We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotel I have ever lived....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travel In Style
Ranked #7 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best hotel I have ever lived....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Been to a few hotels, shanghai-la is one of the best, nice view, can see most of Beijing when there is no air pollution of course. Good service, great food, love the bar....

There is a restaurant on floor 80th? Don't remember, great steak. Can invite friends to 80th for afternoon tea, and in the evening , same floor, can enjoy fine wine with live band... You can have everything you want in here..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Summer L, many thanks to your review and appreciate your good comments to our steakhouse Grill 79 which is on the 79th floor. We look forward to seeing you and your friends again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    57
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
19
9
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goppingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

For the past 2 years I have been staying at this hotel often. Value for money is unbeatable. The rooms are very clean, the service is perfect! The staff is always very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet leaves nothing to be desired. Also the service at the restauarant "Grill 79" and the quality - top notch!
Who here does not feel comfortable - inconceivable!

Room Tip: level 72, 74 because there is no need to change the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very very kind staff. Very pleasure stay. Nice gym and nice pool. Only problem is a bit far from subway station and the mainly atractions. Restaurant Stay is a 5 star restaurant and absolutelly amazing!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This China World Summit Wing hotel is not to be confused with the older China World hotel nearby. When spoken in Chinese, its discernable although many cab drivers would still get confused - this is known as the "Guu Mao Da Jiu Dian" while the other is known as "Zhong Guo Da Jiu Dian" - to make it more confusing both are being operated by the Shangri La group. I was told by the doorman that the only drawback to the location was the lack of available cab drivers that knew how to get into the driveway proper - but everytime I stood out I did not have any issues getting a taxi within 10-15 mins. They had even advised me to wait indoors while they helped me to get a cab.

I was dropped off at the office wing but no problem I cut through the block and was told the check in was on the 64th floor. The elevator was fast, very fast and it took less than 60 secs to reach the reception (I timed it). My check in was speedy and they helped me bring my luggage up to the 75th floor - which was a really good height looking over Chang An Street. The view on a good day (when Beijing is not covered in smog) is pretty astounding - I had a really good view after it snowed one day.

The hotel room was cosy, nothing less than what I would expect from a member of the Shangri La group, and I was able to adjust the temperature to suit me (it was snowing outside and about -6 deg C). Being a Jade member I had some amenities provided for such as coke, beer and cup noodles. The toilet and shower was also segregated which was a good touch for those staying with their other halves.

Breakfast was on the 79th floor which is also open as a steakhouse in the evening - it was good but wasn't quite as good as the other Shangri La hotels I had been in Shanghai / Beijing - I guess I missed the open kitchen concept. However I was able to order my usual La Mian and omelettes if I wanted to.

Do cater for about 5 mins to get from your room to the lobby though cos of the walking and changing of elevators. I was also told by the staff that the rooms facing Chang An street were the quieter ones because of the proximity from the elevators.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Chang An Street are known to be quieter ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

First visit to this hotel for a business meeting: what a treat! You won't be disappointed from the minute you check-in to the great room, to the views (wherever you are), to the great bar on top of the hotel. Service in Asia is very good in general, so after a few years you start to be used to it. In that case, they reached another level. Butler service for suite room, attention to details at the bar or at breakfast, whatever you need, they will find a solution. It is a fantastic hotel to impress your guests, but also very nice place to get good jazz music in the evening. The singer this week was fantastic and very entertaining. Unfortunatley, some locals have hard time with alcohol, so even in such a place, be preapred to have your neighbors falling down quite drunk...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

From the moment the hotel rep picked me up 10m after exiting the plane i knew the hotel was going to be something special! VIP treatment through immigration, baggage collection and customs to a mercedes limo with wifi, all rather impressive. Met at the hotel door by a lovely lady who whisked me through an impressive lobby straight into a waiting lift, she talked me slowly through the amenities in perfect english as we climbed to the 64 floor. We drifted past the guest lounge and into another lift up to the floor, the room was stunning. An amazing view of Beijing, beautiful furniture and a fully appointed room. Check- in was done within 30 seconds of being in the room and she was gone, with bags arriving 60 seconds later. The huge bed and a selection of pillows was literally a dream. Housekeeping and room service were prompt , courteous and special. I would totally recommend this hotel if you like being spoilt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Have stayed here many times now. This is my choice whenever staying in Beijing. Summit Wing is in tower 3 (not to be confused with the much older China World Hotel in tower 1). The hotel is new (less than 1 year since it opened?). Staff are fantastic. The rooms are terrific, good size and with modern Chinese/English fusion decor. There is a brilliant spa, gym and pool in the building and the hotel links with the massive China World complex with cinemas, ice rink, shops etc. You could make the mistake of just staying in the China World complex it is so vast. I rate this hotel as one of the best that I have stayed in anywhere. It leaves the standards in Australian and many Hong Kong hotels for dead. Im not sure what constructive "criticism" I would make of this hotel. It is just so polished in almost every way (with about the most comfortable bed you could have).

Room Tip: Rooms start on 64th floor and above. All the rooms have good views of Beijing but if you like modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing

Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Beijing
#4 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#4 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#15 Family Hotel in Beijing
#29 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#387 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China World Summit Wing, Beijing comprises 278 guest rooms and suites, four designer restaurants, two bars and a lounge. Accommodations with guest room sizes averaging 65 square metres are the most spacious in the city. The hotel also houses the city's highest spa retreat with CHI, The Spa - Shangri-La's signature spa brand - on level 77. Most of the city's attractions, such as the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square, are within a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China World Summit Wing Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.