We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“making up for their mistakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capital M

Capital M
No.2 Qianmen Street, Pedestrian Area, Beijing 196135, China (Chongwenmen)
010-67022727
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 8,771 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $134
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chongwenmen
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“making up for their mistakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went for their famous brunch on Sunday: 250 RMB for two courses our around 300 RMB for three out of a starter, main and desert. Free flow of coffee and tea as well as one cocktail (memosa, bloody mary that was too spicy for my taste and more).
The place is very popular so it was crowded at 1 pm when we arrived. The starter we ordered was questionable: a selection of greek mezzas featured more of pickled onion than anything else, then the tatziki and humus were half bite size mini canapes, not plates to dip bread.
And it took 50 minutes to serve our main courses, which I mentioned to the manager: food appeared right away when I addressed this issue. Good thing we were not hungry from our late Sunday breakfasts, it was not our first meal of the day, otherwise... when hungry and disappointed...
The desert is the BEST: absolutely must try it - their pavlova is very tender, big and I even unconsciously licked my plate.
The good thing: we were offered a discount for the mishap. Instead of paying 250 RMB, we paid 180 RMB each and left full and satisfied. I appreciate that the restaurant does acknowledge their mistakes and make up for them, these things happen and it's how you recover that matters to me.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    112
    65
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Get on their mailing list if you live in Beijing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Capital M is well known in the city for its combination of great food and incredible view. Yes, it's on the pricey side so, for us, it's a special occasion venue. The one thing I would add to the other recent reviews is: if you're moving to Beijing get on it's mailing list so you can learn about their many events, most notably "Literary M" (we enjoyed a talk by Alan Hollinghurst at last year's). Or check the restaurant's website if you're visiting on vacation. The events provide an added incentive to visit and take in a special lunch or dinner on the same trip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Capital M is simply gorgeous in every respect - beautiful decor and design, great service, fabulous food (and incredibly good value), and an amazing location. An absolute must for any visit to Beijing - book ahead!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice view but not so nice food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

It is an Australian infused restaurant with very good location. Enviroment is nice both inside and outside. But the food does not worth the price. Austrlia has many good things other than passionfruit can be used for cooking.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stunning view, food bit pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Capital M looks to be a quite trendy place in Beijing, as customers can enjoy a fantastic view of the ancient Qianmen gate. It is a wonderful place for dating, and for foreign visitors who do not care about price so much. The food priced at Michelin one star level while the quality is lower than that. However, I would still recommend a visit due to the stunning view!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital M also viewed

 
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Capital M? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital M, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.