We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, fantastic dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travel In Style
Ranked #10 of 5,310 hotels in Beijing
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great view, fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Only stayed in Beijing for two nights and I have already fell in love with the city. It is no doubt the tallest building in town, which reminds me the same awesome night view of Hancock building in Chicago. The 80th floor bar is no doubt the best place to go at night. Awesome band playing and great cocktails.

If you are looking for a unforgettable fine dining experience, you have to go to the Grill 79 syeak house, which offers David Blackmore waygu. Get a medium rare, and you will not regret it.

The size of the room is not big, and I guess it because the hotel is in the city centre. I am impressed by the bathroom design.... All these floor to ceiling windows plus a big bath tube!!!! Awesome experience!

Room Tip: Premier Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Dorecy W,

thank you for staying with Shangri-La's China World Summit Wing and making reviews for us. We are glad to hear that you have spent time exploring the F&B outlets in our hotel during your stay. Indeed, the ATMOSPHERE on 80th floor is the tallest bar in Beijing, famous for the great cocktails and the unrivaled view. And our steakhouse Grill 79 on 79th floor is one of the top international hotel restaurants in Beijing, which we always strongly encourage our guests to try. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we sincerely wish to see you again soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    59
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
20
11
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Had a nice weekend with my family... The luxury Shangri-la hotel locating in the tallest building in Beijing and have an amazing view of the city. Staffs are professional and friendly, and no need to say the comfortable and spacious room, as well as the tasty breakfast. My son loves the swimming pool very much, which is on the 78th floor, and it makes you feel like you are swimming in 'purple cloud' (because the light is sort of blue and purple)! We will go again if have chance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Lynn S, thanks for staying with China World Summit Wing and spending time making reviews for us. We are glad to hear that you and your family had a nice weekend here. In case you might be interested, we will have summer packages with more benefits yet more competitive price for the coming summer vacation, which you could consider if you have the plan to spend the vacation in Beijing (for details please refer to our official website). We look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ub
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

our family of 5 (with 3 kids) stayed at this hotel overnight during our trip from Dubai for New Year and we really enjoyed it. The rooms are spacious even with an extra bed. The facilities are modern, and most importantly are functional, not just for design purposes, as it happens in some of the hotels. The bathroom was spacious with separate shower and a big jacussi where our two sons enjoyed bathing upon arrival after long flight. The view is great from 64th floor! or and the breakfast had good choice of chinese and european cuisine.

Slightly on an expensive side, but the quality does cost the money...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear hulan d, thanks very much for your review and we are glad to learn you and your family had a good time with us. The winter of Beijing is beautiful, when you visited Beijing last time. While summer in Beijing will have more fun! Maybe next time when planning summer vacation with the family you could also consider Beijing and staying with us. :) We sincerely look forward to having you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in 2012 for a work trip. The room and views were absolutely stunning (I faced the CCTV building), the staff were generally very helpful (except for when hailing taxis), and the morning breakfast buffet had great variety and service. The room staff were very helpful when I had any requirements during my long work hours in the hotel. Would definitely stay here again for business, but it is definitely located a bit further from tourist attractions - but given how cheap taxis are in Beijing - it is not a problem. This hotel also had one of the best gyms I've ever been to in a hotel (it was on the 79th floor!) and the 80 floor bar is also worthwhile visiting (though the drink prices are a bit steep). My main tip would be that a lot of taxi drivers had issues finding this place, so it's important to have the address written out in Chinese, or have the hotel's number on hand for directions.

Room Tip: All rooms have amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear LinYJ, thanks very much for staying with us and your encouraging review. We have noticed that our guests have difficulties with hailing taxis from the hotel (particularly during rush hours)/taxi drivers have difficulties with finding the hotel location, so this year we have made detailed plans to solve this problem, to increase our awareness among taxi drivers and let them get familiar with the routes to our hotel. I'm sure that next time when you stay with us you will see the improvements. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Being the tallest building in Beijing, you get a great view of the city. The room is spacious, luxurious and comfortable. Their bathroom is also huge and grand, offering a new set of L'Occetaine amenities daily. You will feel pampered here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Snowwies, thank you for choosing Shangri-la's China World Summit Wing. We are glad to know that you had a good stay with us and we sincerely look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg,Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is an exquisite hotel in a great area of Beijing China. Rooms, service, and hospitality tops.
We love Shangrila Hotels and this one is a "flagship". You are greeted at the ground floor and taken to 64 where the concierge staff stays. The food and drinks were wonderful there and the staff was MOST helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear robertandlynell,

Thank you very much for the compliments and we are delighted to hear that we have another satisfied guest. Sincerely look forward to having you again in the near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

You certainly get a birds eye view of the city from this hotel. Situated on the upper floors of one of the city's tallest buildings, you can survey the vastness of Beijing (that's if the pollution does not block it out completely - it's that bad at times). Arrival is a little disappointing, as the Reception and Lobby on the Ground Floor are more like an Office Block (which the rest of the building is). However, once you get up to the proper Reception on the 68th floor, the welcome is genuine and efficient. Guest rooms are large and well appointed, with everything you could possibly desire. Nespresso machines, iPod dock, complimentary WiFi and a big bathroom with lovely L'Occetaine amenities. Decor is austentatious luxury. A real stand out is the very well appointed gym and swimming pool - both with spectacular views (and equipment). The restaurant is also very good and there is a large lounge bar. Staff are courteous and helpful throughout. However there is an underlying theme that this is boring luxury. Yes, they've ticked all the boxes - but there is nothing memorable, or with an ounce of personality. With the views, they could have the best restaurant and bar in town - but bland is the polite word for what is on offer. This is a great hotel for visiting dignitaries and CEO's that don't look beyond the blacked out window of the limousine. If you are a real traveller, then maybe look elsewhere.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Globaladventure, thanks very much for your review. As the decor and facilities show, located at of the Central Business District of Beijing, China World Summit Wing is a typical 5-star business hotel. But it will only take you around 20-minute drive from the hotel to famous attractions like the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square, allowing you to escape from the hub of CBD to explore this historic city. Next time if you need any advice for city tour, please feel free to let our staffs know. I'm sure that you will find them very helpful. Thanks again for staying with us and we sincerely look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing

Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Beijing
#4 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#7 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#16 Family Hotel in Beijing
#25 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#374 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China World Summit Wing, Beijing comprises 278 guest rooms and suites, four designer restaurants, two bars and a lounge. Accommodations with guest room sizes averaging 65 square metres are the most spacious in the city. The hotel also houses the city's highest spa retreat with CHI, The Spa - Shangri-La's signature spa brand - on level 77. Most of the city's attractions, such as the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square, are within a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China World Summit Wing Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.