We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience with great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of My Beiping Garden Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added My Beiping Garden Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
My Beiping Garden Boutique Hotel
No.15 Xiaoyuan Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing 100032, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 672 Beijing B&B and Inns
4.5 of 5 stars 93 Reviews
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience with great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Checked into this hotel in August 2012

Pros:
Very cozy, quiet atmosphere (about 7 rooms in total) with a nice family-owned feel
Accessible to train (around 7 minute walk)
Amazing service - they'll help you to find your way around Beijing, find tours, arrange a cab, etc.
I really liked the hutong/courtyard aesthetic

Cons:
Hard to find especially if you're arriving at night. You have to walk through a dim alley (residential area), which could be unnerving if you're traveling alone like me
Aside from this, it feels secure enough, and you're given RFID keycards for the main door plus your hotel room plus it has video surveillance as far as I can remember
Bed was a bit stiff. Bathroom was OK, but not really immaculate

Overall:
Very decent hotel with hands-on service. A bit confusing to get to at first, but should be okay if you call them or figured it out beforehand

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    27
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
34
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Good points: near to metro stations

Bad points:
1. Hard to find, down some side roads with rundown buildings.
2. The bathroom really smelt because of the drains. Must of been blocked. It certainly wasn't pleasant.
3. Overpriced compared to other accommodation we stayed in.
4. Lots of dust and dirt in the room. Sheets were clean but it doesn't look like the hoover or sweep. Bathroom had considerable mould.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of last month. I can honestly say it was everything I expected. I loved my room, the courtyard, it was quiet, the location great and very handy to railway station. Lily is everything and more then the comments already listed on here about her. The attention to detail, exceptional customer service. I really felt quite at home. I have no sense of direction (get lost walking around the block) so I did get quite confused trying to navigate my way to and from the property even with my lovely local friend who came to stay with me. So glad Vivienne was with me on our first day of arrival, there is no way I would have found it otherwise. In terms of value for money I would definately stay again. We did not eat breaky each day as our tours began quite early so I cannot comment on the food aspect but everything else was fantastic. Whenever I travel the main concerns for me are the cleanliness of rooms and I was very happy with everything at this property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Fish Inn is a small, real hutong courtyard hotel around the corner of Xisi en Xidan and pretty near the centre of the city. We enjoyed it very much although standard rooms are tiny. We moved to a great, double room during our stay. The staff is great, speaking English very well and very friendly and helpful. We had no problem at all to find the hotel. It's just two corners from the main road, Xisi.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are really small, so if you can afford it ask for the bigger room or the double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Very quiet and beautiful place in the traditional Beijing hutong. Not far from subway station (5-10 mins walk) and the staff is nice and helpful. Only drawback is that not most taxi drivers know the place, but its possible call the owners so they explain the driver how to go there.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Courtyard hotel for a great price. Has the feel and look of an B&B, but the breakfast is not included (only a few RMB, nothing special). Friendly service. As it can't be reached by car, it is sometimes hard to get a taxi driver who knows the place or wants to take you there (hard to explain that it's OK to drop you nearby, would suggest to give the driver an address on the main street.)
Room we had was rather small, but that was no problem for us, as our suitcases arrived a couple of days later, after we moved to another hotel (as planned - always like to try more hotels in one place) ... ;-s

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I just returned from a trip to Beijing and stayed 4 nights at the Fish in from September 2nd through the 5th.

Most of these things have been said in previous reviews but I'll summarize my thoughts too.

The hotel is in an excellent location. Short walk to Line 4 of the Subway and about in the middle of Xisi and Lingjing stations. Also, very easy to find a bus or a taxi on Xisi S St. You can also walk very easily over to the Financial district near Wudinghou St.

Staff is very friendly and helpful. I asked for a coffee cup to make my own coffee and they provided it happily.

The rooms are very small....there's no getting around that. And if you want to be picky, there are certainly things you can be critical about. But, in my opinion, for the money, the room was nice. Shower was clean and functional. Bathroom was nice. I'm used to a big soft mattress so I found the bed rather hard. However, I'm told it was typical for a Chinese mattress.

The hotel was very quiet during our stay there. Courtyard is nice and peaceful.

The hotel can be a little difficuly to find. A little advance planning is very helpful. The hutongs that you walk down to get to Fish Inn are nice and clean and felt very safe.

Overall, I would recommend the Fish Inn. I think it's an excellent value.

Room Tip: Have a map of the location when you try to find it. It can be helpful for the taxi driver too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to My Beiping Garden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Beiping Garden Boutique Hotel

Address: No.15 Xiaoyuan Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing 100032, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 672 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A typical courtyard hidden in small Hutong providing a relaxing escape from the hustle and bustle of modern Beijing.With only 7 rooms, Fish Inn takes care of your every need. Staying with us, you are experiencing the true lifestyle of Beijingers.All the 7 rooms are stylishly decorated and comfortably set up with modern convenience to ensure your stay enjoyable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your My Beiping Garden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fish Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Beiping Garden Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.