We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW - I didnt think it could get this good in Beijing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travel In Style
Ranked #7 of 5,118 hotels in Beijing
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“WOW - I didnt think it could get this good in Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

WOW WOW WOW - I was staying at the main China World Hotel and was very unhappy with it. Happened to walk around the corner the morning after I checked in and saw the "Summit Wing". I went in to ask if it was the same hotel - it is affiliated but not the same I think. They were extremely helpful in contacting the China World Hotel and moving me across to the Summit Wing. I paid less for a standard room than I was paying at for a larger room at the other hotel. The rooms start on the 49th (?) floor. They are in a modern Chinese style - a combination of English and Chinese - very plush and Luze. There is a beautfiul Guest lounge on the reception floor (49th?) with a lovely library. A great place to host guests. The breakfast on the top floor (80th floor I think) is fabulous. Top quality. Service at the hotel was amazing. I see that this hotel is rated 49th of Beijing hotels. That must be because it is only new. I wont be surprised to see it climb to the Top 5 soon. This is the place to stay for me for high end luxe rooms, great service and a great location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    57
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
20
11
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

Have been to BJ several times on business. Last time stayed @ Fairmont and befor at St. Regis, while those were both great properties I was blown away by the CWH Summit Wing.

Amazing location, beautiful lobby(s), huge bathrooms with showers big enough to hold board meetings in, top floor restaurant/lounge area is spectacular. Rooms had everything you'd expect but the differenence is that you wake up facing Beijing and the forbidden city. One of the real selling points is also the gym/pool area. Has to be one on par or better than any I've ever seen at a hotel with infinity edge that pool that ends over BJ's skyline.

Would compare this hotel to the Four Seasons in HK or the Peninsula in Shanghai and suggest it might even be better.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

One of the taller hotels in Beijing in the CBD (close to Kerry Center, etc.). Great view when no pollution although outside windows could be cleaner.

Very nice rooms and service. Minor issues - room included ironing board but nor iron - easily solved by calling housekeeping. Also hair dryer kept on shorting out. Again, easily fixed, but for a 5-star hotel, shouldn't have these minor issues.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

hotel is will located and with walking from subway or main street. its tallest building in Beijing. so you never cam miss it. rooms are super classics and nice. with perfect mattress. amazing swimming pool. they have stereo music underwater. first ever to try. i enjoy swimming pool very much.
Restaurant 79 is not that wooow. but on 4th floor very nice Chinese restaurant. club floor is great for all time. you will enjoy it always.

Room Tip: some suites have direct acces from 1st floor. i think 74floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to go for Chinese New Year, and came across this hotel primarily because it was tall. In fact the lowest rooms are on floor 64 in the tallest building in Beijing. But it isn't just about the height...
On checking in we asked for a non smoking king facing west, for a view of Forbidden city. Sadly there were non available and after lots of checking we went for an upgrade to grand room (corner suite) for 350RMB giving us views both south and west. The room and views were pretty special (a rare low smog day), you can even have a bath and look out over the city.
We looked at the restaurants in the hotel for food and they were prohibitively expensive, fortunately room service was more reasonable. In the residents lounge on the 64th floor there is also some complimentary drinks and nibbles - a nice touch.
Since it was a family break, we made use of the pool with our daughter which was also amazing - intinity pool overlooking the city.
Finally, breakfast was also outstanding (and again fairly expensive) with a selection of freshly prepared hot items as well as the usual pastries and Chinese fare.
All in all this hotel is pretty expensive but it really is something special. They should definitely change the name though, to properly distinguish it from China World hotel, which is not even in the same building.

Room Tip: Get a view west or north for best city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I think this hotel really gives you a good feeling while beeing in one of the most conflicting (old and modern) and growing cities of Asia. It`s a quiet place, but still perfectly situated. I went there twice till now and enjoyed the views from the room and especially from the Atmosphere Bar on Level 80. This place is unbelievable. I found the price reasonable enough to go twice. Unfortunately I haven`t tried the Restaurants yet. The staff was nice and the rooms were the best you can expect in a Shangri-La Hotel, def. much better than in Kowloon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The rooms are excellent, even the smallest ones are well appointed with a large bath and rain shower. The bed was very comfortable and the details in general were well thought out - electrical outlets that don't require adapters, easy access to lights, automatic curtains, TV that easily accepts Aux input from my iPad, Nespresso machine, lots of bottled water even for the tea kettle, iPod dock that is new enough to charge the iPhone 4S. Service was friendly although the English isn't up to standard and there were some delays and difficulties with Checkin. Breakfast spread was excellent. Dual lift lobby system was a little annoying. Free wireless internet everywhere. Lobby was a bit difficult to find for taxi drivers, not many knew where the main entrance to the hotel was although they all knew the office entrance (Guo Mao San Qi in Pinyin)

Room Tip: XX09 series rooms have great morning sun and unblocked views of the CCTV complex and the Eastern par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing

Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Beijing
#3 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#4 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#16 Family Hotel in Beijing
#24 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#389 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China World Summit Wing, Beijing comprises 278 guest rooms and suites, four designer restaurants, two bars and a lounge. Accommodations with guest room sizes averaging 65 square metres are the most spacious in the city. The hotel also houses the city's highest spa retreat with CHI, The Spa - Shangri-La's signature spa brand - on level 77. Most of the city's attractions, such as the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square, are within a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Ctrip DaoDao so you can book your Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China World Summit Wing Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.