We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as all the review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Sesame Kitchen

Black Sesame Kitchen
No.3 Heizhima Hutong, Dongcheng District | Nanluoguxiang测试, Beijing 903, China (Houhai)
13691474408
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 9,532 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Houhai
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“As good as all the review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Ten courses of Beijing home cooking and continual pours of wine and beer at a communal table with new friends from around the world and all for $50. It simply does not get any better. Black Sesame Kitchen offers a nice combination of traditional cooking like your Chinese grandma would make as well as some modern twists. The food was amazing...when I was there we had green beans, mushrooms, beef, chicken, pork belly, broccoli, lotus root, eggplant, pumpkin dumplings, and black sesame ice cream with candied bananas.

At the table were travelers from New Zealand, England, and the United States, which precipitated wide ranging conversation about home, travel, great meals, career, and much more. Black Sesame Kitchen is a truly unique experience. If I am lucky enough to return to Beijing, I will certainly find my way back, maybe even taking one of the cooking classes too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    49
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We made the reservation as some UK chef when there. Make no mistake, you will get your value for money. 9 course meal and desert plus wine. The company was random yet great. Everyone sat around a table watching the chef cook and you quickly get to know one another. Fun way to meet people, have a great meal and a good evening. Staff were very friendly and willing to share recipe which was great for us. Will definitely go again when we are in BJ.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delightful Culinary and Social Experience in the Hutongs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

A bit difficult to find, but worth it. The Black Sesame Kitchen is operated by a New Zealander of Chinese descent who decided to open a restaurant in the rapidly vanishing Hutong area of Beijing. The food has been adapted a bit for Western taste, but is plentiful and delicious, and wine, beer and soft drinks are included in the fixed price. What makes this such an interesting experience is the opportunity to share a table with other visitors and expats and compare stories (the meal is served family-style). We had tremendous diversity at our table - an Indian couple living in New Zealand, an Australian/British expat couple residing in the Chinese capital and an American father travelling with his two sons. It made for a great evening which flew by way to quickly. Soon it was 10:00P when the restaurant must close to meet the demands of local residents. If you are in Beijing, give the Black Sesame Kitchen a try.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, but one small complaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent an enjoyable evening here, with good company and great food and service. The candied bananas with sesame ice cream were to die for! My one small issue is as follows: when we made the reservation, we were asked if we had any food restrictions. We told them we don't eat pork. Several of the dishes on the menu (I think 4/10) contained pork. For 3 of these, they made us a non-pork alternative, but for the 4th one (pork ribs) we were not offered any alternative. We paid for a 10-course meal, but did not receive one. I am unclear why they would ask about food restrictions but not offer alternatives for all relevant courses. It just seemed odd to offer alternatives for some, but not all, the courses. We discreetly mentioned this to them when we were leaving and they really had nothing to say. Small complaint for an otherwise excellent dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We took part in one of Black Sesame Kitchen's Wine 'n Dine dinners. It was a fun experience and the food was good. We had a great time talking to the other diners, listening to facts about the food and enjoying the varied treats. Certainly worth a visit if you are looking for a social dinner experience.
We did have better food in some of the other places we visited, but the food at Black Sesame Kitchen was also really tasty and well prepared. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sesame Kitchen also viewed

Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Black Sesame Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Sesame Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.