We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Business Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 5,311 hotels in Beijing
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Stunning Business Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for business in November for 3 nights. Wonderful hotel with all the facilities you would expect but with stunning views of Beijing included. Only issue was when I had a spa treatment the staff member wanted to escort me to my room as I changed from my suit and she was worried I would steal the coat hanger. Very insulting but not a true reflection of the hotel.

Room Tip: Bring your own coat hanger to the spa if you want to change clothes
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    63
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
20
11
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco, ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stay here often on business. Hotel is very new with state of the art facilities. Staff is very well good and quite responsive, especially when compared with other chinese hotels. As compared to the park Hyatt, which is also an excellent choice, the china summit wing is newer and closer to offices in the china world complex. It does not have a club in the same caliber as Xiu in the park Hyatt and also not as easy to get a taxi. Water pressure in the bathrooms of the summit wing also could be higher. Gym has great cardio equipment but the weights leave a bit to be desired.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed on a business floor and was delighted with the check in. A staff member met me at the door, escorted me to my room & completed all the registration at the desk in my room.
The check out was just as easy.
Clean, quiet, efficient, friendly staff, great amenities, terrific views & a choice a outstanding restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
618 helpful votes 618 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Ten years ago, mainland hotels caught up with their equivalents in HK/Sing in terms of 'hardware'; however, the 'software' (service) still left much to be desired. Now, with the likes of China World Summit Wing, Park Hyatt, they have almost caught up...staff very eager to please. Should change the name - impossible to remember and confusing, as there is a Summit World hotel in same neighhbourhood (same Shangri-La group).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We visited the China World Summit Wing just a few months after it had opened in 2010, and just about everything went wrong. For a high-end hotel in a high-end chain, it was clearly not ready for prime time.

We returned for two nights in October, 2012. What a change! The facility itself was flawless, but most importantly the service was now at a very high standard. I had arranged for an airport pick-up and I was met at the jetway by a pleasant fellow who guided me through immigration and led me to the waiting Mercedes. A nice cool towel and cold orange juice awaited me in the back seat and the trip to the hotel, despite some slow traffic, was effortless. I was met at the hotel entrance and taken directly up to the suite. (The new electronic/iPad-like check in is very cool!) Everything was in order.

Throughout the two-day stay everything worked and the staff always responded to any requests with a smile and a can-do attitude. Room service was excellent, and there's a wide selection for breakfast. I should also mention that the beds are the most comfortable I've ever experienced in a hotel.

All-in-all, this second experience was like staying at a completely different hotel from our visit two years ago. From this visit, I'd say that the China World Summit Wing is now clearly up to the standard of an elite Shanghai-La Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is located in the business district of Beijing. We stayed on the 74th Floor, and the view of Beijing was spectacular :). The hotel is right on top of a shopping mall (The China World Trade Shopping Centre), but everything is very pricey. Very close to subway, and avoid taxi during rush hours because traffic in Beijing is worst than New York City. There is a great buffet at Kerry's Kitchen, located at Kerry Centre Hotel (2 minutes walk from the Summit), but it is only available for lunch.

Room Tip: Upon check-in always try to ask for top floors and usually the front desk would give it to you if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

First of all, my driver dropped me off at the China World, which is the same but different wing. When I asked for assistance to bring my bags over the the summit wing, the answer was "NO", they can't this, and when I insisted, and requested to speak to the duty manager, then reluctantly, they sent a bell boy to help me. It was almost 4:30pm, and told my room was not ready. OK, so I went for my meeting, and requested them to put my bag in the room when it is ready. Finally, got my room, and was told they will send my bags up. OK. So I waited for 10 minutes in my room, and I lost my patience and called the front desk. The bag then came after the call. I tried to polish my shoes, and found the sponge was used before, see photo. Ah, one more thing, if you think you're staying high up and you did not need to wear anything in the room, you're wrong. One morning, there was stranger outside cleaning the window. But there is no prior notice from the hotel management!

Room Tip: Make sure you close your curtain, as you won't know when the stranger outside the window will co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing

Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Beijing
#5 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#9 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#27 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#30 Family Hotel in Beijing
#376 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China World Summit Wing, Beijing comprises 278 guest rooms and suites, four designer restaurants, two bars and a lounge. Accommodations with guest room sizes averaging 65 square metres are the most spacious in the city. The hotel also houses the city's highest spa retreat with CHI, The Spa - Shangri-La's signature spa brand - on level 77. Most of the city's attractions, such as the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square, are within a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China World Summit Wing Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.