305) however, it was very spacious - good shower, (L'Occitane toiletries) plenty of closet space, well equipped (plenty of water, kettle, tea and and comfortable. The views would have been spectacular, but Beijing wasn't blessed with clear skies. The laundry service though well-priced, in some cases left the clothes smelling peculiar - make sure that they are well-aired. Breakfast was okay, nowhere near as good as the Mandarin - sometimes the hybrid mix of East and West works and sometimes it doesn't, the cooked to order option was better. Service was a bit hit and miss - plenty of people, but little common sense. Just deliver the luggage to the room, don't deliver a whole suite of messages telling me that Reception have my luggage (that'll be where I left it then). If I have to leave to go to meetings immediately, I want to come back and find my luggage waiting for me. Simple things, which add to the hassle of the visit if not done well.

PS. The Sky bar mixologists were inventive and excellent!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Tixall1,

thank you for taking the time and efforts in reviewing us. May I ask you to send me more details regarding the service flaws you experienced at your convenience? Your feedback is very important to us in ensuring all our services are exceeding guest expectations.

Meanwhile, for your information, in light of guest comments received over the past couple of months, such as yours, some changes have been made to the entrance and check in/out so as to reduce confusions. Now our GROs' in the lobby will direct you to the level 64, where all the check in and out's will be handled. The desk in the lobby will be solely entertaining luggage and transportation services. But you still need to take a separate elevator from level 64 to your room. This elevator is isolated from the public therefore can guarantee the privacy and security of our in-house guests.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Only stayed in Beijing for two nights and I have already fell in love with the city. It is no doubt the tallest building in town, which reminds me the same awesome night view of Hancock building in Chicago. The 80th floor bar is no doubt the best place to go at night. Awesome band playing and great cocktails.

If you are looking for a unforgettable fine dining experience, you have to go to the Grill 79 syeak house, which offers David Blackmore waygu. Get a medium rare, and you will not regret it.

The size of the room is not big, and I guess it because the hotel is in the city centre. I am impressed by the bathroom design.... All these floor to ceiling windows plus a big bath tube!!!! Awesome experience!

Room Tip: Premier Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Dorecy W,

thank you for staying with Shangri-La's China World Summit Wing and making reviews for us. We are glad to hear that you have spent time exploring the F&B outlets in our hotel during your stay. Indeed, the ATMOSPHERE on 80th floor is the tallest bar in Beijing, famous for the great cocktails and the unrivaled view. And our steakhouse Grill 79 on 79th floor is one of the top international hotel restaurants in Beijing, which we always strongly encourage our guests to try. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we sincerely wish to see you again soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Had a nice weekend with my family... The luxury Shangri-la hotel locating in the tallest building in Beijing and have an amazing view of the city. Staffs are professional and friendly, and no need to say the comfortable and spacious room, as well as the tasty breakfast. My son loves the swimming pool very much, which is on the 78th floor, and it makes you feel like you are swimming in 'purple cloud' (because the light is sort of blue and purple)! We will go again if have chance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Lynn S, thanks for staying with China World Summit Wing and spending time making reviews for us. We are glad to hear that you and your family had a nice weekend here. In case you might be interested, we will have summer packages with more benefits yet more competitive price for the coming summer vacation, which you could consider if you have the plan to spend the vacation in Beijing (for details please refer to our official website). We look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ub
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

our family of 5 (with 3 kids) stayed at this hotel overnight during our trip from Dubai for New Year and we really enjoyed it. The rooms are spacious even with an extra bed. The facilities are modern, and most importantly are functional, not just for design purposes, as it happens in some of the hotels. The bathroom was spacious with separate shower and a big jacussi where our two sons enjoyed bathing upon arrival after long flight. The view is great from 64th floor! or and the breakfast had good choice of chinese and european cuisine.

Slightly on an expensive side, but the quality does cost the money...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear hulan d, thanks very much for your review and we are glad to learn you and your family had a good time with us. The winter of Beijing is beautiful, when you visited Beijing last time. While summer in Beijing will have more fun! Maybe next time when planning summer vacation with the family you could also consider Beijing and staying with us. :) We sincerely look forward to having you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in 2012 for a work trip. The room and views were absolutely stunning (I faced the CCTV building), the staff were generally very helpful (except for when hailing taxis), and the morning breakfast buffet had great variety and service. The room staff were very helpful when I had any requirements during my long work hours in the hotel. Would definitely stay here again for business, but it is definitely located a bit further from tourist attractions - but given how cheap taxis are in Beijing - it is not a problem. This hotel also had one of the best gyms I've ever been to in a hotel (it was on the 79th floor!) and the 80 floor bar is also worthwhile visiting (though the drink prices are a bit steep). My main tip would be that a lot of taxi drivers had issues finding this place, so it's important to have the address written out in Chinese, or have the hotel's number on hand for directions.

Room Tip: All rooms have amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear LinYJ, thanks very much for staying with us and your encouraging review. We have noticed that our guests have difficulties with hailing taxis from the hotel (particularly during rush hours)/taxi drivers have difficulties with finding the hotel location, so this year we have made detailed plans to solve this problem, to increase our awareness among taxi drivers and let them get familiar with the routes to our hotel. I'm sure that next time when you stay with us you will see the improvements. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing

Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Beijing
#8 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#16 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#23 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#30 Family Hotel in Beijing
#370 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China World Summit Wing, Beijing comprises 278 guest rooms and suites, four designer restaurants, two bars and a lounge. Accommodations with guest room sizes averaging 65 square metres are the most spacious in the city. The hotel also houses the city's highest spa retreat with CHI, The Spa - Shangri-La's signature spa brand - on level 77. Most of the city's attractions, such as the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square, are within a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China World Summit Wing Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.