We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we love! A genuine experience offered by genuine people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Sesame Kitchen

Black Sesame Kitchen
No.3 Heizhima Hutong, Dongcheng District | Nanluoguxiang, Beijing 903, China (Houhai)
13691474408
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 9,462 Restaurants in Beijing
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Neighborhood: Houhai
Willows, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exactly what we love! A genuine experience offered by genuine people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Thank you Michelle, Coco, the Chef, and the rest of the staff for providing not just dinner, but an opportunity to meet and share our lives with new "friends for the evening" from around the globe. You have a great concept, executed to perfection.

Don Romeri

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    47
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, MA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loved every bit of our dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is an amazing place to try out, if you can afford to. I would say it's really well priced for what you get. I'm not Chinese, but have had a lot of good Chinese food in my life - in China and elsewhere. And I thought the food was absolutely delicious. Each of us there seemed to have a different favorite dish. Every dish was unique, and just soooo good. You really need to pace yourself as there are 9-10 courses, each of which is superb. The staff are great as well. The waitresses explained where each dish came from, and how it is typically eaten. The chefs didn't speak much english, but seemed very friendly and didn't mind being photographed by guests nearly every few minutes. Would definitely go back when I am next in Beijing. If you haven't been to this area before, I'd recommend getting there early and wandering around the crazy busy street before hand (or after dinner to walk off all the food!) Definitely print out the map and directions, and if possible get your hotel to help arrange a taxi, as can be a bit difficult to find. Oh, and of course, you have to make a reservation. We reserved about a month in advance.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinese PinkAddict in Malaysia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Super Experience Meeting Others”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Being Chinese myself and having dined at many superb Chinese restaurants in Manila, Kuala Lumpur and Singapore -- I was not ultra impressed by the food. DOn't get me wrong, it was yummy and tasty and well done. The drinks was free flow which we liked. Food was great -- for the caucasians... all the Europeans and Americans were OVERWHELMED with the food. For Asians, I guess you would say you have seen and eaten those before. What STOOD OUT as a worthwhile experience in terms of paying and going out of your way to find this restaurant (which is HARD TO FIND) is the experience sitting with other people, meeting new people from a different continent, chatting about life and politics and interesting things. We totally enjoyed the evening and didnt want to leave yet! We met some British and Americans and our table had the most interesting conversation even until dessert. However they sort of shoo-ed us away (which was a shame) we would have appreciated maybe another 30 mins of chatting with the new friends... that was the only down point.

A definite must try when in Beijing. Especially if you want to bring home interesting memories and great conversation ... plus new friends.

Paid RMB 300 per person, which was a reasonable price for the food choice and drinks. I would also recommend this because typically if you are on a trip and there are only 2 of you (like me and hubby), we would not have sampled 8 dishes in one restaurant bec we have no one to share it with! Bec of the communal set-up we were able to taste small small pieces and share with others.

Make sure you bring cash, they don't accept credit cards.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous banquet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

You must book in advance but book you must. It may be more expensive than any of your other meals but the experience of sharing an exceptional dinner with other like minded travelers made it a memorable evening. 10 great courses. My advice is to get there early and wander through the interesting hutong.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Atmosphere does it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Being in Beijing, you are surounded by the best chinese food you will ever have. Honestly the stands on the streets, the tiny unappealing restaurants, it is the real deal.

Now, tucked away in a hutong - meaning you will dwell these streets and the narrow entrance to the restaurant itself is the start of your wonderfull experience. Atmosphere is everything and that is what BSK does.

Michelle has created an oasis of good food, good company, good wine and great ambiance. Added a western touch (the wine, the perfect english, the commercial way of exploiting) to the place without losing it's typical Beijing look and feel.

The combination of being in Beijing and sharing your table with international and very interesed company, sharing experiences and enjoying the delecious food is super. After two wines you share business cards and after 4 wines you are mates for life :-)

The dumplings, the pork belly, the mushrooms it does not need any extra remark than is allready said. Great. The fire water served by Michelle was surprisingly smooth, try!
Go and have a look at the cooking process and talk with the chef and staff.

The restaurant consists of two rooms. In one room there is a large high table with high chairs. The actual kitchen is in this room. If you suffer from astma, please ask Michelle to seat you in the adjecant room (separated by glass doors and windows). Meaning the other room has a low table and.... a couch! Yoechey! The best place to sit after all this food and wine!

Indeed, I would have expected a bit more explaination of the food and the cuisine, and a bit more daring foods to try would have been nice.

Expensive? Come on! All you want to drink (great wines) and so much food you will probably not make it through dessert.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sesame Kitchen also viewed

Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Black Sesame Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Sesame Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.