We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner for solo traveler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Sesame Kitchen

Black Sesame Kitchen
No.3 Heizhima Hutong, Dongcheng District | Nanluoguxiang, Beijing 903, China (Houhai)
13691474408
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 9,464 Restaurants in Beijing
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Neighborhood: Houhai
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Dinner for solo traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Dinner was one of the highlights of my week in Beijing. It was nice having dinner with such a diverse group of travlers. The food was great...the conversation was great and the location !!! I would highly recommend it.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    47
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A Smorgasbord of Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Two friends hosted our farewell dinner last night at Black Sesame Kitchen (BSK). After living in Beijing for three years, we heard of this restaurant but had never dined here. I wish that we discovered BSK sooner as last night's ambiance, quality of food and top-notch service, made for a most memorable evening.

First the venue: BSK is difficult to find. It is located in a little nook, and down a small side street. Once you find the entrance to this gem, you are led to the dining area which consists of both indoor and outdoor seating. There were 11 of us, and because the weather was cooler, we dined at an outdoor table that was adjacent to a persimmon tree-a tranquil oasis gently tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Beijing's pulse.

The service: The service was excellent, in fact towards the end of our meal the weather turned stormy, the wind started to blow, and a light rain began. Our hostess immediately offered us a like outdoor venue that was covered and located a level above where we were seated. The transition was smooth. Yet after 20 minutes at our new seating arrangement the rain picked up even more as did the wind, and we were quickly inside, and out of the elements.

The drinks: Our drinks were "free flow" and our hostess was quick to replenish our beverages when low. We had a variety to choose from including red and white wines, Tsing Tao (my favorite local beer), and lemon infused water.

The food: The food was the highlight of the evening, a smorgasbord of pure delight (see attached photo of the menu). A ten course meal, with each dish competing against the last, for both taste and quality. There were no losers in the food category. After three hours of exquisite food, cold beverages, and top- notch service at a memorable venue, we all departed happy and satiated.





Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip to Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Such an amazing experience! We got a little lost getting there but nothing too bad. The food was all amazing and the others at our table were so much fun. I didn't want it to end. The shitake mushrooms and the sesame ice cream was the best thing i have ever eaten. Getting a reservation was very easy via their facebook page. Would definitely go back if I return to China.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“nice but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

maybe with their original layout, when the cooking was part of the experience, it would have been more worth it, but now it is only a private restaurant with a set menu, the food was good, but not the best we wave had in China, but BY FAR the most expensive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but not the full experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We read the previous review and were able to reserve a seat at the Orchid hotel for Black Sesame's 10 course dinner. We had heard about Black Sesame's concept of cooking the meal at your table and were really excited to see how some Chinese dishes were prepared. Due to their temporary displacement, however, they are not able to do this at the moment. Don't get me wrong, the food was excellent, but it was a little disappointing not to get the full experience as others have. We did meet some great people while having dinner, and I would definitely recommend others to give them a try as well, but I hope they can relocate soon so that they get the cooking classes and meal prep back up and running.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sesame Kitchen also viewed

Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Black Sesame Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Sesame Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.