We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“make you feel in a small city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peking Garden Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Peking Garden Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Peking Garden Boutique Hotel
No.15 Xiaoyuan Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing 100032, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 912 Beijing B&B and Inns
Valencian Country, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“make you feel in a small city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stay here last winter and the experience was good. the location is great, near two metro stations, and bus (if you know the city) you can take just one bus and in 20 min. be in the Hutong tourist area.
Understanding that the rooms are adapted for western costumers with western toilets and A/C and heater in the floor. The rooms are small but for the price is ok an small room.
The people in the reception make you feel at home and give you good advice about shows and tours or transportation if (like me) you like to take adventure and get a little lost.

Room Tip: Print a map with the location to show to the taxi driver and give to the hotel the time for your arr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katoteos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Fish inn is located in Dayuan hutong in Beijing (their website says xiaoyuan...I'm not sure if that is an alternative spelling, but to get here you walk into what a sign clearly marks as Dayuan hutong). I stayed here with my girlfriend and we were looking to spend most time out of the hotel, checking out the sites and enjoying Beijing nights for the weekend.

The staff is very friendly and helpful here, although during the night shift we experienced some communication barrier. There is a 24 hour supermarket within walking distance and the subway stop is quite close by. Our room was more or less clean and the wifi works. The hot water is lovely and the a/c can keep you cool.These things made it a solid second choice.

I'll explain why I didn't find it to be a good first choice for our purposes. First and foremost, the location is shunned by taxis for some reason. The subway closes at 11 or 12 and so if you go out, you're at the whim of taxi drivers, about 4/5 of whom, for some reason, refuse to come to this area ( we hand them the direction card that we got at the hotel and they drive away). This has become very frustrating, mainly because we are out past that time and we are forced to bargain with unlicensed taxis...this is made worse when we are in an area where taxis are few and far between. We really have been dreading this and now plan our nights around being able to get back without too much headache.

While this hutong is indeed safe and quiet, you should not stay here if you are looking for nightlife hutongs such as nanluogo xijian. This is the local side of town and there's no nightlife within walking distance. We are 25 years of age so this was a concern for us, it might not be for you.

The room was very, very tiny. We paid about 350 RMB per night, including a 15% booking charge from booking.com (I'd recommend getting fish inns number and booking directly to save that fee), so I suppose that might not entitle one to a spacious room. If you have a lot of luggage expect it to be cramped (we stayed in room wood, which is one of five standard rooms; they have two bigger rooms called sun and moon if you need the space).

The room also smelled like odd cleaning chemicals. While it could be worse, we did invest in some incense to light when we got back to the room.

Overall, we leave without feeling robbed. We ultimately got what we came for, which is why I feel comfortable recommending it as a good back up. Otherwise I would recommend staying somewhere in dongcheng. If you want to be in the heart of the street action in a hostel with a breath taking lobby, check out Peking international youth hostel.

Jared

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jaredshiraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, TX
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Everything was professionally done, for example we got a nice email from the hotel welcoming us and giving us explicit instructions of how to get there (including a map and directions in chinese). I should say that finding the place is quite tricky, best would be to call even if you are with a taxi driver. There are 24-hour convenience stores and restaurants close by. Fish Inn was able to arrange for an excellent tour of great wall at Mutiyanyu, we were impressed by the cost and quality (expensive hotels charge an arm and a leg for pretty much the same deal, maybe in a fancier vehicle). The courtyard in the middle was fantastic and all our special needs were met. We went with a small child and it worked out great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lambda_by_mu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The inn was difficult to find first time (and second!) but the locals are happy to help point you in the right direction. The Chinese are very welcoming and friendly. We never felt threatened even when walking in dark alleys at night. The rooms are small and basic but clean with plentiful hot water. Very quiet at night considering the location is relatively central Beijing. The inn is 7min walk from underground which is cheap and easy to use. The best feature are the reception staff (especially Lily) who go beyond helpful organising show tickets, tours and train tickets (essential for our complicated journey). Excellent service. Oh and free wireless and a computer for guest use.

Room Tip: Show the map given (provided on booking) to a taxi driver to find the first time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GiantScotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Excellent value for money! Perfect location in Shanghai. Very friendly staff that spoke excellent English. The wi-fi in the lobby worked great. Eat breakfast at Yang's Fried Dumplings around the corner!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reeds_Around_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This hostel is very well located very near the metro and the shopping district of Beijing.
The rooms are small but nice! The first time we went to the hotel we were a bit concerned about the location! but it turned out fine!

Our only remark goes to the fact that the breakfast is just a joke. You get some bread and café.. for the tea you need to pay?? Doesn’t make any sense! For the price we pay you might as well include some tea!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveller z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Fish Inn is a little hotel off the main road; it was very clean and had a great homely feel to it. The rooms were a bit small - but since we were only there for 4 nights; it was alright as we were out from morning to late nite and just needed a place to shower & sleep. The bathroom could do with some improvement - there were quite a bit of cracks at the shower area; which was poorly repaired in a DIY manner with sealant.

The location is excellent - about a 10min walk to the nearest train station, with lots of shops opened for breakfast, as well as chinese dinner restaurants. The train line it on- Xisi Station, Line 4 is very near to the attractions, and very very convenient.
Lily, the front receptionist (who stays in) was very helpful and accommodating & spoke fair English. They also have a computer with internet access for guests to use.
I certainly would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nefuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#9 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#17 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New World Beijing Hotel
#11 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 5,545 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peking Garden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peking Garden Boutique Hotel

Address: No.15 Xiaoyuan Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing 100032, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 912 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A typical courtyard hidden in small Hutong providing a relaxing escape from the hustle and bustle of modern Beijing.With only 7 rooms, Fish Inn takes care of your every need. Staying with us, you are experiencing the true lifestyle of Beijingers.All the 7 rooms are stylishly decorated and comfortably set up with modern convenience to ensure your stay enjoyable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Peking Garden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fish Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing