We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the sky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 4,968 hotels in Beijing
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Luxury in the sky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

You certainly get a birds eye view of the city from this hotel. Situated on the upper floors of one of the city's tallest buildings, you can survey the vastness of Beijing (that's if the pollution does not block it out completely - it's that bad at times). Arrival is a little disappointing, as the Reception and Lobby on the Ground Floor are more like an Office Block (which the rest of the building is). However, once you get up to the proper Reception on the 68th floor, the welcome is genuine and efficient. Guest rooms are large and well appointed, with everything you could possibly desire. Nespresso machines, iPod dock, complimentary WiFi and a big bathroom with lovely L'Occetaine amenities. Decor is austentatious luxury. A real stand out is the very well appointed gym and swimming pool - both with spectacular views (and equipment). The restaurant is also very good and there is a large lounge bar. Staff are courteous and helpful throughout. However there is an underlying theme that this is boring luxury. Yes, they've ticked all the boxes - but there is nothing memorable, or with an ounce of personality. With the views, they could have the best restaurant and bar in town - but bland is the polite word for what is on offer. This is a great hotel for visiting dignitaries and CEO's that don't look beyond the blacked out window of the limousine. If you are a real traveller, then maybe look elsewhere.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Globaladventure, thanks very much for your review. As the decor and facilities show, located at of the Central Business District of Beijing, China World Summit Wing is a typical 5-star business hotel. But it will only take you around 20-minute drive from the hotel to famous attractions like the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square, allowing you to escape from the hub of CBD to explore this historic city. Next time if you need any advice for city tour, please feel free to let our staffs know. I'm sure that you will find them very helpful. Thanks again for staying with us and we sincerely look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    52
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
18
8
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is perfect by its location, by its staff, by its view (in spite of the continuous smog), by its rooms.... Well by everything! It is the tallest building in Beijing, has a top bar with an amazing view, and the rooms are so, so, so good!!!! Always is a big pleasure to stay at any Shangri-la. They make you feel at home :)

Room Tip: Any room is great, since the rooms start at 64th floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear JoaoCardosoFernandes, thanks very much for your review and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. Sincerely hope that China World Summit Wing can be your 'home' again for your next stay in Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Despite the tremendous air pollution and poor visibility preventing you to take advantage of one one the reasons you choose this hotel, you will find enough reasons to rate with high marks this place. Of course when Shangri La is associated, you know you will be pampered and it is as always a symbol of high standard of service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear ZeBanaco, thanks for your writing and we really appreciate the compliments to China World Summit Wing. We very much hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has some really great people working for it and the accommodation is tremendous. They do the 5 Star things well like remembering your breakfast coffee order. In particular the red suited man on the ground floor who printed me out directions to a restaurant in another hotel 20 minutes away really did Shangri-la a good deed because I will remember it.

The hotel is not a walk to the main attractions but has a lot going for it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Aussie_Andrew, thanks very much for your comments and sharing the story with us. We are so glad to hear that our staff was able to be of assistance to you during your recent stay at China World Summit Wing. We really hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

There are now, finally, a few world-class hotels in Beijing. I would rank China World Summit Wing the top for its offering the best combination of luxury comfort, centrally convenient location for both business and leisure and well-trained staff.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the TV station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear MrApril, thanks very much for your review. It's our great pleasure to have you. We sincerely hope that China World Summit Wing can be your 'home' again for your next stay in Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I recently stayed on the 70th Floor on a business trip and I have to say this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. OK it is a shame about the well documented air quality in Beijing but once inside everything was fresh and very clean. The room was huge with a bathroom equally as big.

I was very warmly greeted by Angela who was a real credit to the Hotel. I used the very well equipped gym twice during my stay and largely had the place to myself. The machines and free weights were all Life Fitness and in excellent condition, there was a very good swimming pool as well.

Food was overall very good, if a little pricey.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Beijing.

Room Tip: Room 7018 had a spectacular view of the city, when the sun finally pierced through the gloom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear CBGL2008,
It's our pleasure to have you and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. Hope to see you again soon in the near future. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I must preface this review by stating that I stayed at the hotel during one of the Capital's worst smog weeks. Despite not being able to see further than a few hundred metres from 80 stories up, it was a great hotel.

The airport pick up was efficient and the driver was friendly and informative.

There was a slight hiccup on check-in with a special room bonus package offered through Cathay Pacific, but Angela from the Guest Relations team was able to efficiently sort it out. Cheers Angela!

The room was very plush, and the sofa was logically placed in front of the tv. Due to the hazardous air outside, I dined in my room for most meals. All were excellent.

The breakfast area was calm and efficient, and the Atmosphere bar on L80 had a great vibe with good music.

The hotel is connected to a large shopping centre, with access to two subway lines, making it convenient when taxis are thin on the ground.

The gym and spa were the best I've seen in ages - and I travel a lot.

I will stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear jetlagwoofer, thanks very much for your review. We are glad to hear that you found our staff helpful and enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing

Also Known As:
China World Summit Wing Hotel Beijing
China World Summit Wing Hotel
Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Beijing
#10 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#40 Family Hotel in Beijing
#395 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China World Summit Wing, Beijing comprises 278 guest rooms and suites, four designer restaurants, two bars and a lounge. Accommodations with guest room sizes averaging 65 square metres are the most spacious in the city. The hotel also houses the city's highest spa retreat with CHI, The Spa - Shangri-La's signature spa brand - on level 77. Most of the city's attractions, such as the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square, are within a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.